Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
610
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-ray|Change
Price:£52.01+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

The Fantasy genre gets the HBO treatment in the adaptation of George RR Martin's a Song of Ice and Fire novels.

The story take place in the mythical land of Westeros where seasons can span decades, it follows four central families the Starks, the Baratheons, the Lannisters and the Targaryens, allegiances shift, betrayal is rife as is the quest for power to be seated upon the iron throne, becoming more bloodthirsty and wider reaching as it goes on.

Game of Thrones pushes the fantasy genre into a truly adult realm without becoming hokey or silly like the recent Conan remake and while the likes of the supernatural and sorcery do feature, it paints a much more grounded world full of human characters with human flaws, the relationships they build and the ploys they use to outmanoeuvre each other becoming centrepieces for the show. Characters you love to hate quickly emerge though as time goes on it becomes apparent everyone is not who they seem and even the most loathsome characters have their endearing moments. Season 2 introduces even more players into the mix, quickly becoming part of the on-going story continually building momentum to a climatic battle.

Like HBO's other drama series the focus is on character, it develops into an epic sprawling story but it's the people that will keep you coming back for more. Sean bean effortlessly heads up the cast slipping into the title role with ease bringing gravitas to a demanding role of a man with honour in a realm that has none. Peter Dinklage also shines in his emmy winning role as Tyrion, the sharp tongued quick thinking dwarf who is a firm fan favourite for a very good reason, despite being in the most loathed family you will quickly find yourself rooting for him.

The production value of the show is immense, from costumes to locations everything is brought to life as a screen marvel, beautifully shot with the best directors working on TV giving an episodic program a truly epic feel every time, creating not just a story but a world. Season 2's siege episode 'Blackwater' is unparalleled in terms of quality, never has TV felt so epic. Bone crunching, unflinching violence and graphic sex feature throughout an adult show not for younger viewers.

As book adaptations go the show is largely very faithful, fans of the novels will delight in seeing Martin's vividly described fantasy world coming to life, while there are a few changes, the end product is close to the source material but still manages to throw in a few surprises along the way. Going in without having read the books provides many twists and turns but as the show progresses attention must be paid to which families side with which and whose related to who.

Even if fantasy is not your usual taste its well worth giving Game of Thrones a go, there's a lot to enjoy, in a world you will quickly find yourself swept up in, bring on season 3.
55 comments| 175 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2013
Started watching on a rainy weekend and didn't stop till Tuesday. Completely addictive. Lord of the Rings crossed with the Sopranos. Sex (lots of it), violence (lots of that too) and the odd joke. Decent budget, massive cast, intricate plots, jaw dropping shocks, great characters and good acting.
0Comment| 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2013
OK, so I never really watched game of thrones when it was playing on the tv, never really appealed to me, despite my interest in fantasy film; The Hobbit, the Lord of the Rings, etc. However, during a 13 hour flight back from Singapore, I was stuck next to a screaming child for the entire length of the journey. Having watched most of the good films going out, I saw the entertainment system had 'Game of Thrones Season 1' on offer. So I turned the volume up to maximum to help eleminate the piercing screams from my skull and settled down to watch a few episodes.

Fast forward 12hours 50 minutes and the flight attendant is telling me to remove my headphones for landing and I am telling her I have to finish the 9th episode first so could the pilot perhaps circle a couple more times.

As you can tell, the series is immensly entertianing and I promptly ordered the 1-2 season box set in the taxi on the way home (just before falling asleep). It is highly recommended to everyone, particuarly those who love a bit of blood and sex...sometimes not mutually exclusive on this show. Great characters are forged but no one is safe as the writer clearly didn't mind hacking through the cast and removing some main characters every few episodes/books.
0Comment| 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2016
I have been a fan of the show since the very beginning, and was impressed to find the first two seasons available in 2013 to pass on as a gift that year to a relative; you really do need to have multiple seasons at hand so you can watch straight through!

The perfect boxset to binge watch - It has absolutely everything and I think it is suitable for both the ladies and the gents. The female leads are actually quite empowering and I don't think they alienate or put off a female audience.

There's action, comedy, love interests, attractive characters, and brilliant stories. It doesn't matter if you have not read the books; whilst the scripts and plots follow the books in the beginning, toward the later seasons the show has sped ahead of the books and going in different directions with les input from the author. I haven't read the books, so I in a way had the luxury of not knowing where the stories were going from episode 1. For those who have read the books, there may be disappointment or there may be equal joy in watching the show. Either way give it a watch!

One last note... If you live at home....don't watch it with parents in the room.... awkward!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2013
The mastering quality of the blu-ray discs is great. the image quality is crisp and colours are vibrant and full of life. Plays great via my 55 inch Sony television.

The only reason for docking a point is the unusual menu system they have incorporated. Each disc holds 2 episodes in series 2, except for one. You aren't really made aware of this via the menus, as they let you select episodes which aren't on the disc. When you do this the player then asks you to insert 'disc xxx'. Its a bit messy and would have been much better if they had just configured the menus to show the actual episodes on the disc in the player.

Minor point, but it irked me.

Great show too, but if you are reading this, you already know.
22 comments| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 April 2013
Bought this as a gift for my husband. WOW what a brilliant series. Still working our way through the first series but can't wait for series 3. Would strongly recommend this series Not for the squeamish though!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
My wife and I started watching this based purely on the previews and I feel its fair to say we were hooked from episode one.
This is a fantasy for adults, with sex, violence and swearing.
The story is incredibly detailed and has superb depth so is difficult to do justice in a short summation. However. In essence is about families at war on different fronts and from different enemies.....and everything in between.
The characterisation is very well done with each family and race being very different and having different desires. Tyrian the dwarf is fantastically well casted and its certainly obvious why so many fans like him.
The sets are beautiful and it is obvious a lot of money has been invested to really make you feel you are part of it.
Something that doesn't often happen with a t.v show.
Although this does have all the basic wants of the fantasy genre such as magic and medieval style fighting, this should in no way put off anyone who isn't a fan of that style. The story is mesmeric and the depth will drag everyone in to the extent that you will look forward to every episode and the twists and turns will amaze even the most hardened and sceptical of people.
I cannot recommend this enough to anyone and everyone who enjoys watching an intelligent show. My wife loathes anything that is even slightly fantasy related and she is as hooked as I am. Brilliant from start to finish.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2014
Having read all the books I was surprised and thrilled that the televised series was so good. Gripping script, acting, and the recreation of the fantasy world created in the mind of George RR Martin was masterful, as were the credits and music, which is perfect. It is a remorselessly grim world with cruel landscapes, beautifully captured. The many and fascinating characters suffer more than they deserve, but it is beautifully done, apart perhaps from a sexing up of the original story. Such a rich and involved story doesn't need anything added, in my opinion. However, I'm loving every minute and ekeing out my viewing because I don't want it to end. Fabulous. Well done to everyone involved.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2013
I had trouble with the first book. All that switching from family and territory, quite disorientating, hard to get a grasp on any of the characters. It works so much better on film. Could well lead to appreciating the books, having got to grips with the families and contexts, all the switching in shouldn't be so off putting.
Switching, that is neccesary. The story is BIG. It covers so many areas of the world and the notablle people within it.

It's low fantasy. Not much magic and mythic creature appearance, so if fantasy isn't your bag don't let that put you off. You could enjoy this as another quality outing from HBO. It has what they're known for. Excellent characterisation, dialogue, and is warts and all with nudity and bloody action.

This DvD looked better for value for money than the stand alone seasons. Still replete with additional content, featurettes and commentaries.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2013
Season one:

Banners, swords, hopes, sigils, dreams and reality, the first season of a 'Game of Thrones' follows closely to the fist book in the A Song of Ice and Fire, 7 Volumes series by George R.R. Martin also called A Game of Thrones (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 1).

This series is truly epic, the Blu ray quality is fantastic and the story is ground breaking. I would advice having a couple of days free when you buy this as the chances are you will watch one and find yourself flying through all 10 episodes in no time at all.

By the end you will be shocked, excited, worried and ready... Winter is coming...

Season two:

Houses hold everything, wealth, honour, protection, loyalty and rights. Arryn, Baratheon, Greyjoy, Lannister, Martell, Stark, Targaryen, Tully, and Tyrell, it matters not, all are involved in the Game of Thrones.

The stories continue, and what lies beyond the wall may just threaten everything the houses fight for, division will kill all, but unified they may just withstand the inevitable wrath of the 'white walkers'.

This second season of a 'Game of Thrones' is based upon the novel by George R. R. A Clash of Kings (Reissue) (A Song of Ice and Fire, Book 2) and is just as epic, fun, violent and world churning as the first season.

Extremely well put together by HBO and a must watch for all who have come to know and love the story to date!
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse