Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

432
4.8 out of 5 stars
The Big Bang Theory - Season 6 [DVD] [2013]
Format: DVDChange
Price:£9.99+Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

89 of 102 people found the following review helpful
on 5 April 2013
The Big Bang Theory continues into its sixth season and for the most part, its a positive one. Howard and Bernadette being married adds a new flavor, there are less awkward Amy/Penny ideas thrown in (Series 5 painting for example) and the whole Penny/Leonard will they?/won't they? has settled down so other elements of the series can be focused upon. It's still funny, there's some great episodes and ideas thrown in, Episode 8: The 43 peculiarity has more of an old-style Big Bang feel with the five core members going it alone and it benefits.

Several new dynamics also help the series avoid a pattern of diminishing returns. Howard in space provides some of the funniest scenes in the season for a start. Among the best additions to the series come in two new characters, Sheldon's assistant Alex who has won some of the fanbase over as a better match with Leonard than Penny - but that's later. The other who comes in at the latter end of the season is Raj's girlfriend Lucy. Lucy is one of the most interesting characters shown so far, socially awkward, timid but well-meaning and the two have quite poignant scenes together as they both have social anxiety issues. Combine that with some very creative episodes such as The Bakersfield Expedition where the guys are stranded on the way to Comic Con, The Closet Reconfiguration which hits a new level of depth concerning a letter from Howard's anonymous father. and others.

But Series 6 also has its problems. The dynamic between Penny and Leonard is not only tired and getting increasingly dull, but the relationship is one more spurned by jealously (Penny considers breaking up with him and then competition arrives in the form of Alex and she's interested). Also the writing is getting more dull as "shock" stuff is used such as loads of sex (not on screen but implied) and low cut dresses. Big Bang Theory is probably going to go on and on until its been milked rather than go out on a high. Whilst not as bad as Series 5 which felt like the TV equivalent of a sell-out album, Series 6 does feel at times to be shifting into a less creative direction and feels like some wise changes would work out.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
The geeks are taking over. At least they are taking over prime time comedy as The Big Bang Theory continues to be the highest rated comedy even in its sixth season. And there is a big reason for that. Each episode continues to be filled with big laughs.

The show centers around the lives of four socially awkward scientists. Sheldon (Jim Parsons) must have everything done his way. Leonard (Johnny Galecki) is Sheldon’s long suffering roommate. There’s Howard (Simon Helberg), the non-PhD of the guys in the group, whose work in physics gets him involved with NASA. Rounding out the guys is Raj (Kunal Nayyar), a brilliant scientist who can’t talk to women while sober.

The females in the cast are almost as bad. That’s especially true of Amy Ferrah-Fowler (Mayim Bialik), Sheldon’s neurologist girlfriend. At the end of the last season Howard married Bernadette (Melissa Rauch), another scientist. The only non-scientist in the cast is Penny (Kaley Cuoco), an aspiring actress (ie waitress at the Cheesecake Factory) who is dating Leonard.

As the season opens, Howard is still in space on his mission with NASA. They actually have him up there for several episodes involved in a sub-plot via Skype. During this time, Stuart (Kevin Sussman) from the comic book store starts to hang out with the gang a bit more.

Once Howard returns to Earth, his ego needs to come back down to size, and he and Sheldon get in a fight over a parking space at Cal Tech, where the guys all work, even though Sheldon doesn’t drive. Penny continues to doubt her relationship with Leonard. And Amy continues to push Sheldon for more from their relationship. Speaking of relationships, even Raj finds a girlfriend near the end of the season.

Over the course of the season, Amy tries to help Sheldon overcome his need for closure. Bernadette and Howard face a milestone in their marriage – Howard moving out of his mother’s house. Sheldon and Leonard track down their childhood hero – TV host Mr. Science as played by Bob Newhart. Penny signs up for a history class at the local community college. And it's roommate roulette when a fight finds Leonard moving out of his apartment and moving in with Penny.

Any show that can still make me laugh as hard as this one can six seasons in must be doing something well. While they will still reuse some running jokes, they always find ways to do it that are fresh and funny. And despite five seasons behind them, they are continuing to find fresh new situations to put the characters in that are brilliant for their comedic potential.

One reason that works is because the characters are constantly growing. These are not the exact same characters we encountered in the pilot. And I will say again that the addition of Bernadette and Amy to the cast has really straightened things. Yes, even Sheldon who hates change is changing; it’s just slower than everyone else. The fact that the characters (and obviously the writers) remember the past makes it fun to revisit these friends every week.

I will say that I miss the moments of Penny interacting with the guys since she is often either with the other women or Leonard. They do manage to give her a few good moments with Sheldon in this season. Their relationship, while strictly friends, has always been sweet, and I hope they play it up a bit more.

The acting here is wonderful as always. Praise always goes to Jim Parsons, and it is well deserved, but the rest of the cast is amazing at bring their characters to life each week. There are several episodes this season where Simon Helberg gets to do impressions, and he is phenomenal. Melissa Rauch is no slouch in that department either. And the rest of the cast makes us believe their characters and the comedy no matter what wackiness is happening on screen.

Once again, the season consisted of 24 half hour episodes, and they are all in this set. You can either buy it as a DVD set or a Blu-Ray combo pack that includes DVD, Blu-Ray, and Ultraviolet. Extras include a featurette with the real life astronauts who guest stars during Howard's trip to the space station, clips from the panel at Paley Fest, interviews with the actors on their character's best moments of the season, and the usual deleted scenes and gag reel.

If you aren’t watching this show, you are missing out on the best comedy currently on TV, hands down. Correct that oversight today. You’ll enjoy season six of The Big Bang Theory and find yourself search out the older episodes so you can laugh through them as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 21 May 2015
The best Big Bang Theory season of them all, season 7 was ok, but season 8 has been a bit hit and miss so far. Season 6 is the most funniest with Sheldon being the main star, I just love the episode when Sheldon argued with Howard about his parking bay, plus when Howard goes to space was very funny, even through this for me has been the best series, I still love all the big bangs they are brilliant.
review image
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 21 January 2014
For many years it was my opinion that the best comedy series ever was Frazier - an excellent cast, great script and near impossible to find a duff episode in 11 long series. Brilliant to the end. And then along came The Big Bang theory. Excellent cast, great script and at series 6 still not running out of ideas. Ho to choose between them? I can't. And in neither series does an episode start with a voiceover of "contains adult humour and strong language..." the guarantee of a comedy thin on ideas, poorly written with actors too hard up to turn the work down that I know I will turn off within 10 excruciatingly embarrassing minutes never to return to.

But back to The Big Bang Theory. With Kaley Cuoco in every episode what what more recommendation does a red-blooded man need?

(No, I'm not insane, my mother had me tested).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 14 October 2013
I love having The Big Bang Theory DVDs as this means I can watch it when I want and watch whatever episode(s) at any time. Perfect if you just need a quick laugh as the episodes are about 20 minutes long but pack a lot of things into one episode.

Things that are specific to Series 6 include Howard's adventures in space, Leonard and Penny's relationship goes through the usual ups-and-downs whilst even Sheldon and Amy's relationship progresses (which is nice and weird at the same time), Sheldon gets a new (female) assistant Alex and Raj meets a girl who has social anxiety issues. I like the fact that whilst the characters have clearly evolved during the six series, they do still stay somewhat true to what they started as - Sheldon especially still has the ability to make me laugh over some of his mannerisms. But there's plenty of laughs in each episode (24 in total). As per the other series, this has three discs in one box and there's some decent extras for those who watch the extras.

All in all, a good buy for anyone who loves this show, especially if you already have the other five series.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 26 September 2013
Another brilliant series of the best and most intellectual sitcom on the planet. The evolution of the relationships as the characters grow is great, but the real heart of the show, Sheldon, is only now starting to see that his friends and Amy are worth more to him than what he can get them to do for him to make his life easier. The ghost of autism that tinges the character is recognisable for all who have experience of the condition, and every child over 8 with autism that I have met loves this programme because they can identify with him. It is useful for their parents as well as it is a largely positive role model for their children, and it shows the difficulty the others have at times too, which you can discuss with your child to give them an amount of self awareness that may be hard to explain in other circumstances. Not to get too deep though, because it is very funny!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 10 August 2013
In the cult tradition of SPARTACUS, the halls of every science department now echoes: "I AM SHELDON"!

Currently into its fifth season, THE BIG BANG THEORY proved to be one of the most funny TV sitcoms ever aired. Even if the show seems to have slowed down form its initial explosive impetus, I had not laughed out loud this hard ever since the best days of FRASIER and SEINFELD - and BIG BANG is **consistently** brilliant!

Sheldon Cooper is unavoidably the king of the show - the massive black hole this Universe revolves around if you will. A child prodigy, now theoretical physicist PhD in his 20's with absolutely no social skills or known sexual drive. Sheldon may be on the verge of unifying the fields but cannot drive a car to save his life or break a smile even remotely resembling that of a mere homo sapiens.
His equally super-intelligent (yet sexually frustrated and somewhat confused girlfriend), Amy Farrah Fowler, received a far more enlarged role this fifth season. Even if her addition opened up some girls-night-out moments, she was not a very good addition and she unbalances the show. Her character only manages to blur the focus form Sheldon (there is only room for one idiosyncratic genius!), diffuse a number of comically charged situations and gum up the show's flow.

Leonard Hofstadter is Sheldon's roommate and primary ...keeper. An experimental physicist himself (who Sheldon tries to "help" by steering him towards a teaching career), he juggles Sheldon's idiosyncrasies with his personal neurosis - not to mention his crush on his neighbor Penny. Which crush, like lunar eclipses, follow a predicted yet unavoidable periodicity.
Leonard tried his hand in a long-distance relationship with his friend Raj's sister, Priya, but he seems incapable of breaking the gravitational pull of Penny. Opposites do attract, at least for a while.

Howard Wolowitz is the only one with no PhD (and Sheldon will never let him forget it). An engineer whose crowning achievements were a mechanized arm that is used in the space shuttle and a liquid waste management solution before he blasted into space himself. He also managed to wreck the Mars Rover in hopes of landing a girl (but he made sure no one can prove anything).
The fact that he is a short man with a severely outdated and misguided sense of fashion, until very recently still lived with his mother, insisted on using a collection of pickup lines straight from men's magazines advice columns - and yet carries himself as God's gift to women is just hilarious.
Howard used to be the show-stealer. Whenever he entered the scene you just knew he would offer such an outrageous perceptive that would render you speechless before bursting into laughing. Now, if only Howard's character was allowed to continue in its stellar trajectory. He has been weighted down by (his now wife) Bernadette, who is cute as a button and very likeable, but also cramping his style. Not to mention that she, slowly yet inescapably, is turning into his scary mother.

Rajesh Koothrappali is a particle astrophysicist with a fashion sense close to absolute zero and a severe case of shyness - to the point that he cannot speak in front of women unless inebriated. He keeps using the "poor Indian" defense although his father is a rich Bentley driving doctor. His character, even after he may have found his own soul-mate during the sixth season, remains underdeveloped.

Then there is Penny. She is the proverbial good girl next door who came to California with stardom aspirations but so far works as waitress and suffers a sequence of bad boyfriends (Sheldon has in fact calculated the exact number of them, extrapolated from a bell-curve that started at 14)- and, obviously, from her neighbors.
One of the best sixth season moments: when lovely Alex triggers her jealousy radar and has the mind to keep her man happy. And the boots should definitely stay.

The show unavoidably makes use of previous sitcom combinations (the odd couple, the unfulfilled love-interest mismatch) but even if one manages to discern them they are used in such a fresh manner that all that is left is great entertainment!

The way to truly enjoy this is to own it on DVD. The writing is so smart and the jokes fly so fast (many of them non-verbal) there is just no way to savor it during its weekly air time. Well, may be Sheldon could but then again, who can compare his intellect with his?

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 14 February 2014
Having watched this series several times I randomly went back to series 1 and hasn't it changed over the years! Yet fundamentally it remains the same. This is the conundrum that has foxed several reviewers. Is it better or worse than the earlier series?
For me, while it is different it is still as hysterically funny as the earlier series. True they were all of a variable high standard but that judgement is very much down to personal taste.
Believe me if you like the earlier stuff you will like this.
As an aside I am a retired academic who worked in a rather prestigious (not down to me) maths dept, I had colleagues that the series could be based on, yes there really are people like that out there.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 16 November 2013
What can I say. I have all 6 seasons on DVD and plan to buy S7 when it comes out. They are all funny but I fear the people behind the show are rapidly running out of materials. Just how long can you focus on Sheldons' OCD, Leonard's insecurity about his relationship with Penny, Raj's with the ladies, etc.

I think it would be wise for the directors and creators of the show to tie things up and end it in S7 - Leonard and Penny got married, Sheldon finally had 'physical' contact with Amy and realised how much fun sex is, that kind of thing.

All good things come to en end. Unless they do something dramatic and fun, soon the show will go downhill. It is always better to end when it is still popular.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on 20 February 2015
This series is so unique and the premise that really smart people can do really stupid and funny things make great viewing. In this season Howard is still in space and approaches meltdown as the other astronauts pick on him. After his return he struggles to adapt to a 'normal' life. Sheldon has to nurse Amy when she gets the flu.Look out for the episode when the boys dress up as characters from Star Trek the Next Generation, other highlights include Sheldon landing a sexual harassment complaint,Dungeons and Dragons with Wolowitz's impersonations of Christopher Walken, Sheldon playing a game with Stephen Hawking, Wil Wheaton appearing on fun with flags and insulting Amy. Highly recommended comedy viewing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.