Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars109
3.9 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£7.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

41 of 43 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 15 October 2012
A fine and long awaited album from the ever popular Ms Krall. Despite the attention grabbing album cover there is also much to grab the attention inside. No lush orchestrations or jazz standards, just simple tunes, nicely sung, with, at times minimal backing. This puts Diana's voice to the fore and she does just nicely in her own laid back and husky kind of way.
The whole album really could belong in enother era which combines elements of Gypsy jazz, barrel house blues and some good old romantic balladry. Mark ribot on guitar plays a very big part of the accompaniment on this album and Diana's own piano playing often takes a back seat. Many of the tunes have a nice stripped down and laid back affair with minimal backing which is quite unlike her previous albums.
For me this is a much better album than the very low key "Quiet Nights" which gained as much criticism as it did praise. This is a brave and bold step from Diana which may disappoint her Non-jazz fan listeners but for those who can put aside the rapid change of direction then there is much to be enjoyed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
47 of 51 people found the following review helpful
on 29 October 2012
OK if you want to listen to "A night in Paris" or "The Look of Love" (both of which are great, and I have them and listen to them) - well listen to them I guess! I applaud Diana for an album which is a slight departure from some of the things she has done before. I applaud her especially for looking beyond the classic female jazz vocalist songbook - which she has shown many times she can perform as well or better than the best. So if you want to hear Diana interpreting some different material, and doing it with her usual style and panache, then this album is for you. It is also for you if you like jazz and have a genuine appreciation for the intimate relationship between jazz and the blues. It is also for you if you like Diana's husky delivery, which suits some of this material really well.

No comment directly on some of the other reviews, but "pompous", "ignorant about the roots of jazz", not to mention "narrow minded" are comments that might apply to some of them. Really, what do some of you expect? That she will simply reprise the material she and others have already done more than once? She's an artist - she needs to grow. Great Diana, more please. I think you're great at the classics, and my respect for you as an artist has increased as a result of this album. Keep listening to the 78s!
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 20 July 2014
What is the purpose of listening to music? Surely it is for enjoyment and this disc so wonderfully invites you to fully enjoy it. Yes it is different from Diana Krall's usual recordings but I doubt that it is a permanent departure from her usual routes. So just forget labels as to which genre this recording belongs in because it covers many styles from the honky tonk We Just Couldn't Say Goodbye, the jazz styled Butterfly That's caught in the Rain, the country style Prairie Lullaby, the bluesy Lonely Avenue, the rocking I'm a Little Mixed Up, the very theatrical When the Curtain Comes Down and so on. This CD is pure enjoyment and to my way of thinking that is what it's all about.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 February 2015
I was never much of a fan of jazz music. Until, that was, Lucy Woodward started leaning that way with her 2008 release of her second album "...Is Hot & Bothered" and completed her move to jazz singer with her third, 2010's "Hooked!" In seeking out new artists to expend my experience of this new genre, the name of Diana Krall came up again and again and so it made sense to check out the latest album from such a highly respected artist, that album being "Glad Rag Doll".

The final track is a single jarring note in what has been a smooth and flawless album in all other ways, mixing reflection, relaxation and sheer enjoyment with a little jazz and a little blues. It's got a classic sound, but it's perfect for the modern age, as it's designed to strip the busyness of life away from you. At 13 tracks and roughly 57 minutes of playing time, it has plenty of time to weave its magic and you'll be under the spell of the album long before the end. The album is certainly enough for me to lose my cares and enjoy over and over again and it's calming and beautiful and effective every single time I do.

This review may also appear, in whole or in part, under my name at any or all of,,, and
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 11 November 2012
I have been waiting for a new album from Ms Krall, and was a little shocked and dismayed by the cover image, which is surely not necessary to sell this excellent musicians work. (Hence only 4 stars)

Getting beyond this....

It is however a gem of an album with no fancy orchestras, just simple ballads and songs performed very well indeed.

(It is after all that husky voice that is Diana Krall), and in this album we get to enjoy that voice at its very best with minimal backing.

An excellent album, which I have been listening to over and over again...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 23 March 2013
Krall always surprises with her creative brilliance- just a wonderful interesting bunch of songs.... I loved every track....well done to a great musician whom i have followed from the beginning .....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 31 March 2013
Diana Krall delivers the goods again - with some lesser-known numbers on this Album, although it could have done without the synthetic accompanimenmt on some of the tracks....................
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
21 of 27 people found the following review helpful
on 29 October 2012
Hmmm..... I must admit that the last two studio albums from Krall, which while very pleasant, were creating a strong sense of deja vu in me, and, much the same as Micheal Buble, she seemed to be in a complacent rut of similar arrangements of middle of the road crowd pleasers that offered little in the way of variety and development.

This new offering does at least attempt to take a new approach in presenting Krall as something more than an easy listening popular jazz artist, but unfortunately it's not a wholly successful exercise.

The cover of the CD, on which Krall is uncharacteristically and somewhat tastelessly portrayed as some Britney-like sex doll, is a clue to the changes within. The first few tracks, however, will lead you to think that you're in for another round of 'Quiet Nights', but suddenly by track 5 we're in the new world of the blues/ rock Diana, that only increases in its drawn out monotony as the album progresses.

Don't get me wrong, some of the tracks are very good indeed and are a refreshing diversion from the Krall norm, but the production of this album overall is rather muddy and does not pay homage to any instrument, including the vocals, except the electric guitar, which takes over as the main focus of extended bridge in too many of the tracks.

She does deserve some credit for attempting something different here, which in some tracks works fairly well, but the album as a whole won't appeal to fans of her earlier work, but neither will it appeal to rock or blues fans either, and this is its fundamental problem. It simply doesn't know what kind of album to be, and Krall really does seem to have come rather unstuck with this ill-advised muddle of styles.

Further listening might make it grow on you, but I can't help feeling, rather reluctantly, that Krall is going to be forced back into her comfort zone after this.

Too much, too soon, too muddled.

11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 13 November 2012
I am a long term fan and this album reinforces how good she is. Her phrasing and interpretation of so many of the songs is just amazing.
If you like Jazz and quality then this album is it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
I'll be honest although I'm a fan of Diana , I bought tthis for 1 track & didn't think I'd like the rest of the album.WOW !!! was I wrong driving one of if not her best probably as it's different yet it's not if that makes sense. I'm driving family & friends mad can't stop listening to it (although they do like it, just not quite as much as me) .A really enjoyable album with some lovely songs. Love it ...
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Wallflower by Diana Krall (Audio CD - 2015)

The Look Of Love
The Look Of Love by Diana Krall (Audio CD - 2003)

The Very Best Of Diana Krall
The Very Best Of Diana Krall by Diana Krall (Audio CD - 2007)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.