Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars1,244
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£4.47+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 11 July 2015
As someone who grew up with the Donner films and holds Superman as his favourite comic book superhero, I am somewhat astounded (and saddened) by some of the very vocal negativity around this film which means that there are probably a lot of people who would love this film but have never given it a chance.
Is it a perfect film? No, of course not, but for me it is the best version of Superman I have ever seen on the big or small screen (and I loved the Bruce Timm animated series).

The soundtrack by Hans Zimmer is excellent if not as memorable as the classic John Williams score and there are some incredible moments throughout the film. Cavill is great in the lead role, unfortunately I am less sure about Amy Adams as she doesn't quite work for me here.

Man of Steel is one of my favourite Comic Book movies of all time, highly recommended. Just don't expect the tongue-in-cheek and somewhat cheesy (but endearing) charm of the Donner films.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 26 February 2015
One way this film scores heavily is that it doesn't got overly bogged down in Superman's origin while still providing interesting background and motivation for his actions. It clearly draws less upon the original fun but simplistic comics and more on later meatier graphic novels. Superman may still stand for justice but in a world recognised to be riddled with injustice. Still not the most intellectually stimulating of movies, but arguably more than mere escapist entertainment.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Henry Cavill (The Tudors) fills out the suit, and Zack Snyder (300) takes directing duties in this re-imagining of the Superman story. Eschewing the trappings of any of the previous films, this goes back to scratch, effectively a remake of Superman 1 and 2 rolled into one. It follows the demise of Krypton, Russell Crowe as Supe's dad sending him towards earth, and then wraps into that the story of General Zod (the always good value Michael Shannon), as a nemesis for our man of steel.
So what do we get - an origin story, which is quite well done, and a coming of age story for Superman as he grows up on earth. This is all told in quite condensed and non-linear format, and I for one was left wanting to see a bit more of Kevin Costner and Diane Lane as the conscience of Superman, his adoptive parents. It segues in to a final half which is a long, oh yes, really too long, series of action set pieces as Zod and Superman face off. Frankly, it has a few endings too many, Snyder belying his love of action over substance, and the action becoming more and more devoid of thrills. As a whole then, it's just impossible not to compare to the original, and it really does serve to remind you just how clever the structure of that first Superman movie was. Cavill is a wonderfully brooding and intense Superman - but where is the vulnerability of Clark Kent? There is just something missing in the beats of how Kal-El becomes Superman, the elements of him learning about what it is to be human. The sci-fi elements might surprise you, and the colours are very muted in contrast to the primary coloured days of Christopher Reeve. Hans Zimmer has delivered an effective score underlying the dark and serious tone - but as with the rest of the movie, it all lacks just a tad of humour which would have made it all easier to swallow.
Ultimately a reasonably well put together movie with genuinely decent effects is let down by its lack of the one thing that Superman was really all about - humanity. Instead of gaining an understanding of humanity by looking at it through an aliens eyes, the movie spends its time trying to understand the alien looking through humanities eyes. Still, if action, sci-fi and set-piece after set-piece are your thing, then go ahead, you'll have a blast. For the rest of us, we will mourn the passing of the Superman we once knew.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 5 March 2015
As a child I watched all of the Superman films and re-watched them again and again since but this version is electric! There's something about Russell Crowe's voice playing Jor-El that really makes you feel for him. I loved the fact that we saw more of Krypton before it was destroyed, it wouldn't have been easy squeezing Kal-Els background in and an exciting story. Looking forward in antisipation for Henry Cavills next role as Kal.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 1 August 2014
Superb reboot of the Superman franchise.

Providing a fresh take on the origin of the 'Man of Steel', with Henry Cavill bringing his own take on the infamous superhero, and featuring a cool handful of nods to the comic books and previous films alike. With one fantastic nod to Chris Reeve.

If you don't already own this, then what are you waiting for?? Buy it now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 24 February 2015
The best ever Superman film. Loved the origins story and also a marvellous sci-fi alien invasion film. Totally overwhelmed at seeing Kel-El trying to fit into a world of which he doesn't belong. Never thought that it must be awful to be Superman. Excellent reimagining. General Zod is also truly horrible, trying to cling onto a dead world. Amazing effects.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 18 June 2015
Great retelling of the story behind the great man himself. When I saw this advertised I thought here we go again! This is one of the better remakes you can buy. Usually disappointing as they are this one has all you need for a night in front of the box. Action, adventure, great C.G.I. Christopher plummer would have approved. God rest his soul.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
on 16 September 2014
1) This movie is the most realistic version to date. I do love the Reeves ones, but they are too comical and just not "realistic").

2) It explains pretty much everything as it goes along, so you don't have too many questions (there will always be some). But it explains things such as what's going on over on Krypton, why Superman is like he is on Earth and why they choose to send him to Earth. They also explain how he gets his costume and they actually take the time to fit it in nicely with the real "Krypton world".

3) It shows Supes struggling to be accepted into the normal world, and struggling to stay in one place because of his powers. It shows him being worried about being accepted, and it takes you through the journey (albeit through many flash backs) from him as a child, struggling in school, to becoming a hero as superman.

4) Great story. Well written dialogue, and nice CGI too. The movie is long, but for me if didn't "feel" long as I was gripped to the story.

Biggest flaws for me:
1) Lois pops up everywhere, and knows far too much (she needs her memory wiped!).
2) Too many people know about him growing up.

Now I don't see this one as a flaw, but many do: There's quite a lot of destruction in the last hour, but I think it's justified since they are "like" gods, so they would pretty much destroy anything in their path on Earth.

Also, I don't see this as a flaw either, just more of me just being picky.... Flash Backs... The first half of the movie is full of them. It's fine since they work well, but It would have worked well if they just played it all in sequence, but I guess with flash backs it allowed them to "jump around" a bit in his time line. So it's all good.

OVERALL: Buy it! Get it "used" if you want, I did, it'll be cheap. If you don't like it, sell it on, or pack it away in a dark corner of your attic. But it's worth a watch... unless you're a die hard comic fan can't look past some flaws.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 12 August 2015
I just couldn't enjoy this film. I found it loud and nauseating, Loius Lane showing up everywhere made no sense, Superman is hard to relate to, characters feel underdeveloped and the action sequences will make your head hurt. The tone is gloomy and there's no sense of fun in this movie.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 25 August 2014
Brilliant,a bit of Gothic feel to the plot. Not the faintest inkling to green Kryptonite at all. Good overall movie
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Wolverine [DVD]
The Wolverine [DVD] by Hugh Jackman (DVD - 2013)

Star Trek Into Darkness [DVD]
Star Trek Into Darkness [DVD] by Chris Pine (DVD - 2013)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.