Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

  • Customer Reviews

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars1,878
4.6 out of 5 stars

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

107 of 111 people found the following review helpful
on 15 September 2013
I have several torches. Some are more elegant (these cheap Chinese makers do like a chunky bit of industrial metal for some reason!) Some are brighter... and heavier, and take more batteries. But none offer such a convenient and powerful package, overall. Torches are a bit like cameras... the best one is the one you have with you when you need it, and at this price you can afford to have a torch anywhere you might need it.

Being able to focus the beam makes this very useful. The wide angle is bright enough to provide good illumination over a small work area, or dimly light up a room, and the tight beam -- while square and LED-shaped -- is very bright over a very small area, and offers good throw over a distance.

Clearly it's not going to replace the various super-powered torches you can buy for very reasonable prices these days, but this pocketable beast is now my go-to torch. In an ideal world I'd trim some of the weight off the chunky case, but it'd be rude to complain for this money!
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
237 of 251 people found the following review helpful
on 24 June 2014
CREE Q5 3W Led 350 Lumens mini Flashlight Zoomable Torch AA

There does seem to be some confusion in the review pages about the batteries this torch will accept. It is designed to operate on a single 3.7V battery - available as rechargeable or one-use lithium ion. The control circuit of the torch is designed to extend battery life by continuing to deliver the correct current to the LED even when the battery is running out. Normally you would change the battery when the light begins to dim, but the control circuit keeps the torch running normally even when the voltage delivered by the battery has dropped considerably.

Think out of the box now - if you put a lower voltage battery in the torch, the control circuit will still compensate and try to keep the torch running at normal brightness. A standard AA battery is physically interchangeable with the 14050, but has a voltage of 1.5V for disposable or 1.2V for rechargeable These voltages are only a fraction of the 3.7V the torch is designed to run on, but the control circuit still manages a good light output from the LED despite that.

I have tested two of these torches side by side, one with a 3.7V Li-ion battery and the other with a 1.2V Ni-MH battery. Measuring lumen output is most definitely a laboratory job, but working on the basis of long experience in illumination and lighting, my estimate is that the output with the 3.7V battery was about ten times greater than with the 1.2V battery. Subjectively that would make the 3.7V beam approximately three times brighter.

Don't forget, however that at 3.7V the light output is truly astounding and at 1.2V it is still a very respectable output. Think of the torch as a versatile tool - works OK with straightforward AA's but really shows its capabilities at 3.7V.

So, before complaining it is dim, think of what batteries you are using - don't blame the torch if you are using AA's, it is doing a very good job of giving you light with a very deficient power source. Upgrade to 3.7V batteries and see what you have really got for your money.

One very serious word of warning, particularly if you are using it at 3.7V - do not shine it into people's eyes, even from quite a long way away.
1010 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 3 April 2014
The Battery life on using one battery is great. You can't even feel it when it's in your pocket it's so light. The zoom function is useful. I use it for riding on my bike at night. I have one attached to my bike and I hold one in my hand to signal to drivers overtaking me. Makes a dark road bright. Because it's so small I can hold the handle bars with two hand and hold the torch inbetween my fingers because it's so small and light. Also I can use the zoom function with two fingers very easily. The company is very kind and when I emailed them to say thank you they replied within minutes. If you have not got one of these your mad because there the best torches for the price you can buy. I paid £22 for another torch which is brighter but it's too bright for practicality and the battery has to be charge very frequently but with this torch you can just take a couple of batteries with you if your going somewhere and you will be supplied for hours.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 25 December 2013
Purchased this as a last minute thought for a christmas present. Then I realised that it was coming from China, ooops!
The torch came within a couple of weeks and well in time for christmas phew!
Seller dispatched quickly after my purchase which I was pleased about.

The torch itself is very well made and is about the same size as the width of your palm if you have small hands like me. The torch is easy to operate with one hand.
The torch comes in a plain white box with some bubble wrap protecting it. There are no instructions for it. This is not a downfall however as it is not rocket science to operate.
The on/off switch is located on the end of the rear of the torch, easy for thumb operation.
Click the switch to turn the torch on for full power. 'Lightly' press the switch once to switch the light mode to the 50% and 'lightly' press the switch again to switch to the strobe setting.
The front end of the torch has the adjustable lense. Slide forwards and backwards with the thumb and forefinger to change between a nice wash of light and a square pin point beam.
For a torch of this size it is really bright. For general walking in the dark it is perfect to throw in your pocket ready for use on your travels to avoid any surprises from the dreaded doggy doo that some selfish people leave behind.
Really pleased with this torch!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 16 February 2015
Actually a huge disappointment. Yes it's not expensive, but that's the only good point. Do suppliers check their stock before delivery? No. If they did they would know that this is NOT zoomable. Why; because the bulb and lense are in the same cap, at a fixed difference. Unscrewing just moves the whole assembly. The screw thread is very rough, and the battery contact plate has holes in it. Unscrew it too far and the battery spring no longer does its job and the light is extinguished. IF you want a source of light, cheap, with no functionality then this is to be considered. If you want a torch, look elsewhere. Caveat emptor.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
60 of 69 people found the following review helpful
on 11 July 2015
The product i received is way different from the photo... thought this is dispatched from uk but rather from hongkong. And really disappointed because it is totally different from the photo posted.

Quick update:
Contact the seller and they replace it with a new item... the item i received was well built... for the price i never thought they can build something like that. Three modes as described and zoomable... but then the lumens output... there is nowhere near 300 lumens, i dont know if it produces 50 lumens at all. But for the price and for just everyday use and better than nothing... bare in mind that this torch eats the life of your battery much quicker than you expect. This is a real bargain... dirt cheap... and i give 1 stars, for sending me wrong item at first and for misleading lumens output and for a horrible experience...
review image review image review image
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
on 31 January 2015
Well made, solid and unbelivably bright little torch. Powered by a single AA battery this torch puts out a really bright clean white light, the beam can be focused from a flood to a beam by sliding the front part back and forward, much like a camera lens. With the light focused to a beam it is very powerful, far more than you would expect from a small pocket torch and really cuts through the gloom. The switch is in the cap and has 3 modes 1 full power, 2 lower power, 3 strobe, a half press on the button switch changes the mode a full press turns it on/off. I can't say how long a battery lasts, i'm still on my first. The torch has a quality feel to it solid aluminium, all screw threads are fitted with rubber washers and the switch has a rubber cap it's certainly splash/rain proof and probably fully waterproof at least to a foot or so, but as I've not dropped it in water I can't guarntee it. In short - a lot of torch for very little money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 23 February 2014
Working in security, we have big torches we carry around, but don't always have them to hand due to weight and size. This is perfect to attach to any vest, uniform. Small and compact.... there for when you need a torch but didn't anticipate you'd need one. Uses one AA battery. Uses LED bulb. Decent level of light. Perfect for close range i.e 4-5 meters Anythin beyond that, the light disipates. To switch on, you press the switch. to change to the strobe option, you just need to press half way down. Looks cool, feels sturdy. I've been wearing mine on my overt stab vest under my jacket and therefore it hasn't seen rain yet. I've been carrying it around on me for around 4 months and have only had occasion to use it 3-5 times for periods no longer than a minute each time. Still working on the original AA battery. These are no where near the 'Surefire' standard (which I have owned) but a great practical piece of kit. Compared to the LED Lenser P3BM (£10.99) which I also bought from Amazon, it's not too far off from the P3BM standard but not as good. Due to the price, I will probably be going to get one for the car glove compartment, another for home aswell.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
32 of 37 people found the following review helpful
This well constructed flashlight is an awesome deal! It sports a newer 3W Q5 LED meaning that it will produce the same brightness a 7W LED does (around 350 lumen) while still retaining great battery life.

Given its diminutive size it is amazing how bright this torch is!

Thanks to the zoom function you could either have a spotlight beam or a wide floodlight effect. I find this feature particularly useful when going for a stroll at night. I set it to maximum aperture, thus covering a wide field of view. If I need to focus the beam on a certain area, a gentle push on the torch head will narrow the beam thus providing more throw.

At this price, this torch is really one of the best bargains available.

Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 27 March 2014
I had previously bought one to see how it is and when it arrived I was so impressed that I then bought 3 more to give to family and friends. I might buy more in the future.
A must have for everyone.
List of 'perks':
- manual zoom
- 3 modes (Full power, Low Power, Strobe) - access using the switch by pressing halfway.
- uses 1x AA battery. The most popular battery type, can be found at most shops.
- fits inside pocket
- has a very nice military feel to it
- the clamp is very tight and requires some muscle
- the body of the flashlight allows it to be mounted on bikes, weapons etc. (mount required)
- the lip surrounding the button allows the flashlight to be placed upright on a flat surface (candle style)
- the body and the front slide (zoom) of the flashlight is checkered and allows for good grip, even when using gloves.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 22 answered questions

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.