Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Voyage Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars448
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£7.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

89 of 102 people found the following review helpful
on 5 April 2013
The Big Bang Theory continues into its sixth season and for the most part, its a positive one. Howard and Bernadette being married adds a new flavor, there are less awkward Amy/Penny ideas thrown in (Series 5 painting for example) and the whole Penny/Leonard will they?/won't they? has settled down so other elements of the series can be focused upon. It's still funny, there's some great episodes and ideas thrown in, Episode 8: The 43 peculiarity has more of an old-style Big Bang feel with the five core members going it alone and it benefits.

Several new dynamics also help the series avoid a pattern of diminishing returns. Howard in space provides some of the funniest scenes in the season for a start. Among the best additions to the series come in two new characters, Sheldon's assistant Alex who has won some of the fanbase over as a better match with Leonard than Penny - but that's later. The other who comes in at the latter end of the season is Raj's girlfriend Lucy. Lucy is one of the most interesting characters shown so far, socially awkward, timid but well-meaning and the two have quite poignant scenes together as they both have social anxiety issues. Combine that with some very creative episodes such as The Bakersfield Expedition where the guys are stranded on the way to Comic Con, The Closet Reconfiguration which hits a new level of depth concerning a letter from Howard's anonymous father. and others.

But Series 6 also has its problems. The dynamic between Penny and Leonard is not only tired and getting increasingly dull, but the relationship is one more spurned by jealously (Penny considers breaking up with him and then competition arrives in the form of Alex and she's interested). Also the writing is getting more dull as "shock" stuff is used such as loads of sex (not on screen but implied) and low cut dresses. Big Bang Theory is probably going to go on and on until its been milked rather than go out on a high. Whilst not as bad as Series 5 which felt like the TV equivalent of a sell-out album, Series 6 does feel at times to be shifting into a less creative direction and feels like some wise changes would work out.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 October 2013
I love having The Big Bang Theory DVDs as this means I can watch it when I want and watch whatever episode(s) at any time. Perfect if you just need a quick laugh as the episodes are about 20 minutes long but pack a lot of things into one episode.

Things that are specific to Series 6 include Howard's adventures in space, Leonard and Penny's relationship goes through the usual ups-and-downs whilst even Sheldon and Amy's relationship progresses (which is nice and weird at the same time), Sheldon gets a new (female) assistant Alex and Raj meets a girl who has social anxiety issues. I like the fact that whilst the characters have clearly evolved during the six series, they do still stay somewhat true to what they started as - Sheldon especially still has the ability to make me laugh over some of his mannerisms. But there's plenty of laughs in each episode (24 in total). As per the other series, this has three discs in one box and there's some decent extras for those who watch the extras.

All in all, a good buy for anyone who loves this show, especially if you already have the other five series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 September 2013
Another brilliant series of the best and most intellectual sitcom on the planet. The evolution of the relationships as the characters grow is great, but the real heart of the show, Sheldon, is only now starting to see that his friends and Amy are worth more to him than what he can get them to do for him to make his life easier. The ghost of autism that tinges the character is recognisable for all who have experience of the condition, and every child over 8 with autism that I have met loves this programme because they can identify with him. It is useful for their parents as well as it is a largely positive role model for their children, and it shows the difficulty the others have at times too, which you can discuss with your child to give them an amount of self awareness that may be hard to explain in other circumstances. Not to get too deep though, because it is very funny!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 September 2015
Im happy to say this is more strong comedic stuff. Raj finally gets some development without effecting his comedic presence and personality. The inclusion of a love potential for Raj was a good move and once again does a fantastic job of developing the characters naturally and seamlessly. Sheldon and Amy continue the relationship development at the usual snails pace but remaining strangely warm and funny. The other more developed characters such as Penny and Leonard stay to their strong points, if it ain't broke don't fix it. Comic book store Stuart finally gets a little more limelight at the beginning of the series giving the first few episodes a fresh feel and also showing potential to become a more regular character that brings something to the table. Overall yet another strong series continuing the trend. I cant wait for season 7
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 10 August 2013
In the cult tradition of SPARTACUS, the halls of every science department now echoes: "I AM SHELDON"!

Currently into its fifth season, THE BIG BANG THEORY proved to be one of the most funny TV sitcoms ever aired. Even if the show seems to have slowed down form its initial explosive impetus, I had not laughed out loud this hard ever since the best days of FRASIER and SEINFELD - and BIG BANG is **consistently** brilliant!

Sheldon Cooper is unavoidably the king of the show - the massive black hole this Universe revolves around if you will. A child prodigy, now theoretical physicist PhD in his 20's with absolutely no social skills or known sexual drive. Sheldon may be on the verge of unifying the fields but cannot drive a car to save his life or break a smile even remotely resembling that of a mere homo sapiens.
His equally super-intelligent (yet sexually frustrated and somewhat confused girlfriend), Amy Farrah Fowler, received a far more enlarged role this fifth season. Even if her addition opened up some girls-night-out moments, she was not a very good addition and she unbalances the show. Her character only manages to blur the focus form Sheldon (there is only room for one idiosyncratic genius!), diffuse a number of comically charged situations and gum up the show's flow.

Leonard Hofstadter is Sheldon's roommate and primary ...keeper. An experimental physicist himself (who Sheldon tries to "help" by steering him towards a teaching career), he juggles Sheldon's idiosyncrasies with his personal neurosis - not to mention his crush on his neighbor Penny. Which crush, like lunar eclipses, follow a predicted yet unavoidable periodicity.
Leonard tried his hand in a long-distance relationship with his friend Raj's sister, Priya, but he seems incapable of breaking the gravitational pull of Penny. Opposites do attract, at least for a while.

Howard Wolowitz is the only one with no PhD (and Sheldon will never let him forget it). An engineer whose crowning achievements were a mechanized arm that is used in the space shuttle and a liquid waste management solution before he blasted into space himself. He also managed to wreck the Mars Rover in hopes of landing a girl (but he made sure no one can prove anything).
The fact that he is a short man with a severely outdated and misguided sense of fashion, until very recently still lived with his mother, insisted on using a collection of pickup lines straight from men's magazines advice columns - and yet carries himself as God's gift to women is just hilarious.
Howard used to be the show-stealer. Whenever he entered the scene you just knew he would offer such an outrageous perceptive that would render you speechless before bursting into laughing. Now, if only Howard's character was allowed to continue in its stellar trajectory. He has been weighted down by (his now wife) Bernadette, who is cute as a button and very likeable, but also cramping his style. Not to mention that she, slowly yet inescapably, is turning into his scary mother.

Rajesh Koothrappali is a particle astrophysicist with a fashion sense close to absolute zero and a severe case of shyness - to the point that he cannot speak in front of women unless inebriated. He keeps using the "poor Indian" defense although his father is a rich Bentley driving doctor. His character, even after he may have found his own soul-mate during the sixth season, remains underdeveloped.

Then there is Penny. She is the proverbial good girl next door who came to California with stardom aspirations but so far works as waitress and suffers a sequence of bad boyfriends (Sheldon has in fact calculated the exact number of them, extrapolated from a bell-curve that started at 14)- and, obviously, from her neighbors.
One of the best sixth season moments: when lovely Alex triggers her jealousy radar and has the mind to keep her man happy. And the boots should definitely stay.

The show unavoidably makes use of previous sitcom combinations (the odd couple, the unfulfilled love-interest mismatch) but even if one manages to discern them they are used in such a fresh manner that all that is left is great entertainment!

The way to truly enjoy this is to own it on DVD. The writing is so smart and the jokes fly so fast (many of them non-verbal) there is just no way to savor it during its weekly air time. Well, may be Sheldon could but then again, who can compare his intellect with his?

11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Having watched this series several times I randomly went back to series 1 and hasn't it changed over the years! Yet fundamentally it remains the same. This is the conundrum that has foxed several reviewers. Is it better or worse than the earlier series?
For me, while it is different it is still as hysterically funny as the earlier series. True they were all of a variable high standard but that judgement is very much down to personal taste.
Believe me if you like the earlier stuff you will like this.
As an aside I am a retired academic who worked in a rather prestigious (not down to me) maths dept, I had colleagues that the series could be based on, yes there really are people like that out there.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2013
What can I say. I have all 6 seasons on DVD and plan to buy S7 when it comes out. They are all funny but I fear the people behind the show are rapidly running out of materials. Just how long can you focus on Sheldons' OCD, Leonard's insecurity about his relationship with Penny, Raj's with the ladies, etc.

I think it would be wise for the directors and creators of the show to tie things up and end it in S7 - Leonard and Penny got married, Sheldon finally had 'physical' contact with Amy and realised how much fun sex is, that kind of thing.

All good things come to en end. Unless they do something dramatic and fun, soon the show will go downhill. It is always better to end when it is still popular.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 February 2015
This series is so unique and the premise that really smart people can do really stupid and funny things make great viewing. In this season Howard is still in space and approaches meltdown as the other astronauts pick on him. After his return he struggles to adapt to a 'normal' life. Sheldon has to nurse Amy when she gets the flu.Look out for the episode when the boys dress up as characters from Star Trek the Next Generation, other highlights include Sheldon landing a sexual harassment complaint,Dungeons and Dragons with Wolowitz's impersonations of Christopher Walken, Sheldon playing a game with Stephen Hawking, Wil Wheaton appearing on fun with flags and insulting Amy. Highly recommended comedy viewing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 27 December 2013
I am not a big fan of this series. I bought it for my wife. I just want to say the blu ray version has BRAZILIAN PORTUGUESE subtitles and NOT "portuguese" as stated in the information provided by Amazon.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2013
I disliked Season 4 and found Season 5 to be television at its very worst, I don't even know why I bought Season 6 of TBBT....But I am so glad I did.
Somehow, the show comes back the way you remember it, yet completely different.
Season 6 is hilarious, well written, well acted and at times somehow quite sweet and touching.
This series has a new show-runner and its been a saving grace for the show.
My two least favourite characters (Raj and Amy) are now amongst the shows strongest. That alone is to be applauded.
Roll on Season 7 - Big Bang is back with a Big Bang!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

The Big Bang Theory - Season 8 [DVD] [2015]
The Big Bang Theory - Season 8 [DVD] [2015] by Johnny Galecki (DVD - 2015)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.