Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars14
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Kindle Edition|Change
Price:£3.49
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 February 2014
The story has an intersting premise. Two young engineers generate nonsensical patents for a bit of cash and forget about them.
A few years later, the circumstances of bot engineers have changed and the patents assume much larger significance when the US government and big oil get involved.
The story uses a vaguely plausible set of ideas and circumstances to make a telling commentary on the state of US politics in regards to energy/defence policy, the stresses between the scientific "community" and the devoutly religious, the nature of consciousness and the soul.
However, I thought the story ran out of steam, as it must do if it were not to degenrate into pure fantasy, with an unsettling and unsatisfying ending.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
A good read and none that posed many questions of morality in the human race, left me questioning some of by base philosophies.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
I'm still not sure what I make of this book. I know I enjoyed reading it, I know that a lot of the maths went right over the top of my head and I also know that some of the religion really irritated me.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2015
Took me a few chapters to get the gist of the story but completed the book was quite emotional near the end and quite thought provoking.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2015
Irritating characters, but a fascinating plot especially if you have a smattering of Physics or curiosity about its ideas.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 May 2015
Superb, so good I bought it for my dad and my mate for Easter too
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2015
I really enjoyed this book a really good read for SciFi fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2015
Amazon gives a great service thanks
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2014
A well written and interesting book. As a fan of Emmy Noether (one of, possibly the best, mathematician of the 20th century) I found it especially so. Presumably , as an American, the author portrays bible belt attitudes and patent procedures accurately. Also the character of Katarina, gives some taste of the brilliance of mind required to be active in modern physics.

Don't worry about this physics stuff . The hero is a likeable character trying to rebuild his life ,clear his debts, and be reunited with his son, while finding love in the process.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
Good book
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.