Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 50% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Fireworks GNO Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Bundle for Kids Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars135
4.5 out of 5 stars
Platform: Xbox 360Change
Price:£32.75 - £33.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

65 of 66 people found the following review helpful
on 30 November 2012
Since Farcry instincts on the xbox when it was less known, it has evolved into something bigger and better each time whilst also learning from past mistakes.

4 years ago we had Farcry 2, a brilliant and realistic game, that with it's brilliance was marred by frustrations and chore like gameplay coupled with a nonsensical storyline or dilemmas with no consequence.

Now we have a somewhat anticipated Farcry 3 to top the year off, you may have read some reviews already giving it 10/10 and saying it's the best shooter ever made. They aren't far off.

FC2 was a chore to play, vehicles were slow and would need repairing every few yards, enemies could withstand a full clip before dying, enemies would somehow drive round a corner and attack you, enemy checkpoints would always respawn. The controls were a little sluggish and death meant suffering all of this again to travel to an objective again!

Thankfully Ubisoft was made aware of these problems, now the controls are more fluid and sharp. The vehicles are faster and scarcely break down. You don't have to worry about malaria. Enemies die if you shoot 1 bullet in the head. They don't magically spawn round corners from you or at checkpoints. Overall the game is a lot more fun to play.


There is now an intuitive cover and fire mechanic, where if near a wall your character realistically holds his gun upwards so it doesn't go through the wall like a ghost gun. If you press RT you will do some erratic shooting and holding LT makes you pop up to shoot, you aren't locked onto the wall and thus makes it the best cover/fire system I've used. Especially in comparison with perfect dark zero and Resident Evil 6's versions.

The AI in this game don't just magically respawn and no longer take bullets like The Terminator, but also don't magically appear near you to attack. They make their own patrolling rounds on the island or sometimes get into their own gun battles with the islands Natives (The Rakyat) or might simply be getting attacked by animals, and chancing upon such scenarios makes the world feel more realistic. If you attack them on the road backup will come and search for you in the area, it's nice. You can also use stealth to evade them, hiding behind bushes etc.

The game now has a perk system in single player, but not Call of Duty, you have 3 types of skills, the Heron, the..Bird, and the Spider (I forgot the 2nd) The perks you get are pretty good and feel quite useful in the game. From different takedowns, and health/stamina attributes to the running slide and dragging bodies. There are also perks in multiplayer more akin to Call of Duty.

Unlike the last game, they are faster and stronger. They also come in slightly more variety such as jet ski's and now the readily available ATV. They handle nicely too and you can handbrake with B, even jump out of the moving vehicle with a nice rolling animation. For those who don't know, you can use hang gliders too which handle better and are perched in places you won't be able to resist gliding from. Vehicles are all first person view and some have an unchangeable radio station, the music suiting the games theme perfectly. The only big problem is Ubisoft made the near fatal error of removing Vehicles from mutliplayer, more on this later.

Farcry 2 did certainly get one thing right, the guns, they were nice to look at and most realistic to use than any other game. They would over time get worn and rust before jamming and simply breaking in your hands. I think this game may have removed the weapon degradation and jamming? I don't particularly mind this. But the guns look even better and they sound fantastic, if fired in a WWII bunker it sounds the part. There are a good number of weapons too, from bows to heavy machine guns and of course the flamethrower. I should mention fire propagation is back.

The game still has the cool and painful looking healing mechanic. If your health dips into the last bar, rather than waiting for it to slowly regenerate, you can hold Y to regain the bar via healing yourself in a context sensitive fashion to however you were injured. Drop from a height and watch your dislocated thumb be snapped back into place. Get fired at? Watch the bullet be pulled out with your teeth then spat out, scratched by a crazy big bird? you'll wrap up the scratch wounds on your arm. Stand next to a grenade? a piece of shrapnel will be pulled from his hand. This mechanic is unique and fun to have. You can otherwise heal yourself with a syringe should you have some. Sometimes the healing animations do get muddled up, how crashing my car off a cliff would result in biting a bullet out ones arm I don't know. And there are fewer animations than Farcry 2, still nice to have though.

The game now has a crafting system like Skyrim, it factors in near everything, a wallet for how much money, a loot back for, loot, holsters for how many weapons you can carry (4 max) all different types of ammo pouches. They are made from skinning various animals, and it adds a nice new depth to the game, as you brave an area rife with tigers and rabid dogs. Plants and such can also be harvested for different syringes and effects.

You have a camera now which can be used to scout the area ahead and tag enemies or even take pictures, I presume you can view these. You will tag enemies upon aiming at them I believe but this is bad for a immersion and any challenge so I recommend turning it off in the options.

The animals are the level of depth Farcry 2 lacked, African savanah and no Lions? To be fair Lions and tigers etc don't need to be killed in a videogame but it isn't real after all and doesn't represent peoples disposition towards those animals. So it's a joy to see this game has realistic pigs, goats, dogs, crocs, tapir's (with ant eater trunks), large birds, tigers, cheetah's, panthers, turtles, sharks, jellyfish, manta's, vultures, monkeys, crows, the list goes on.. Without these mostly dangerous animals, the game would be standing on 3 rather than 4 legs.

Sadly this didn't work for me, and others, Ubisoft chose P2P servers rather than dedicated, and look at the result. Hopefully this will be resolved. You can however get all the weapons via ranks and several attachments/perks/equipment/special tier weapons like psyche gas and barrel bombs, also a somewhat basic tattoo editor.

You play as 1 of 4 characters, all different and thrown together in their same goal. But out for revenge after their money stolen by a boat captain. This mode is somewhat linear goes along set routes, it's ok though for a extra bit of content with a friend or two.

I loved FC2's one, so couldn't wait for this one. It does have some more content, like Thematics such as WWII and Chinese Temple pieces. It feels a little restrictive thanks to Ubi Massive including AI, Wildlife, and Vehicles that can't actually be used in the editor (it won't validate) Other than this annoyance and having to be careful with memory, you can make near anything. I'm currently making the area behind my flats, will run up and down the garden paths shooting my friend.

VISUALS: 9.8/10

Gorgeous visuals, your tv/monitor will look like you could jump inside it and being in a once in a life time holiday. The trees/foliage and grass, the views and everything inbetween. The lighting effects are rather nice, the water looks lovely and froths as it contacts the edges of structures. The guns all have nice design and the muzzle flash is great whether close or far (real looking battles from afar) The character modeling is decent and lip sync too. The reason not a full 10 is sometimes you turn and see objects materialize, all large games will do this to handle memory (a fully loaded world that's always visible would screw performance, but if you're facing one way, why have the things behind you rendered?) However other games don't allow you to see things materialize at like a group of bats swarming together. Also the draw distances in this game aren't as good as Farcry2, at least they don't seem it. Down a path about 200 meters, walls and tree's tops won't be visible, yet large rock/mountain set pieces will be.

The game has a mini map (no more switching back & forth between physical map like FC2) However a lack of options to configure the HUD and turn off tool tips etc is a shame for such a visually nice game, hopefully Ubisoft add this soon.


This game has very good sound. The guns mostly all sound wonderful and change if fired in a certain interior type. The dialog is great, most notably Vaas (the sure to be memorable psycho and antagonist of the game) The script is well written and enjoyable, but delivered in equal measures.
The music is great, somewhat tribal yet mixed with a "lost world" feel and pieces of dark/insanity. Though you won't hear it a lo as the game opts for a more realistic exploration.


You play as air head Jason Brody, he and his girldfriend, 2 brothers and friends go on this once in a life time holiday to party and be typical annoying tourists. But things end up tragically wrong, and you end up alone and hunted.
Thanks to the great antagonist Vaas I think the story will be enjoyable to play through. But The premise of the game is freedom and you must reveal more of the map via climbing and removing scramblers from radio towers, plus doing side missions and exploring. So the main story would be rescuing your friends etc. There probably isn't a big revelation lying in wait but I've not completed it so can't say.


For a brilliant game it has some niggles to iron out.
- Firstly there's a lack of HUD configuration which can affect immersion.
- Secondly Ubisoft removed vehicles from multiplayer to opt for more COD style team play. Bad move as vehicles are a staple of the Farcry series and differentiate it from most other games, it added unpredictability and much fun. 90% of fans according to a poll are angry with this choice and want them to not be restricted in the editor (you cannot publish maps with them in it)
Whether or not Ubisoft will make that change is anyones guess.
- The multiplayer is a bit off, the pre-made maps, the lobby, I can't put a finger to it. They did remove the new cover & fire system which is beyond me, removing such features will make it more linear and boring.
- Finally the game has some bug issues, the map editor is prone to freezing meaning SAVE OFTEN! to avoid frustration. Also the multiplayer isn't too playable at the moment, Ubi changed from Dedicated servers to P2P, this could be to do with it. I sat in a lobby for 5 minutes, only 2 people joined but they left with frustration, and me and my friend played firestorm for 20 minutes, no one joined. Patches are in the works however.

OVERALL: 10/10

The game offers what Call of Duty, Halo and Battlefield cannot or do not.
A large and addictive RPG-esque singleplayer.
Crocs, tigers, bears, gliders and more.
A big map editor for endless multiplayer fun.
Hopefully these bug/multiplayer related problems will be fixed and vehicles added as they stop it from being the perfect game experience.

But otherwise brilliant game, and perhaps game of the year narrowly ahead of the great Hitman Absolution.
99 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
on 3 December 2012
In a nutshell this is a fantastic game. I rarely buy games these days as they don't hold any lasting appeal and they take you down that same old linear route. I much prefer open world adventures where you can have so much fun exploring and seeing what you can encounter. Trouble is there are not many about that are pure class, such as Skyrim and Fallout 3. Im glad to say that Farcry 3 delivers in the fact you can go anywhere you want and do what you want. What i like about the game is that anything can happen when you are traveling around. The game doesn't revolve around you and the AI humans and animals react to each other aswell and that's the beauty. At one point i was sneaking over a hill and there were two pirates on the road, and here was me getting ready for the kill when a tiger just came out of nowhere and did the work for me. Any game that is unpredictable like this is certainly huge fun to play.

The main missions are really good and you do get involved in the story. The main villain is a bit psychotic and i wont say no more. You will have blast wading through the main quest.

There are a variety of side missions to go through and all of them fun. Find wanted posters and kill the baddie for rewards. Race other drivers in some of the many car races. Skin animals to create wallets, pouches and rucksacks. Collect plants so you can create various potions to help you survive. Also there are many pirate strongholds to reclaim, and when you do it becomes a safehouse for you so you can save your game.

If you love shooting the crap out of people and blowing things up, then that's fine, you have the choice to go that route if you like. And there's the stealth way which is really fun and rewarding. Playing this game you are most probably gonna be doing a hefty mix of both

Not gonna go in depth in anything else as most people have covered the rest. The graphics are amazing and the island is a pleasure to explore. Multiplayer is average, id rather stick to single player.

I think this is a better game than Dishonoured, Assasins Creed 3 and Hitman. This deserves game of the year. Great job
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 3 December 2012
To start this is quite possibly one of the most endearing and well thought out games ever, massively improving on farcry 2, the level of depth and immersion into the game is outstanding with constant probable events happening such as; walking out of you house in the morning and possibly getting mauled by a tiger or skewered by a buffalo, or maybe even going for a quick swim in the incredible water (which is extremely well created) with manta rays and suddenly you are getting dragged to the depths by a great white, giving a sense of reality to the game that is absent among other games of the genre.

Storyline 10/10,

if you have seen the many adverts accross television and the internet then you would know that farcry 3 has been written by a guild of writers associate, and to be honest it has payed off, the storyline is incredible to say the least, a well thought out and highly emotive story that simply grasps you and will not let go untill you have finished it.

Characters 9.7/10

the characters in farcry are possibly the best, out of a comparison of many recent games, competing with call of duty, skyrim and grand theft auto,
and has THE best antagonist ever, an almost cornered or caged sense of insanity is prevailing in him, and of course im talking about Vaas, Vaas is quite literally the most insane character you will meet on the island but at the same time you can have a sense of fun with his insanity, almost a playful insanity, obviously this is personal experience but i think he is also quite a intelligent person. Although, the other characters are not so well thought out the doctor is, in my opinion, almost trying too hard to be insane he is pushing the boundries into just plain silly, but is still a very good character none the less.

Scenery 10/10

this is probably the most amazing part of farcry, the incredible scenery and detail of the scenery, it is so good that you can stand at the top of a radio tower and see for miles around in almost clear detail, which is incredible.

Vehicles/Weapons/Drugs 9/10

the extent of vehicles and weapons in farcry 3 is astounding to say the least i think its 42 weapons and 12 vehicles to choose from, all weapons have some extent that you can customise them to, from the humble AK-47 to the incredibly useful, yet highly impracticle flamethrower.
the vehicles also have a wide array of features including the jeep, ATV, jetski, helicopter and even a paraglider, these make getting around this huge island of insanity much easier and coupled with the fast travel function (which i advise not to use as you miss out all the random encounters) it is relatively easy to manouver around to get where you need to go, they coud have used more aerial vehicles but hey, what are you gonna do?
One problem i do have with the weapons is that they are incredibly easy to get right from the start of the game, and for some reason (it being a survival game after all) your character can instanly use a LMG or an RPG with apparantly no recoil to account for, now to me this seems a bit fishy as when in your life would you ever have training to use a LMG or RPG, as the main point is you are just a normal guy that has to face his insane side to face the trials of the island, he most probably had not used one before so a more realistic approach would improve upon an already insane game.
the problem i have with vehicle is that they are not in multiplayer ( WHAT i hear you scream ) yes its true there are NO vehicles in multiplayer, the defining feature of far cry is that it had vehicles to give it an element of surprise and manouvreability, but i can live with it. Now, a debatably subject, should drugs play such a prominent role in this game, ou can use drugs for pretty much anything, from healing to shrugging off flames even to make yourself see through walls, trees and hills to find animals to hunt, but it adds some more messing around to the game so why not.

Incredible scenery
Immersive stoyline
Captivating characters
Unforgettable Protagonist

NO vehicles in multiplayer
Non realistic recoil on guns
Could be more aerial vehicles

Overall i personally think this game is worth the Game Of The Year award for being an outright incredible game.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
on 1 December 2012
I rarely right reviews but i felt i just had too with this game!

I can't believe i played this game for around 10 hours today and i don't think i have EVER played a game for that long but that's how good the game is, I have always been into my games but as i got older i got bored easily of games but i just could'nt put this game down,

You can explore a huge open world, hunt, tigers, deers, pigs, wild dogs, bears, wild bore, sharks, turtle's, gian't lizard Komodo dragons, antelope and skin them all and sell the skins for money that can be used for weapons or weapons upgrades, you can parachute, hand glide, drive cars, jeeps, jet ski's, speed boats etc, Killing the savage bandits is fun and capturing thier camps,

This game is that good can't see me putting this one down anytime soon!! Gotta be one of the best games i ever played !
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 2 December 2012
Best game I've played for a very long time!
It has everything you could want. The graphics are amazing. The detail in the jungle is mind blowing at times, so bright and colourful. The guns look and sound even better. I love that i can customize the guns with different items to make them more deadly and you can even paint them! The variety of what you can do make this game so special. I've played around 10 hours so far and only done around 3/4 main story missions. I've spent most of my time hunting animals (hunting animals and collecting their skin allows you to craft and make items, like larger bags and gun hostals), looking a for radio towers to open the map and also attacking and taking over the enemy outposts, which is great fun. The game allows you to take the stealth approach or the guns blazing approach, both have their pros and cons, but both equally as fun. As well as all of this you have a massive choice of vehicles to get around the island on, from jet skis to boats with usable guns, quad bikes to cars as well as hang gliders. The AI is very well done aswell. During my 10 hours I've unlocked about 30% of the map and I still need to go back and complete all of the side missions and start the main story!

If your looking for a pick up and play sandbox game with hours of diverse gaming then go pick up far cry 3! For me it gets the game of the year and to be honest the game of the decade!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 23 December 2012
well the plan of action was to wait until i had finished the single player campaign and then write this review. however I've been playing the game every chance i can get since its release at the start of December and I'm not even half way through it yet. i can only blame this on the massive amount of content crammed into this amazing game.

the game starts with you and a group of your friends being held captive by pirates on a tropical island while you were on holiday. you manage to escape and then go about trying to save your friends single handedly after getting some tips and resources from the friendly local natives.

now the way the game works is the whole map is covered in a fog of war (you cant see the map). you then capture transmitter towers that uncovers a portion of the map surrounding it. as the whole 2 islands are controlled by pirates you must take over outposts that they control. in doing so the natives then come back and populate these outposts and turn them into safe havens for you to fast travel to. these captured outposts will give you a hunting and wanted person quest. as well as restock your arsenal and sell any items that you have foraged and scavenged for cash to spend on arms and medical supplies. and some outposts will have various challenges that you can bet money on like racing jet skies, jeeps and quad bikes, target practice, and poker card games,

near the outposts you will get medical supply drop challenges which is a race against time in a jeep or quad bike to reach a set destination in the given time for cash and xp.

there are also some side quests that a more or less fetch and return missions. i feel that these are also the weakest of all the things that you will get to do in the game.

you will also get the main story quest maker appearing at different places on the map each time you complete a part of the story. the main story is very well scripted and has a good mix of gameplay. you can take on the main story quests whenever you feel like it.

now the game play itself is what makes this game stand out from the crowd. when taking over an outpost its up to you how you go about it. but its using the stealthy approach rather than all guns blazing that is the most satisfying way to go about it.
as you progress through the game you will pick up skill points that you get every time you level up your xp from doing various things. these skill points can get you better hunting and foraging skills, new combat skills, and also better health boosts and speed and agility to get about the island.

the game also has a great hunting and crafting side to the game. but these are no game filler like some games. in far cry 3 you must hunt animals for their skins go get a wallet that you can store more money in, a rucksack to carry more items, a holster to carry more weapons, an ammo belt to carry more ammo. each of these crafted items has 4 levels to them so that you can hold more things each time you craft a bigger one.

as well as hunting you will have to forage the island for plants that are highlighted on the map so not hard to find. the plants are used to craft syringes that are used as health boosts, combat, and hunting.

the island also has treasure chests marked on the map that will give you extra cash to spend, dead pirate are also a source of cash if you loot there bodies.

you will also find relics and lost letters and memory cards. they don't really add that much to the game but its just another thing to go and find while your our exploring the island.

transport is easy to find right from the start of the game from speed boats, jet skies, cars, jeeps, quad bikes and hand gliders. all the transport is smooth and easy to control which is good when the game is more about shooting.

but travelling on foot is also great as you will encounter many wild animals that will kill you instantly if you don't spot them in time. for me the animals are one of the games highlights the way they act and behave is very realistic. you might be half way through taking over an outpost by stealthily taking out each pirate slowly and silently with your knife. when all of a sudden a tiger sprints into the camp and starts mauling all the remaining pirates to death. or sometimes it might even be you which can be a pain when you've spent 10 mins plotting a strategy only to get killed by a big cat. but i don't have a problem with it as it just means you have to be aware of what's going on around you at all times. and if you die its always because you were not paying attention.

the enemy A.I. is also very good in the game. you will get spotted by them if you are in there field of view but if you crouch in some bushes then they wont see you. but when a gun fight does break out the enemy will duck for cover and sprint to other bits of cover in order to try and get closer to you.

the other great thing about the game is the way that fire acts the way you would expect it in real life. a small fire that gets started from a explosion or you flame-thrower will spread out catching onto bigger bushes, trees and huts and eventually whole hillsides will be ablaze.

well i think I've just about covered single player so I'll now talk about the multiplayer co-op. this is one of the best co-ops I've ever played. all the missions have there own story to progress through. but it is not just shooting from start to finish. halfway through some missions all the four players will be on quad bikes or jet skies and competing against each other to get a package and then drop it off at a point on the map. if you ram into one of the other players then you get their package from them. so it turns into this really fun battle with each other. then the next stage you are playing as a team again as one player tries to load up a truck with supplies while the rest try and protect them from the advancing pirates.

i've not really played that much of the full online multiplayer. by what i did play i found quite competitive and i was dying more than i was getting kills. but then I'm not usually that great at these team death match games anyway.

games pros:

there are many ways to play the game. i love the fact the whole island is opened up right from the start of the game to explore. the A.I. works well and is unpredictable. hunting and crafting has a real reason to be there. and graphics look great. co-op is excellent. no game breaking bugs or glitches so far.

game cons:

the further you get into the game the more money becomes far too plentiful and becomes redundant. you will probably craft everything before you get halfway through the game. you will experience quite a bit of screen tearing(even when installed on your hard drive) when you start playing the game but it seems to die down or become unnoticeable the longer you play and get immersed in the game.

final thoughts:

to end with this is a must have game for most people of different gaming genres. i felt i had to be honest with games cons although it is such a minor few points it is not a deal breaker in anyway. look at the game as a whole and you will see that it is packed full of hours of content. you will not be disappointed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 6 December 2012
I have been highly anticipating Far Cry 3 for a long long time now, and after 5 days playing it, I am very pleased to say that my already high expectations were completely surpassed.
The story is surprisingly good, it constantly escalates throughout the main campaign and keeps being engaging and exciting. It really drew me in and I grew quite fond of the characters, to my surprise, but deservedly so as the character progression and voice acting are both great, as well as some of the best facial animations I have seen in a game.
The gameplay is just phenomenal, the huge tropical island which you have free roam of is nothing short of breathtaking, filled with varied wildlife and memorable locations, along with many ways of travel such as by by car, by boat, on foot or my personal favourite - with the wingsuit you unlock. The world is filled with an enormous amount of things to do such as hunting, finding collectibles and overtaking outposts full of enemies. The combat in this game is mainly stealth based and the stealth in far cry 3 is some of the best stealth gameplay I have ever experience, featuring weapons such a silenced pistols, sniper rifles and the extremely fun bow and arrow, there are also plenty of non stealth weapons like assault rifles, shotguns and explosives. The versatility the game provides in it's combat is one of its greatest features. There is also a level up system which allows you to unlock over 50 different skills ranging from increasing health to being able to perform a takedown on a guy by jumping onto him off of a zipline.
The music is also great, in high intensity action sequences you get high intensity music playing to match which seems to seamlessly merge with the gameplay, whereas in more sombre cutscenes, sombre music accompanies which matches the mood. The graphics are needless to say outstanding, characters and facial animations are superb, the fire effects look great and the world is absolutely beautiful, second only to the beauty of skyrim's world in my opinion.
To sum up, this game is incredible - great gameplay, great story, great graphics, loads to do with well over 40 hours of gameplay to be had and is my pick for the 2012 game of the year, 10/10, buy it now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 7 December 2012
Honestly I am very bad at writing reviews but I just had to write one for this game!

This game is extremely good, you feel so immersed into the game world that it's like you are actually there! The storyline itself may be somewhat linear but that doesn't affect it in any bad way. The characters in the game are brilliant and after playing for a while you will eventually get a small attachment to them, especially the main antagonist Vaas who; if I might say so myself is played very well and his insane personality adds to the "Holiday gone wrong" experience. The storyline of this game is unrivalled and I don't think any other game is on par with how good is (Story mode).

However the co-op and multi-player can be quite annoying considering it can sometimes be near impossible to find a match (maybe it's just me) but when you do get in to a multi-player match it is lots of fun and if I had to compare it to an online fps I would say it is most similar to Battlefield 3. The co-op is quite glitchy though but yet again it is still great fun especially when playing with friends.

All in all I would give this game a 9.5/10 (-0.5 for the multi-player) and I would DEFINITELY recommend buying this, if you for some reason can't buy this game then at least rent it because you are missing out! Game of the year for me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 21 December 2012
What a great game. Stunning graphics, brilliant, immersive and huge environment, involving and clever AI, brilliant story, outstanding animations and the most fun you will have in a long, long time. If you have not brought this game, you really are missing out on a treat of a game - a game that is head and shoulders above the regular load of guano that comes out every year like Call Of Duty.

Buy this game now, you won't regret it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 6 December 2012
I didn't know anything about this game coming out until I saw the adverts on YouTube last week. I had heard of the Far Cry games however I had no clue what they were about and had never seen any game-play or played them myself. I have recently been playing a lot of Fifa 13 and COD Black Ops 2 and fancied something different for a change, after seeing the trailer on YouTube I thought it looked pretty interesting. Boy, was I right. This game is absolutely amazing on every level; entertainment, suspense, thrill, game-play, design, story etc etc!

First off, the design of the world is breath-taking, similar graphics to GTA IV and that of games like the Sims 3 in that the game-play goes through night and day, the shots of the island from on top of the radio towers look amazing. The designers have done exceptionally well with this game. I love the whole aspect of the animals in the game and trying to hunt them, I took pride in finally managing to hunt down a tiger earlier on. The game-play allows you to feel real accomplishment and feel as if you're progressing in ability, which I really like from a game. Nothing is ever the same, there's always interactions wherever you go, whether it be running into wild animals to running into the enemy pirates.

The story itself is very gripping and suspenseful, I feel like when I'm playing I get totally engrossed into the game so much as I feel the rest of the world stops, it's weird but I guess it's a sign of a very good game. I'm totally hooked and I'm addicted to it already. I'm onto mission 8 at the moment, and I'm loving the story so far!

My favourite game I have ever played was Bioshock, this game reminds me of it in some ways, and I'm hoping the story is going to leave me as amazed as Bioshock did. I'm not sure if it'll ever overtake Bioshock as my favourite ever game, it's similar but very different from that, think bits of Bioshock mixed with GTA. However, I do feel as once I've finished playing, although I feel as if this game will have a very long life as there is such an extensive amount of stuff to do, I do feel that this could be a contender for one of, probably the 2nd, favourite game I've ever played.

Seriously, buy it now, you won't regret it. This game is unbelievable!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Far Cry 3 (Xbox 360)
Far Cry 3 (Xbox 360) by Ubisoft (Xbox 360)

Far Cry 3 Classics (Xbox 360)
Far Cry 3 Classics (Xbox 360) by Ubisoft (Xbox 360)

Far Cry 3 Classics (Xbox 360)
Far Cry 3 Classics (Xbox 360) by Ubisoft (Xbox 360)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.