Customer Reviews

252
4.1 out of 5 stars
Sony PS3 12GB Super Slim Console (PS3)
Price:£148.85+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1,013 of 1,031 people found the following review helpful
on 18 October 2012
This is one of two UK models of Sony's third major version of its PS3 console. The main differences between the two models are the size of storage included (the majority of this review discusses that difference) and the price - this model's a lot cheaper, the cheapest PS3 yet.

What the two models have in common is that they are both significantly smaller and lighter than Sony's previous PS3 versions. They also have a top loading disc drive rather than a slot loading one (a button releases a catch so the cover of the drive slides aside, then you push it back in place after inserting the disc). Aside from that there are few major differences from the last generation - same number of USB ports (2), same outputs, no SACD or PS2 disc compatibility, etc . The reduction in size and weight is very welcome and although some may feel slot loading is cooler and marginally more convenient, it's not a big deal, and you can understand that by doing this they have been able to make the unit cheaper.

To deal with the differences, this model has a stated storage size of 12Gb, made up of flash memory. The other model has a stated storage size of 500Gb, this being hard drive storage. When I got my 12Gb PS3 I immediately downloaded the latest version of the system software, and after that I checked the storage size available according to the system. It said I had 9108MB left. (Why not 12Gb? Well the system software takes up some space)

So is it worth going for this model at a cheaper price? That will depend on how you want to use the PS3, and you should give it some careful thought before buying.

If you want to use your PS3 to store more than a very small amount of audio or video, this is definitely not a good choice for you. The storage space is too small for that. For watching blu ray discs though, it's fine, even good (in fact, even though it's more expensive than entry level blu ray players, it must be worth £100 or so alone as a player considering that it has a built-in wireless receiver, no dongle required, and that Sony is so quick with updates so all the latest discs play just right). You can also easily connect an external hard drive or usb stick to play music or videos (or to take backups - more on that later).

Games is where it gets tricky. Considering disc-based games first, most PS3 games have only small compulsory install or patch sizes (some have none at all) and fairly small save sizes. These don't present a problem. However a significant minority of games do have fairly large mandatory installs and some of these can be very large. It appears the game 'Rage' has the largest compulsory install for a disc-based game yet released, at 8Gb. So in short yes you can play any currently released disc-based game on this model, and now this model is released, especially as it's fairly late in the PS3's life cycle, it seems unlikely that Sony would allow a disc-based game to require an install greater than this 12Gb model could handle. (in fact you might wonder if this 12Gb size has been chosen to be as small as possible but so 'any game' plays...). Even so you can see how if you had Rage installed there wouldn't be room for much else. That's an extreme case but it's not uncommon for games to have install sizes of a few Gb. If you're the kind of person who wants to keep many games on the go, or who just wants to forget about install issues, then this isn't for you. If you are content to have a couple games on the go (plus an indefinite number of those with very small install and save sizes, of which there are many) then this is a good choice.

Some games can't be purchased on disc and must be purchased on the Playstation Network (PSN), these tend to be smaller games or revamped classics. They tend to have smaller sizes so with some careful memory management the issue is really the same as the one above for disc game installs (install sizes are fairly typical of the sizes of games that aren't available at all on disc). So again if you want to keep many of these permanently on your PS3 this isn't for you. You can also download any purchased game from the Playstation Network up to 5 times, and you can backup PSN games to a USB storage device by taking a backup of all your data (you can also backup MOST saves individually, as long as the game doesn't 'copy protect' them). The same data storage issues apply to downloadable game demos you can get from PSN, which tend to be around similar sizes - although with these you'll likely to be happy to get rid of them after you've played. And again, there is downloadable content for some games which will also take up more space.

A minor point is the fact that this model has flash memory storage whereas the 500Gb model has hard drive storage. Flash memory is often said to be faster than hard drives, lighter, quieter and more reliable. Well the memory on this PS3 doesn't seem to be working faster - the Metal Gear Solid 4 regular (not full) install took about 8-9 minutes for me, the same as it does with a PS3 with a hard drive. Other installs don't feel faster either (maybe even slightly slower, but not significantly so). It is lighter but that doesn't make a huge difference to the weight. It is quieter but the hard drive on the PS3 isn't too noisy anyway. As for reliable, we'll have to see, but it seems PS3 hard drives are fairly reliable anyway. At least you can perhaps feel a bit cooler or more modern knowing you have flash memory under the hood, for people who care about that kind of thing!

Having said all that about storage space, it should be noted that you can install a hard drive in it (and it doesn't have to be a proprietary hard drive), similar to how the hard drives in all PS3s can be switched / upgraded. In fact some have noted that with the price of this model and the price of hard drives, it could save you money to buy this model and a 500Gb hard drive, over buying the 500Gb model. Or you could add a larger hard drive, e.g. 1Tb. However you not only need a hard drive but also a caddy (or 'mounting bracket' as Sony call it) that will fit. Search for "Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket" on Amazon now and you will find the caddy listed. Sony are also releasing an official hard drive for this model with the caddy included, search "Sony PlayStation 3 250GB Hard Disk Drive (HDD) (Includes Mounting Bracket) (PS3)" for that product on Amazon. You can install other hard drives though - make sure you pick one that with 2.5" width, 9.5mm height, 5400rpm speed and with SATA interface, to make sure it's compatible.

The PS3 has a great library of games now with many more greats to come even though the PS4 is said to be just around the corner. It's also a very good blu ray player. I'm someone who is fine having just a few games on the go at a time and I knew I could handle the memory management issues that would come with this model. I prefer to buy games and movies on disc. I have a PC and an external hard drive for audio and video. So this model was just right for me and I was able to take advantage of the significantly lower price point.
4141 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
on 23 December 2013
Before purchasing this console for my son, I could not work out why he would need any more memory than 12GB....... now I do.

It appears now that most games manufacturers sell the basic game on disk, but the rest of the game comes via a download that needs to be saved on the PS3.

Result is that my son has to decide which game or 2 that he wants on his PS3 whilst the rest cannot be played without deleting all the information (including stage saves) of another game.

It does not bode well for gamers who like to switch between games
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
107 of 117 people found the following review helpful
on 1 November 2012
In short, it's smaller, lighter and is ideal for entry level users who don't need a great deal of storage.

It offers the exact same experience as any other PS3s and has a brand new design.

This choice of PS3 is ideal as a Blu-ray player or media streaming device and will set you back around £100 for another device that can do the same, however this can do much much more.

This version has just 12gb of storage, however if your careful with what you use and only regularly play 1-2 games at a time this is the perfect choice for you. If at a later date you change your mind and want more memory, you can buy a PS3 hard drive caddy and install you own hard drive if you would like to. Likewise if your old PS3 is out of warranty and no longer functions you can use your hard drive from your old PS3 in this PS3.

To install a spare hard drive this is the adapter you will need. You need a 5400rpm 2.5" hard drive for it to be suitable for the PS3.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Sony-PlayStation-Replacement-Mounting-Bracket/dp/B009CV1OVC/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1351809047&sr=8-1

Please bear in mind you will be forced to format a newly installed hard drive and will lose all data you may have had on it.

The build quality it a bit cheaper than previous models which is to be expected and it has no slot CD drive and instead loads from the top although this is no issue.

To sum up, if you play 1 or 2 games at a time or are looking for a blu-ray, media streaming capable device this is for you.

or if your a heavy user, play numerous games at a time, download films/music, use Play TV amongst other things, the 500GB option is for you.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
on 22 May 2013
This is my first console in over 20 years when I bought the original Sega Mega drive ha ha!

The game is great, it looks good and fits with other items without looking out of place. Its easy to use and this was great value for money at under £140
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 24 May 2015
Slim, top loading (taking away potential tray drive motor issues) and unimposing I bought mine about 2 years ago and it's been a faithful servant. Abused by the kids alongdide myself it's held up ok. Theres a vast library of past releases as well as latest ones that seem to still get PS3 launch alongdide PS4. Two front USBs.

One thing you will need to do is upgrade your Hard disc immediately more or less. 12gb seems ok to get by, but the operating system appears to take 4gb straight off and the likes of the grand turismo games (using 5 as example) another 6gb. Given the kids wanted disney infinity that was 4gb I didn't have. Had to put the brakes on GT!

Issue quickly rectified with 120gb HD and mount bracket for less than £15, wish I'd done it when I bought it.

All found, still has released content and if you're bit into 2015s latest graphics you could do a lot worse.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 31 December 2014
I highly recommed this ps3 12 gb unit - Got mine for £110 brand new all in.

why take you time to look around for new unit all over the net and spend a few hours even on amazon, they are really cheap right now. Yes its comes with limited storage so what. I have no problem, why ?. Read on.

once you purchase. Buy these at same time

1 320 Gb stata Hdd £24.99 brand new ebay - take the time to search also
2 the ps3 slim Hdd Bracket - but this on its own not as a package deal its cheaper mine was £ 2.99 at the time.

now i have a 320 gb ps3 slim for all in £137.98 and now try and get system for that as a package you will not.

now go to you tube for a video instruction on how to install your new drive its not hard people so be afraid, just make sure you get instruction video that fully shows how to install your new drive its only a few minutes to carry out.

people get afraid of going down the above route, don,t be its so easy to do.

some system full package are way way way more expensive some way over £220 + buying it the other way.

makes good sense to me and i saved a few quid, you will to i gaurantee it, try it out for your self.

have fun gaming peeps.

HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 22 June 2013
The console is deffo worth the price if you want a smaller option to the fat or the regular slim PS3. For me it was a no brainer as I am travelling for a year soon and don't have enough space to fit my old fat PS3. It seems to run well enough, it doesn't get as hot as the fat PS3 and one of the big advantages of it is the ability to remove the disc even when the console is off not to mention that discs literally cannot get stuck in teh console like they could on the other 2 version. I have heard reports that it's very loud but I haven't really noticed anything like that, on start up it's quieter than my old fat PS3 and and starts to get a bit louder the longer I play. I'm not sure if this is to do with certain games but I've played Killzone 3 and The Last of Us now for about 2 hours each and I haven't noticed any super volume increase. For the price I would say go for it, it's incredibly cheap compared to the other versions even now. The loading tiems seem to be a low slower though, I think this is to do with the laser they used being cheaper.

There is however one (not exactly sure if it's big or not) urrrr "problem"? with the system. The block on the back where the power cable plugs in seems to be loose and can be jiggled around and I have no idea whether this is normal or not, I've heard reports saying it's not normal and others saying it is. It doesn't seem to drop the power or anything and doesn't cause any issues but just a warning if you do get it and have this problem you might want to monitor it carefully to see if it starts doing anything dodgy. In general if you keep it constantly plugged in it shouldn't cause a problem. The connection it's self seems very tight so the cable isn't going anywhere, possibly it's just a moulding flaw.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 28 December 2012
Im so happy with my PS3 (owner of PS3 since 2007), on this 12GB model you can replace the hard drive creating a lot more space and saving a lot of money overall!

Pros

Design

Disc tray on the PS3 has a nice slick design, it is slightly louder but if you are unlucky enough to have one of these break on you. You can easily retrieve the disc unlike other models!

As a PS3 Phat and Slim owner. I really like the design of the Super slim. It really looks nice on an entertainment unit

The price!

Xbox owners always bashed the PS3 users saying its over priced, now this is another thing they cant hold against us PS3 owners!

PlayStation Network

Personally I have never come across any problems with the network. People say it's laggy and cuts you off but anyone with a decent connection should have no problem at all. As a previous Xbox owner I myself can confirm I see no real difference other then people flying around on COD on Xbox and using hacks like you wouldn't believe! If I was paying for a Xbox membership I would be MAD!

The PlayStation store also has PlayStation Plus+, this truly is amazing! at the moment a years membership is £29.99 via the store and for that you get 65 games!! and exclusive access to betas, themes, avatars and cloud storage!

Video

The PS3 has one of the best blu-ray players on the market with Sony bringing out constant updates to it, it can read near enough any kind of disc (ive yet to find a disc type that wont work) and is also 3D!

The PS3 can read near enough ANY format of film and music direct from a USB, if you run across any problems just Google your problem and find a free online converter which takes seconds.

Software

Sony are always bringing out new exclusives, with games like the Uncharted series, God of War, Kill zone, Heavy Rain, Little Big Planet (the list goes on and on), Sony really have covered games from all age ranges and offer a fair few accessories like PlayStation Move and Wonderbook.

Cons

There really are very few bad points to the PS3

Web Browser

after a fair bit of heavy use it crashes the PS3 quite a lot but after a quick reset your back to normal with no harm done.

The friends list

Only downside to this is you are limited to the amount of friends you can add, i think the limit is 100 or 150. Correct me if im wrong

Overall the PS3 is fantastic and is the center of my entertainment set up, I highly suggest purchasing, you wont regret it!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 28 December 2013
You can only save about 5 games at best on this at one time and that is with deleting Playstation Home and having no demos, videos, trailers, one film and no pictures/music on it at all.
Why?
If you want to download a game that is 2GB in size, the system needs 4 GB to download it as it unpacks the compressed file making it much larger than need be. This rips that memory down and to have another hdd it is going to cost £50 with the bracket, for that you may be able to buy a console with more memory.

I do love this console though and although it is cheap it makes me really sad that I have to destroy loads of data and stuff because of how it won't even run a game without the save file. YOU CANNOT SAVE ON A USB OR EXTERNAL DRIVE TO PLAY WITH, it just doesn't ever work so you can't use those either unless it's for pictures/ music. Games are a different story.

If you're a gamer intending to buy this either save up and buy a better one with more memory or buy an extra hard drive, I recommend at least 250GB if not more as you will need that space and the bracket for it too!

It does run games quickly, properly and with no trouble. I have had mine almost a year now with no issues what so ever apart from the lack of memory space which was of course a fault of my own for choosing it on sale and not realising that I needed much more memory.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 7 December 2014
I was drawn in by the low price but I strongly urge you to buy the version with bigger storage capacity. (500gb) I thought I wouldn't need it as my favourite game (GTA 5) needs 8GB of space, but forgetting that you only get 9GB to begin with after operating system etc. I shoehorned GTA5 in with virtually nothing else on the ps3. (0.3GB left!) So I've spent all weekend learning about hard drive upgrades (around £35-£40 for a 500GB)Toshiba MQ01ABD050 500GB SATA 3GB/s 5400RPM 2.5 Inch 9.5mm Internal Hard Drive, mounting brackets (£4)Sony PlayStation 3 Replacement Hard Disk Drive (HDD) Mounting Bracket and hopefully I'll end up with plenty of space and no hassles. However, many ps3 games don't need this much space - check the back cover of the game for its storage needs.) Overall, I think I'll break even compared to buying the 500GB model at the outset. Note that its a bit fiddly to get the side panel off to access the hard drive - turn the console to the side so the 'ps3' symbol is closest to you press both ends of the side panel firmly and it should slide to your right. see on youtube.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 26 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Sony PS3 500GB Super Slim Console (PS3)
Sony PS3 500GB Super Slim Console (PS3) by Sony Computer Entertainment UK (PlayStation 3)


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.