Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars4,122
4.7 out of 5 stars
Size: 0.9 m / 3 FeetPackage Type: Standard PackagingChange
Price:£3.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

87 of 90 people found the following review helpful
on 22 October 2011
I bought this cable to connect my laptop to my LED TV.. Fantastic results - the picture is amazingly clear and sound quality is great. Highly recommend it for watching TV online.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
74 of 77 people found the following review helpful
I have had several AmazonBasics products before, and always found them good. These cables are no exception. They come in a simple padded envelope and the only packaging is small plastic caps to protect the plugs on the end. As noted by many other reviewers, since HDMI is a digital signal, you do not need super-duper expensive cables to get 100% perfect transmission. These ones will do the job, at a very reasonable price.
As with other Amazon cables, the plugs at the end of the cables are really solid, with nice "shoulders" to make sure that the end of the cable cannot kink where it joins the plug.
These cables are only 3 feet, which makes them perfect for joining equipment sitting in a typical TV cabinet - DVD, PVR, games console, etc., without leaving metres of cable hanging around to be tidied away. Be aware though that these cables are relatively stiff, so do not expect them to bend at tight angles around awkward furniture.
In case you do not know technicalities, these cables support HDMI v1.4, which means that they are cable of taking signals up to that for a 4K television, and also have a separate connection for Ethernet. What this means is that, suppose you have a PVR box plugged into your router - rather than have to connect your smart TV separately to the router, you can just connect the HDMI cable to your PVR box and it can receive internet content over the HDMI cable (i.e., one less cable cluttering up the space behind your TV. Obviously, you also need to make sure that both your TV and whatever else you connect support HDMI v1.4 too!
However, the cables are backward compatible, so you can happily use it for normal HDMI connections now, and know that later when you upgrade your TV or other equipment, you have something that will still work as well (or even better).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
127 of 134 people found the following review helpful
on 2 December 2013
It's an HDMI cable. It's a long one. It's a cheap one. So if you want a long HDMI cable at minimal cost that will work just as well as any other cable, then this is what you want.

There's no need to be misled by monstrous claims that some HDMI cables are better than others at transmitting your data; that's just a combination of marketing and ignorance of basic physics. The only two things where paying more can get you better quality are a) the standard of construction (how likely is it that the cable and its connectors will fall apart), and b) how thin the cable is.

Despite being cheap, this cable is well-made and robust, so you're unlikely to experience any problems on that score. The only thing that gives it away as being a budget product is that it is fairly thick and inflexible by comparison with some. If that matters to you, then something a bit more expensive may be more appropriate. But for a situation where flexibility isn't hugely important (such as a permanent connection between two items that don't move much) then this is perfectly fine. If all you care about is getting ones and zeros from one end of a wire to another, then this will do the job with absolutely no problems at all.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
124 of 132 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 November 2012
HDMI cables are like the Emperor's new clothes it seems. You can spend an absolute fortune on such a cable (and I am talking hundreds) and yet I defy the average man in the street to tell the difference in either audio or video quality between a well made cable such as this, and another costing many times as much. Yes the expensive cable will look nicer and will feel good, but that - to me - is not the point. It's going to spend its' life stuffed in the back of your DVD or BluRay player, where nobody will see it.

I use this cable to feed the video signal to my projector in a home cinema. I needed a quick replacement for a rather more expensive cable which I - er - broke. My screen is a bit larger than most at 3 metres wide (a bit more diagonal). I project a high definition signal from a BluRay source.

Trust me - this cable is absolutely fine.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 30 December 2012
The cable arrived quickly and does the job. A longer HDMI cable at a reasonable price. I use it to connect my laptop to the TV screen
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
136 of 149 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 7 December 2010
This cable is designed for connecting 2 HDMI devices together. It supports the latest version of HDMI which means it can carry Ethernet traffic alongside the AV signals... in practical terms that means it's up-to-date and worth having to be future proof. What it is not (and you could be forgiven for thinking it given the title) is a cable with an HDMI and an Ethernet (RJ45) connector at each end - instead it's an HDMI cable which can carry Ethernet if the devices at each end support it.

Cable quality is good (quite thick actually) and it has Amazon Basics branding all over it (connectors and the cable) with gold connectors (and a throw-away plastic cover). Some reviews have mentioned a difference in quality using this compared to older cables - I must confess I can't tell any difference - to my understanding this is carrying a digital signal so what should matter is the components at each end; perhaps there is a difference if you are using older cables which had a lower bandwidth rating??

From that perspective and to conclude... this is a good value cable for connecting 2 HDMI devices and it does the job well, and given the spec will continue to be usable for a long time. I use it to connect a Sky HD box to a plasma TV, both of which have HDMI sockets, and the results are great.
77 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 30 July 2012
This cable is exactly as specified on the Amazon page. I found it to be very well made indeed and it works just as it should.

The cable is HDMI with Ethernet, which means that it supports the HDMI Ethernet Channel (HEC) rather than having both HDMI and RJ45 connectors. It fully supports the HDMI 1.4 specification. If you have a device such as a PS3 and want to play 3D movies on your television, you will almost certainly need this cable since lesser specifications simply won't support that kind of data transfer. If you're just looking for a standard HDMI cable, at this price you might as well buy one of these in case your setup gets upgraded in the next few years.

Great product, great value, and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anyone. There is no point spending £100+ on a "pro quality" product that does exactly the same thing!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 2 May 2015
😍😎💯👍🏽i have bought a few of these cables and they are absolutely perfect for my needs, I know you can buy pound shop HDMI cables, but I have had some that would not work, something to do with the signal from the device you are using. My friend said the signal is coded or something like that.
😉 I bought this particular HDMI for an Apple TV box, and it's perfect.
I also wanted an HDMI cable that I could recognise at the end that plugs into my HDMI Splitter box, I have in excess of 20 HDMI Cables and when they are all black and all look the same, it can be difficult to find what device it is for, unless you trace it all the way back to the source.
Now I have a few Amazon orange & black HDMI Cables I have a better idea of what device they are for.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
34 of 37 people found the following review helpful
on 8 December 2011
I purchased this high speed HDMI cable for use with a Samsung Blue Ray player playing 3D films. The quality has been excellent and I have had no problems. I'm glad I paid £4.99 instead of the £39.99 on the one that the the salesperson in PC World recommended.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
51 of 56 people found the following review helpful
on 29 December 2010
There simply isn't any need for expensive HDMI cables when there is stuff like this on sale. Works a treat between the PC (output from an ATI 5770) into the TV, picture and sound transmitted without any issues. Superb quality cannot fault it.

One tip, if you have an ATI card you need to open the catalyst control centre and set overscan to 0% in order for it to fill the TV screen. :)
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 30 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.