Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars2,474
4.6 out of 5 stars


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2013
I have several torches. Some are more elegant (these cheap Chinese makers do like a chunky bit of industrial metal for some reason!) Some are brighter... and heavier, and take more batteries. But none offer such a convenient and powerful package, overall. Torches are a bit like cameras... the best one is the one you have with you when you need it, and at this price you can afford to have a torch anywhere you might need it.

Being able to focus the beam makes this very useful. The wide angle is bright enough to provide good illumination over a small work area, or dimly light up a room, and the tight beam -- while square and LED-shaped -- is very bright over a very small area, and offers good throw over a distance.

Clearly it's not going to replace the various super-powered torches you can buy for very reasonable prices these days, but this pocketable beast is now my go-to torch. In an ideal world I'd trim some of the weight off the chunky case, but it'd be rude to complain for this money!
55 comments118 of 123 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 June 2014
CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA

There does seem to be some confusion in the review pages about the batteries this torch will accept. It is designed to operate on a single 3.7V battery - available as rechargeable or one-use lithium ion. The control circuit of the torch is designed to extend battery life by continuing to deliver the correct current to the LED even when the battery is running out. Normally you would change the battery when the light begins to dim, but the control circuit keeps the torch running normally even when the voltage delivered by the battery has dropped considerably.

Think out of the box now - if you put a lower voltage battery in the torch, the control circuit will still compensate and try to keep the torch running at normal brightness. A standard AA battery is physically interchangeable with the 14050, but has a voltage of 1.5V for disposable or 1.2V for rechargeable These voltages are only a fraction of the 3.7V the torch is designed to run on, but the control circuit still manages a good light output from the LED despite that.

I have tested two of these torches side by side, one with a 3.7V Li-ion battery and the other with a 1.2V Ni-MH battery. Measuring lumen output is most definitely a laboratory job, but working on the basis of long experience in illumination and lighting, my estimate is that the output with the 3.7V battery was about ten times greater than with the 1.2V battery. Subjectively that would make the 3.7V beam approximately three times brighter.

Don't forget, however that at 3.7V the light output is truly astounding and at 1.2V it is still a very respectable output. Think of the torch as a versatile tool - works OK with straightforward AA's but really shows its capabilities at 3.7V.

So, before complaining it is dim, think of what batteries you are using - don't blame the torch if you are using AA's, it is doing a very good job of giving you light with a very deficient power source. Upgrade to 3.7V batteries and see what you have really got for your money.

One very serious word of warning, particularly if you are using it at 3.7V - do not shine it into people's eyes, even from quite a long way away.
1010 comments270 of 287 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
I had previously bought one to see how it is and when it arrived I was so impressed that I then bought 3 more to give to family and friends. I might buy more in the future.
A must have for everyone.
List of 'perks':
- manual zoom
- 3 modes (Full power, Low Power, Strobe) - access using the switch by pressing halfway.
- uses 1x AA battery. The most popular battery type, can be found at most shops.
- fits inside pocket
- has a very nice military feel to it
- the clamp is very tight and requires some muscle
- the body of the flashlight allows it to be mounted on bikes, weapons etc. (mount required)
- the lip surrounding the button allows the flashlight to be placed upright on a flat surface (candle style)
- the body and the front slide (zoom) of the flashlight is checkered and allows for good grip, even when using gloves.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 December 2013
Purchased this as a last minute thought for a christmas present. Then I realised that it was coming from China, ooops!
The torch came within a couple of weeks and well in time for christmas phew!
Seller dispatched quickly after my purchase which I was pleased about.

The torch itself is very well made and is about the same size as the width of your palm if you have small hands like me. The torch is easy to operate with one hand.
The torch comes in a plain white box with some bubble wrap protecting it. There are no instructions for it. This is not a downfall however as it is not rocket science to operate.
The on/off switch is located on the end of the rear of the torch, easy for thumb operation.
Click the switch to turn the torch on for full power. 'Lightly' press the switch once to switch the light mode to the 50% and 'lightly' press the switch again to switch to the strobe setting.
The front end of the torch has the adjustable lense. Slide forwards and backwards with the thumb and forefinger to change between a nice wash of light and a square pin point beam.
For a torch of this size it is really bright. For general walking in the dark it is perfect to throw in your pocket ready for use on your travels to avoid any surprises from the dreaded doggy doo that some selfish people leave behind.
Really pleased with this torch!
0Comment16 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 July 2015
The product i received is way different from the photo... thought this is dispatched from uk but rather from hongkong. And really disappointed because it is totally different from the photo posted.
NOT ZOOMABLE
NOT A 3 MODE LIGHT
NOWHERE NEAR 350 LUMENS

Quick update:
Contact the seller and they replace it with a new item... the item i received was well built... for the price i never thought they can build something like that. Three modes as described and zoomable... but then the lumens output... there is nowhere near 300 lumens, i dont know if it produces 50 lumens at all. But for the price and for just everyday use and better than nothing... bare in mind that this torch eats the life of your battery much quicker than you expect. This is a real bargain... dirt cheap... and i give 1 stars, for sending me wrong item at first and for misleading lumens output and for a horrible experience...
review image review image review image
55 comments76 of 86 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2015
Well made, solid and unbelivably bright little torch. Powered by a single AA battery this torch puts out a really bright clean white light, the beam can be focused from a flood to a beam by sliding the front part back and forward, much like a camera lens. With the light focused to a beam it is very powerful, far more than you would expect from a small pocket torch and really cuts through the gloom. The switch is in the cap and has 3 modes 1 full power, 2 lower power, 3 strobe, a half press on the button switch changes the mode a full press turns it on/off. I can't say how long a battery lasts, i'm still on my first. The torch has a quality feel to it solid aluminium, all screw threads are fitted with rubber washers and the switch has a rubber cap it's certainly splash/rain proof and probably fully waterproof at least to a foot or so, but as I've not dropped it in water I can't guarntee it. In short - a lot of torch for very little money.
0Comment16 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This well constructed flashlight is an awesome deal! It sports a newer 3W Q5 LED meaning that it will produce the same brightness a 7W LED does (around 350 lumen) while still retaining great battery life.

Given its diminutive size it is amazing how bright this torch is!

Thanks to the zoom function you could either have a spotlight beam or a wide floodlight effect. I find this feature particularly useful when going for a stroll at night. I set it to maximum aperture, thus covering a wide field of view. If I need to focus the beam on a certain area, a gentle push on the torch head will narrow the beam thus providing more throw.

At this price, this torch is really one of the best bargains available.

Highly recommended.
0Comment33 of 38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2016
This little torches are exceptional. They may have taken a while to arrive however when they did I was not disappointed. I cant quite work out how they produce such quality at a ridiculously competitive price.
Pop an AA battery in and you are away. They provide an excellent amount of light with really good intensity (lumens?) You have the added benefit of being able to zoom the light which basically means you can have a more intense but smaller area of light. To do this you simply push the front part of the torch forwards or backwards as you desire.
I can honestly say that I have disposed of all my other monster sized torches which seem to take loads of batteries and yet give very little light. These were particularly useful during a recent power cut when I left them in various places around the house (including by the bed) and picked them up as I moved around.
I cannot praise these torches highly enough. Great product and very happy customer.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 December 2015
How can you go wrong with this torch at this price with free delivery, that is what I was thinking when I ordered 8 of them, mostly as gifts for friends to keep in the car or home.
They arrived today earlier then expected and I just checked all of them with a AA battery and they all work fine, I don't know how long that size battery will last compared to the larger one you can get but I wont be bothering with that as AAs are always available.
The end cap cycles through the functions well with a soft press and a firm press turns it on and off.
Actually well made but with a plastic lens but it works fine and at the price I cant complain and as expected it is no where near 350 lumens but it is way brighter than the £6 ring torch I got from Blacks which has none of the functions of this one.
The strobe setting I can use on my dogs coat so I can see where she is on night walks.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2014
Used for one week then broke, button would not turn on light.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.