Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars20
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 2 November 2015
I was sent this kit in error by Deanos Games, who kindly allowed me to keep it. The detail and fit are very good, with only a couple of awkward parts. The first is that the (well detailed) cockpit tub is slightly too wide and needs filing to allow the fuselage to fit between the wings (I dry assembled with tac first) - if you follow the instructions, by this stage the fuselage will be assembled and then it would be much harder to fettle and fit. The second is part A17 that fits in a hole on the underside of the port wing in step 9; however this is later covered by a decal Luftwaffe cross that would be nearly impossible to fit cleanly around the part. The decals themselves are good quality and shrank into the (recessed) panel lines, so this hole was visible later (allowing you to fit A17 right at the end of the build).

The paints are in small plastic pots that explode everywhere on opening.

The canopy is very thin, if a little brittle, and comes in three parts, allowing it to be modelled open or closed.

As a couple other reviewers have mentioned there are some very small and delicate parts in this kit. A simpler, easier to build, 109 is Airfix's Bf109G-6 (A02029A) kit (note: model only, no paints, etc.); it has fewer parts, omitting the cockpit detail; variable flaps & rudder; pitot tubes; and comes with a single piece canopy.
review image
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
this is a fine starter kit of a Bf109e, a german fighter from world war 2. comes complete with glue,paintbrush and some paints.great for someone new to modelling or someone like myself who used to do many models but has not picked up a pot of paint in over 30 years.this is my 3rd one so far. enjoying it very much.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 November 2012
Nice to have complete kit in one, no extra expense. Great for the new model maker, not too fiddly and quick to complete. Not a Toy but looks good with others on nylon line suspended from the ceiling.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2013
Great little starter kit got my grandson. Everything you need in the box except for scissors, emery board and I recommend you buying some nail clippers. They are great for trimming :-)
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 November 2013
great product, need to take time and read instructions properly, can be fiddly. found it really interesting to paint and my fiance did the putting together. very good :)
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2013
its a perfect present for someone who loves building models. some of the pieces were a little difficult to get out but this product is definitely 5 out of 5!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2013
my 8 year old built this with no supervision at all... great product especially as it includes all the necessary paint and glue
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2013
.I bought this airfix kit and I was overjoyed when it arrived. I spent hours on it and I will be shore to order another one
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2013
This kit is very detailed, having a three part canopy, complicated components and an engine peice which can be shown. It looks great finished, although it is definitely not a kit for a beginner modeller, as in some parts it is very fiddly

Overall I am quite happy with it
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 April 2015
My grandson is delighted with this airfix model and made it almost immediately.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.