Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars543
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle EditionChange
Price:£3.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 April 2012
its a very good book with hilaurious illistrations even though its quite easy to read and i finished it very quickly!i rate it 5 stars and i also think its suitiable for 9 to 11 year olds.
0Comment14 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Diary of a Wimpy Kid, Book 1" by Jeff Kinney was previously published as online comic becoming very popular and due to that deserved its release in classic novel edition.

The comic book main character is called Greg Heffley, who is a 6th grade student that wants to become popular, as most boys his age want too.
He lives in an almost normal family together with his parents and two, one small whiny and second big heavy metal fan, brothers.
His best friend is Rowley, who is of same age with annoying parents who are trying to protect him from everything.

Being usual victim of older boys, Greg seems to find himself always at the wrong places and due to his constant desire to be popular and cool he will do numerous things like engage in body building that looks silly due to his thin appearance, he will try to enter Guinness Book due to building biggest snowman ever or creating his version of haunted house...

Unfortunately, the only thing he managed to do successfully so far is acting as guard for kindergarten children while they're going home during lunch.
Although it isn't necessarily a bad thing because it allows you to get free chocolate and not to be on the whole math class...

"Diary of a Wimpy Kid" is good book if you are middle grade kid or parent to one (or more) because all the events you'll encounter inside will seem familiar.

Greg is having typical problems for teenage years due to which is easy for reader to identify with him.
He's having problems with older brother who mistreats him, due to little one he is always guilty for something, his parents always something forbid for him, and girls do not perceive him at all.
But even though it seems that everything is against him, in fact he is just a normal boy who is going through his turbulent years just as usually teenagers are doing.

The book is filled with humor and it's very entertaining to read it while in same time looking at nicely done illustrations.

Therefore if you want to surprise your teenager or even younger kid with a book gift without a fear you'll be snapped again because you bought a book that kids don't read, give her/him this, you can be certain she/he will have a good time reading it.
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2012
usually i don't like reading and when i read a book i wont to finish it straight away but with this book i don't want to read it to fast i want it to last forever and i am 11
0Comment6 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2011
After reading Happyface and The Raven's Gate I found myself looking forward to reading my next illustrated novel - Diary of a Wimpy Kid. I'd been hearing a lot about this series but hadn't ever gotten around to reading them so I thought I'd give the first installment a whirl.

Diary of a Wimpy Kid is a fun, simple read that will leave you feeling happy and fulfilled, with no worry that the protagonist's heart will be broken being repair/they will remain a vampire/werewolf/other paranormal being forever with no hope of ever falling in love. No, no - none of that here. Just the trials and tribulations of a young boy trying to get through school without too many dramas - but don't even think about calling this book a diary, it's a journal, okay?

Greg is a loveable character from the outset of the story, where he has a rant about the fact this is NOT a diary but a manly journal that he will give out to journalists when he's rich and famous, instead of having to conduct interviews.

One of the great things about Greg is that he's well aware he's a bit of a loser and, although he's not comfortable with this position, he accepts that he's low down on the social hierarchy. However, this year he decides that he will be a loser no more and goes on a quest to get into the yearbook as `class clown', so he will be forever immortalised as a cool kid.

Unfortunately for Greg and his best friend Rowley, nothing they do seems to go to plan, which makes for hilarious writing and illustrations for us to enjoy. I think maybe my favourite mishap was the Trick or Treating escapade - but let's not forget the horror of the Cheese Touch, which I hope will be back in the next books!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2014
Bought it for my 7 year old who is a very good reader for his age, but read it myself as well (he's finished & on the second book, I'm NEARLY finished book 1!) Very amusing, even an adult would laugh at parts of it. It is very well observed.

I'm smiling as I think of one illustration: the narrator was commenting that his parents react differently to bad behaviour. His mother goes off & considers how to best punish the child, while the dad throws whatever is closest at hand in the offender's direction. This is accompanied by two wee cartoons. One shows the dad sitting in an armchair holding a newspaper with the caption 'Good time to make dad mad'. The second cartoon shows dad with some cement, holding a trowel & a small brick. The caption reads 'Bad time to make dad mad' (or words to that effect).... If that would offend you, leave this one on the shelf!

I don't think there is anything nasty or vile in this book that would make you hide it away from your child. The illustrations are funny as well. My son loved it & I think I'll end up buying the whole set. Hope that helps someone!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2008
i bought this book for my seven year old son, and decided to read a bit on the train home..... i would like to think of lots of clever things to say, but this book is just really funny. My son loved it too, and actually asked me if he could read for a bit longer! The comic style illustrations are also great fun. I recommend this book to anyone aged anything!
22 comments36 of 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
If you haven't had a good laugh lately, Diary of a Wimpy Kid is your source for timeless humor.

There's a particular goofiness about boys in middle school that drives parents crazy but has to delight when considered from a distance such as through reading Diary of a Wimpy Kid. Jeff Kinney captured that goofiness with a tongue-in-cheek irreverence that will amuse anyone reading this book.

This is a graphic novel, but not the slick sort that you see from Japan. Instead, Mr. Kinney imitates the style that a middle school boy with good printing skills might use in displaying this simulated diary in the form of Greg Heffley's journal.

Greg is a middle child as well as a middle schooler. His older brother Rodrick can't be bothered with Greg except when the temptation to torture occurs to Rodrick. His younger brother Manny is the apple of his parents' eyes and is spoiled rotten.

Greg has a few, simple needs to satisfy: Avoiding touching the cheese that's been on blacktop since the prior spring, not getting beaten up by bigger kids, playing his favorite video games (which his parents don't approve of), avoiding embarrassment, and getting credit for doing something right. Parents, teachers, fellow students, and fate conspire to thwart Greg. But Greg has one ace in the hole . . . his friend Rowley is even more of a loser than Greg is. And Greg exploits Rowley for all he's worth. The gags are often based on the results not turning out as Greg anticipated.

The book has many funny parts that will have you laughing out loud. Occasionally, Mr. Kinney goes over the top and employs too much self-satire. But the story is quickly rescued by going back into straight satire.

I derived special pleasure from the book by recounting the adventures of one of my sons and his best friend at this same age. That gave me many more things to laugh about.
0Comment31 of 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 August 2007
If you work with middle grade kids, be sure to check out DIARY OF A WIMPY KID.

Greg Heffley is a 6th-grade weakling trying to make his mark in the middle school world. His family includes a mom, a dad, a heavy metal big brother, and a whiny, tattling little brother. His best friend is Rowley, another odd 6th-grader with overprotective parents and the world-class ability to annoy.

Greg is always a victim of the big, mean bullies in the school. He constantly seems to be in the wrong place at the wrong time. In an attempt to be "cool" he experiments with the idea of weightlifting, creating his own haunted house, running for class treasurer, and building a snowman big enough to be considered for the Guiness Book of World Records. However, the only mild success he accomplishes is as a safety guard whose job is to walk the kindergarten kids home at lunchtime.

At least with that job he gets free hot chocolate and misses twenty minutes of math class.

Readers will be able to relate to Greg's typical teenage problems. His parents ground him from his video games, his older brother picks on him, his little brother gets him in trouble, and the girls in his school think he is a waste of their time. He'd like to pretend he's just a mediocre student when he is really one of the "uncool" gifted kids. The odds are just stacked against him.

Kinney bills his books as "a novel in cartoons," which is sure to be a popular feature with middle grade readers, especially those of the reluctant variety. The clever illustrations were a fantastic way to play up the already great humor in the book.

Once again, if you have anything at all to do with middle graders, get this book in their hands ASAP.

Reviewed by: Sally Kruger, aka "Readingjunky"
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 September 2009
This is a good fun read. A story written in the form of a middle school boy's diary (or journal as he would prefer it to be known) complete with his own cartoons which are a perfect and hilarious counterpoint to his authentic pre-teen voice, that says so much by leaving out so much!

There are various cultural references that a non American reader must interpret - usually with an eye to what we see on movies. I think middle school is like 11-14 or something, but no doubt an American reader of this comment can correct me if I am wrong.

I loved the way this book gets into the head of the boy who writes it though. Things like "The Cheese Touch" or the naming of your racing cars with rude words and such like to put off your opponent are just so reminicent of that age.

What I particularly enjoyed was the way memory and imagination can fill in so many details. The boys in one class end up making a list of rude words they don't want their robot to say. Not only was that a hilarious scene, but I could also imagine being there, and I could imagine all the conversations and hilarity that would surround that list. The description is brief but somehow it brings out so much more.

All in all this is a perfect book for 8-13s or so, and indeed anyone who remembers what it was like to be that age!
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2012
The collection of 'Wimpy Kid' books is everywhere. When you're getting your weekly shop at Tesco, popping to the library, on the bus where you see a child reading one (they're hard to miss with their stand out illustrated front cover) and now even at the cinema.
So, I bit the bullet.

I thought, I need to know what was making the 'wimpy kid' so popular all of a sudden.
They are INFECTIOUS.

Greg is an American middle school kid trying to fit in and cruise a long in life and school. Un-noticed, unless being noticed is a good thing.But it's never that simple.
Parents make life hard, siblings iterefere, your friends are either embarassments or let downs (they inevitably fall into either category when you're in school, they're are never quite right in your eyes.)
The story is in maltese sized chunks, so tasty and easy to digest. More importantly, you can pick them up wherever you are. There is joke after joke, either told liek stand up comedy or illustrated for us, which in some cases is actually funnier than you'd expect.
Jeff Kinney has hit on a gem by making this fun for any avid reader or non-reader. It can be a perfect starting point to get anybody interested in reading.
All 8+, boys and girls, will be laughing their stripy socks off. In no time they'll have read the whole set and started keeping their own journals or making their own comic strips.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse