Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Clothing clo_fly_aw15_NA_shoes Shop All Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Paperwhite Shop now Shop Now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

1,214 of 1,244 people found the following review helpful
on 8 December 2011
Here it is then. the long awaited television interpretation of the first part of George R.R. Martin's epic fantasy series. This show will affect you in different ways depending largely upon two possible scenarios, 1. you have read the book(s) beforehand, or 2. you haven't.

If you have read the books then you will have the added advantage of going into this series with some serious background knowledge, which, given the expanse of Martin's literature, can only be a good thing. It is good (as a fan of the books) to see the characters portrayed on screen by, what can only be described as, an excellent cast. My personal favourites are Sean Bean (fellow Yorkshireman like myself) who plays Lord Eddard Stark, the proud, strong and brave (if not a bit stubborn and old-fashioned) Lord of Winterfell, the icy kingdom of the north. And, Peter Dinklage, who gives, as ever, a wonderful performance as Tyrion of House Lannister, a noble-born dwarf cursed by the hatred of his proud father but blessed with an unmatchable wit and intelligence.

The story is relatively straightforward insofar that nothing groundbreakingly orignal happens. Martin's fantasy literature is about believability and realism; it is completely unlike Tolkien in that way (I don't like to compare the two authors, but most people seem to be doing so lately). Whereas Tolkien favoured Orcs, Goblins, castles and wizards, Martin prefers the medieval touch, dealing with knights, lords and priests. The story is very intricate and may leave you slightly unfulfilled at the end of the series, but, bear in mind this is only the first part of seven.

One good thing, as a fan of the books, is that Martin had a very close hand in the production of this series which means very little tinkering has been done. If you compare it to The Pillars of the Earth for example, parts of the tv series didn't even come close to representing what happened in the book leaving hardcore fans a little bewildered, and not a little irritated. Martin's books though are so jam-packed with plot and character building that there really isn't much room for artistic license for the directors. They have a lot of story to get through, and only 10 episodes to do it in!!

If you have never read Martin before then, what can you expect? Well, it is fantasy first and foremost (like I said earlier, with a medieval twang). Without spoiling or giving anything away the main plot is basically this: the continent of Westeros, ruled by king Robert Baratheon, falls into turmoil amidst a hungry power struggle between the realms nobles and knights. Expect a lot of plot twists and cliffhangers at the end of each episode. A quick word of warning to any of those sensitive souls out there as well, this series contains graphic bloody violence, nudity (tactful), swearing and some scenes of a sexual nature. It certainly IS NOT for kids (like Lord of the Rings etc.).

Overall then I will sum up for you in some quick bullet points:

+ George R.R. Martin's literary masterpiece brought to life
+ great cast
+ wonderfully made, no corners have been cut, everything looks imacculate and professional
+ entertaining plot, good twists, beautiful ladies, handsome men, fighting, loving, laughing, crying (really, something for everybody here)
+ hour-episodes mean for a great amount of entertainment for your money

- series 1 deals with book 1 of 7, if you get into this now, don't expect to see the ultimate conclusion for at least another 10-15 years (the last two books haven't even been written yet)
- a little cliched in parts (I really didn't get this impression from the book though)

I would highly recommend people to take the time to see this series and get into the number 1 fantasy series of the modern era. I would also recommend that you buy and read the books. Thank you for reading.

(Thank you to everyone who found my review useful. I hope you are enjoying GOT!)
3232 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 2 January 2015
Many of the most successful films and television programmes started their humble lives in books. Invariably the comment "the books are better" gets bandied around. Of course, in the case of most movies it is simply impossible to portray everything in a novel unless you make a series of films. Even then (to take Tolkien and Rowling as examples) some material gets removed as novels are not subject to the same pacing requirements as movies. In addition to this, movies have to appeal to a much wider audience unlike books which are solely written for a specific audience. The books are allowed to divide opinion but if adaptations are made to screen then compromise needs to be made to make them palatable to a wider audience.

There are a few exceptions to these norms. For example, The Godfather is much more effective on screen. The Hobbit trilogy actually creates additional material from the books rather than cut some out (the pitfall of turning a small child's novel into a 9-hour trilogy).

I mention all this as the medium of 'TV BOX SET' is all the rage and it is easy to see why. People often comment that movies cannot achieve the grand scale and immense levels of development when compared to television. The slow burn of developing characters over weeks, months and years will always feel rushed in a 2-hour movie. Shows like 'Breaking Bad' achieve this 'slow burn' effect masterfully. For fantasy epics like this the best medium has been chosen. They can slow down the pace if they want to. If the ending of episodes is climactic or even anti-climactic you know the next one is just around the corner rather than years away (or never if you watched the Golden Compass).

I will admit that until I started reading the novels I did not really appreciate GoT. I tried to watch this first season without any prior knowledge. If you start watching and think;

"who the hell is that? oh they're sleeping together that seems fine but ... oh...I was supposed to know their siblings so that's incest ... who's she? ... why do three people announce the same person's name differently? ... I don't know who the dead guy with pebbles on his eyes is but I guess he's important ... is that him from the Full Monty?? Who's Sean Bean in this - is he a goodie?"

Anyway, if you're kind of saying these things and don't know what the hell is going on don't worry. It's perfectly normal. I would highly recommend reading the books first or at the very least explore the DVD extras that explain the families etc. Although a TV show can take its time, there is still a lot to fit in and it can be very bewildering. However, it's worth it once everything clicks and you know you're Starks from your Lannisters and your Baratheons from your Targaryens.

The story has so many twists I won't reveal much but to set the scene the story is set on the mythical isles of Westeros. Remarkably similar to medieval Britain, the kingdom has several regions which immediately strike you as middle-earth like. One of the issues I have with the show is that a brief prologue explaining the kingdoms and some of the leading families of Westeros would help the audience understand. It is very much a show produced by people who know the books who sometimes seem to forget that their audience know nought.

The King on the Iron Throne (in a place fittingly called King's Landing) is Robert Baratheon. Robert usurped the throne from Aerys Targaryen II who was struck by madness. He is married to Cersei of House Lannister and they have three children - the eldest (Joffrey Baratheon) being heir to the throne. Robert is best friends with Ned Stark who is Lord of Winterfell. Ned's bastard son, Jon Snow, joins the Night Watch who are charged with guarding the realm from every threat north of 'the wall' - in particular a threat of the walking dead (known as 'The Others'). Robert visits Ned in Winterfell to ask him to be Hand of the King (an enforcer and adviser of the King). What ensues is a political clash between the Stark and Lannister families that ends in treachery and conflict that will affect the whole of Westeros. Meanwhile, Aerys Targaryen's grandson (Viserys) and granddaughter (Daenerys) embark on a journey to Essos - another continent across the sea from Westeros that is far more exotic and middle-Eastern - to raise an army of Dothraki to claim back Westeros.

One of the greatest strengths of the show is that it is very true to the books. Some material is omitted and sometimes adapted for the show. However, the show rarely suffers for it. The main difference is that the books are written in a point-of-view style whereas the show is presented strictly in the third person with no preference or view point of a character. One of the greatest strengths of the book, and the show in general, is the way in which it makes the audience change their mind and perception of characters. Remarkably in this show the heroes and villains interchange regularly - this is probably more evidenced as the show progresses to later series. Generally at the outset you are supposed to see the Lannisters/Targaryens as evil and the Starks/Baratheons as good and whilst the Starks rarely stray from the good path there are undoubtedly glimmers of hope and despair within all the families.

Much has been made of the often gratuitous levels of nudity, language and violence. However, if you find this offensive and inappropriate then you are actually criticising the books as none of this was added to make the show more interesting. The books are brutal, sexually violent and full of expletives including the dreaded 'C' word. As such, I would recommend that people just don't watch as they are not doing anything that isn't true to the source material. This said, I think some of the nudity is needless. For example, there are a couple of scenes where seeing someone's breasts is not necessarily important to in either developing the characters or presenting the style. This said, the kind of attitudes and behaviour (especially the derogatory treatment of women, execution and prevalence of brothels) on show are quite typical of the time the books/show aims to pastiche. This is clearly a world that draws together influences from the Roman Empire to the War of the Roses and it is a world that has not yet reached its civilised enlightenment. This is what puts certain characters ahead of their time and despite the appalling treatment of women in the piece, the strongest characters are invariably women, children or dwarves. Cersei Lannister is effectively Queen. Despite that fact she is not particularly nice she is a shrewd politician who has worked her way to the Iron Throne. Brienne (in Season 2 onwards) is one of the fiercest knights in the realm, Arya Stark is one of the most brilliant parts ever written for the tom-boy girl who ignores everyone's wishes for her to knit and sow where she would rather fight, Daenerys who over the course of the show develops the confidence to become the most powerful woman in Essos and 'The Mother of Dragons'. So much for sexism eh? Not to mention Tyrion Lannister 'The Imp' who is one of the most interesting characters of the piece.

Watch it - but read the books first!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
on 6 June 2014
Just can't get enough of this remarkable series. Started watching it about two weeks ago - wanted to know what all the fuss was about; not sure if I've received the final disc of Series 1...there was an inconclusive quality to the last disc I watched...will find out when I order Series 2. How different watching TV
Is these days...more or less instant gratification via "box sets"! Not sure if this is an entirely good thing; it makes me forget I "have a life"! In the old days one was required to remember what happened a week ago, and one got on with one's daily duties: Now I can spend a whole Saturday, even if the weather outside is gorgeous, watching an entire series, which. as far as Game of Thrones is concerned, with all it's convolutions and surprises, is almost necessary.

In any case, the casting is just about perfect, the characters demand the viewers' involvement, the plot is a "stonking" one...forget Lord of the Rings...so much, so same. Computer generated graphics have never been more effective...well, in my opinion, at least. Perhaps it's because, so far, it's the wonderful scenery which is computer generated. There are no real monsters, just monstrous people...and even they have recognisable and empathy arousing qualities. No one is totally bad or good...except I hope the dreadful Joffrey gets his "just deserts" at some time in the future...little weasel-faced s***! I'm sure the actor enjoys being so evil..."bad guys" are always the most fun to play...probably because it's somewhat liberating to do stuff on screen that one would never dream of doing in real life.

I'm hooked and I'm 68 and a half. It's an amazing and thoroughly engrossing program. And I don't even fast forward through the repeated opening: a map, for God's sake. Congratulations to everyone involved with this significant artistic venture. It's broken new ground.

I hope this review gets to some of the movers and shakers responsible for such superlative entertainment.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
212 of 228 people found the following review helpful
on 23 July 2011
I was somewhat cynical when mentions of Game of Thrones cropped up all over the web with gushing reviews so it took me a while to give it a whirl.

Predictably though, I was hooked from the first of the ten episodes. Compelling, well cast characters - well known faces mixing with new - and engaging dialogue, there are some fantastic performances - not least Sean Bean, Peter Dinklage and Emilia Clarke. This show is a much needed breath of fresh air in schedules crammed with middle of the road dramas and programmes well past their peak, it makes the fantasy genre watchable again and pulls you into it's world completely. Far from being hammy like many other programmes with a medieval/fantasy bent, it is complex, gritty and many layered. Nothing here of the brain dead TV that spoon feeds and recaps viewers every 15 minutes.

I'm now keen to read the books during the wait for season 2!
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 11 January 2013
Game of Thrones - The first season

Winter is coming..
In Westeros summer lasts ages but when the time is up, winter brings forth famine, cold and other dangers one would not want to think of. Despite the danger of the changing seasons the war around the throne of Westeros rages on, not on the battlefield but by intrigues, matchmaking and devious murders.

Turning a book into a movie often turns out to be a dissapointment to the reader and sometimes even to the watcher.
So how about turning a book series into a television series?

The american premium cable television network, HBO adapted the fantasy novels A Song of Ice and Fire" by american author George R. R. Martin into a fantasy television series.
David Benioff and Daniel B. Weiss developed the series and titled it Game of Thrones", referring to the title of the first volume of A Song of Ice and Fire".

Game of Thrones" is a series that combines beautiful medieval landscapes and settings with talented actors and a plot that will leave your mouth wide open and your eyes wet more than on one occasion.

Appropriate to the quality of this high-budget series the DVD-Box is also thoughtfully crafted with its grey in black design and the hook for the series, Sean Bean, on the Iron Throne.
It contains five DVDs all with their own place in the foldable box. This foldable box fits neatly into another solid box which contains the smaller box with the DVDs, an artbook and an episode guide.
Also the DVD box contains bonus material such as an audio commentary, From the Book to the Screen" and many other insights into the making of Game of Thrones".

I have read the books and the series is very close to the books, at least in the first season.
To me, Game of Thrones" is the perfect medieval fantasy series and as in the books, I got connected to the characters really quick. They are played by very talented and upcoming actors.
The plot is sometimes hard to follow since there are so many players on the field, who play the game of thrones but it's worth the time and you will get so involved with the plot that you'll crave the next episode coming up.
Since there are a few more books to go, I'm excited to see up to seven following seasons of Game of Thrones".
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
506 of 555 people found the following review helpful
I havent read the books so i am going to give an unbiased review of the television show only.

I think its fantastic, an amazing cast, extremely well written and authentic to the likes of which i had never seen.

This series is quite astonishingly violent, its brutal, bloody, graphic and will make you turn away from the screen, i know i have several times so far.

In some of the later episodes i was heaving, some of the scenes in it are quite astonishing disgusting they made me sick to my stomach, and im amazed in the sense that they have the guts to show it on screen, but this is what HBO does best, it pushes the boundaries. There is one scene where one of the characters eats a fresh horse heart and i was almost sick, but it was a vital moment in the storyline.

It comes with warnings about extreme violence and scenes of a sexual nature, so be warned if you are faint of heart because you will see blood, you will see killing, you will see sex, lots of it actually, and yes a few full frontal scenes do make it on screen, so if your a prude i really wouldnt buy it.

This show is going to go on to be know as one of the greatest television shows ever made, the attention to detail is astounding, the opening credits are probably the best i have ever seen on a tv show, and the Dothraki language for example was created especially for the show.

George R R martin who wrote the books is an executive producer of the show and co-writer so you can bet that not only will the show follow his books to the letter but that also 50% of the main cast will be dead before it ends.

The casting is brilliant, Sean bean is amazing as Ned Stark, Mark addy as King Robert is also brilliant and watching the friendship between these 2 on screen is quite marvellous to see.

I really like Nikolaj Coster-Waldau as Jamie Lannister. he is sexy and charming but quite vile, and Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister is hilarious, he is funny, charming, sarcastic, brave and prob the nicest of the Lannisters and should win Emmmys for his performance.

The stand out actor for me however is Emilia Clarke who plays Daenerys or Dany. She is sublime in this role, she is sweet, naive, submissive and fragile, sexy and strong and really comes into her own over the course of the season. I have been told that She plays a very important and large role throughout the entire book series so i shall look forward to watching her role grow.

The very end shot of the season finale will literally put chills down your spine, incredible.

I will not write a detailed synopsis as i hate spoilers so i will give you a premise into what the show is about

SPOILER FREE...

Set in the fictional realms of Westeros and Essos, A Song of Ice and Fire follows three principal storylines, divided by geography and participants, struggling to claim the Iron Throne and rule all the Seven Kingdoms of Westeros.

Each of the following houses are battling to win the right to rule the kingdoms.

House Arryn
House Baratheon - Robert Baratheon is currently King.
House Greyjoy
House Lannister - Robert is married to Cersei Lannister
House Martell
House Stark - Eddard stark is the current hand to King Robert.
House Targaryen - Daenerys is married to a horse warlord called Khal Drogo

What you need to know is that the entire 1st season of Game of thrones is based on the book written by George R R Martin A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1) and HBO have said that each concurrent season will be based on the books in sequence so there will be 5 seasons in total, however George R R Martin has now written a 5th book and plans to write 2 more so potentially there could be 8 seasons as book 3 was written in 2 parts.
If you wish to read the books in sequence here are the links:

Book 2 - A Clash of Kings: Book 2 of A Song of Ice and Fire

Book 3 part 1 - A Storm of Swords: Steel and Snow (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 3 Part 1)

Book 3 part 2 - A Storm of Swords: 2 Blood and Gold (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 3, Part 2)

Book 4 - A Feast for Crows: Book 4 of A Song of Ice and Fire

Book 5 - A Dance With Dragons: Book 5 of A Song of Ice and Fire (Song of Ice & Fire 5)

Books 6 and 7 will be called The Winds of Winter and A dream of spring and will be published in the next few years.

I dont know about you, but now having seen all 10 episodes i want to know what happens next so i am going to buy the books and start reading.

The score written by Ramin Djawadi is beautiful and dramatic and really adds to the suspensefullness of the show.

One last thing, this show is not for kids, i wouldnt let anyone under the age of 16 watch it personally, it is made completely for adults and its nice to see a show that does not pander to the rules of censorship.

A classic in the making !!!
3737 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 30 May 2013
I thought my wife would love this as she loves Sean Bean, alas no. However my twins and I are addicted, brilliant series. Can't wait to get series 2. As we don't have Sky, we have to buy it!
Although produced by the US company HBO, filmed in Europe with mostly British actors.
I've never read the books but am told they are also great.
A mixture of sword and a little sorcery with excellent casting, plot lines and lots of intrigue.
Well recommended as sometimes, no frequently, there is so little worth watching nowadays unless you are into reality TV and X Factor style programmes, this is shocking, entertaining and amusing, though not always at the same time! A refreshing change to bland TV.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 20 July 2014
Some of the 1 star reviews made me giggle so I decided to write this. Yes, it's sexist and there's a lot of sex and gore, but if you watch any other period based drama its exactly the same, it's just how it was back in history, some people can't handle that but it's true. In some cases you need to look past the shocking sex scenes and violence as the story line is so rich and multi levelled. After watching all 4 seasons you really do understand why some of these scenes really are essential to the story line. A picture paints a thousand words and at the end of the day if you are limited to 50 mins per ep you need it to be exciting and straight to the point. This is a fantastic series! You're sat there thinking 'I think this is going to happen' and then BANG. Something else happens which ruins your theory. It's is unpredictable which makes it so exciting and addictive. The production design and costumes are absolutely wonderful and the actors are great! It is definitely worth your time and money! Enjoy :)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 23 March 2012
When I saw the cast list, I must admit I thought "Oh no, not Sean Bean again", an actor who always seems to be cast in the role of the tough, yet gentle, gritty northener when the part demands it, and, sure enough, in this series, he's cast as Eddard Stark, the honourable lord of the northern holding Winterfell. And there's no other actor who could have played the part as magnificently as he does. Either Bean was born to play this part or George RR Martin had him in mind when he was writing his sprawling epic.

The rest of the cast is equally strong, my favourite being Peter Dinklage as Tyrion Lannister, the epitome of the anti-hero. Those of you familiar with the story will know exactly what I mean.

I cannot praise this series highly enough. Miss it and you'll miss one of the truly great television masterpieces of the modern age. I'd have given it ten stars if it had been possible.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 7 February 2013
Firstly the item arrived very quickly after being ordered. I am a careful shopper with most of the high street stores charging £20 and upwards I ordered it from Amazon for £17.
The items was pristine and well guarded against damage.
The series is on sky and not being a sky customer I missed series one, until I visited my daughter and she encouraged me to watch it. I was hooked and watched the episodes she had recorded, being a lord of the rings fan I thought this was just going to be a similar story. Yes it does tell a story of a fantasy world where different people and lords rule, there are dragons and other creatures. The story is so gripping I have read the books now and avidly await series two, but apparently I am behind in finding this story, my brother tells me there are games and other stories that I was unaware of.
I am a woman of 55 years and I would say that if you enjoy history and a bit of fantasy you must read the books and get the DVD's
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.