Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
28
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 September 2012
This is the latest in the new Airfix range of 'new tool' kits which replaces some of the old and dated models.

There are quite a few 1/72 scale P-51Ds on the market, including Academy, Hobby Boss,Hasegawa (now a bit old and pricey for what you get) and Tamiya (very expensive).

The kit has a good number of parts, with drop tanks, two canopy options and a nice set of decals, including stencils, for a 'Tuskegee Airman' aircraft. Detailing is good, with, for example, a nice and visible radiator, reasonable cockpit detail for the scale and a pilot which is much better than the old Airfix generic bods.

The only drawbacks are the heavily recessed panel lines, which will reduce with a coat of paint, and that there's only one decal option, but there are many after market sheets if you wish.

The kit fits together well, is easy to build, looks like a Mustang and is significantly cheaper than the competition: what more could you want, except the shelf space to build a squadron!

Well done Airfix.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Very impressed with the level of detail on this kit, the panel lines are great and the parts fit together very well. For a small cheap kit the end result looks fantastic, in fact I have bought another one so I can have both a wheels up and down version.

highly recommended for both beginners and also experienced kit builders, you wont be disappointed.
review image
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
Ignore the daft 'one star' review. This is Airfix getting back to their best, with a good, new tooled rendition of this classic aircraft. An accurate and surprisingly detailed model can be built from this kit, and I liked the choice of markings. It's half the price of comparable kits from other manufacturers. You can't go wrong.

Oh, and don't forget you may need to buy some paints and glue!!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
I've not built this yet, just opened the box and studied the kit (anticipation was always one of the joys of airfix!).

However first impressions are good.

Another reviewer mentions this is re-tooled. I never built the original P-51 (which is one reason I bought this), however the detail level is superb; cockpit is 5 parts alone including gun sight! control surfaces a poseable and separate to the main wing.

Its almost 25-yrs since I last built an airfix kit and now I am rediscovering them with my children. Early kits lacked detail and were eclipsed by the likes of Hasegawa. However these re-tooled kits give them a run for their money.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
I'm extremely surprised with this kit on many levels, it's very detailed inside and out, beautiful panel lines and a very good quality plastic. I didn't expect this sort of quality from a series 1 kit. very easy to build and paint, there is a more expensive kit of an F-51 mustang which is basically this model with another sprue added with rockets and such. This is an option if you want more detail and different decals. The decals on this kit give only one option, I personally used the universal mustang decals and custom made my own by slicing up other sheets but for this design it's great. There are also lots of other after market declass for this popular kit!
Overall amazing kit for a gift or an experienced modeller.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2014
I bought this kit to experiment putting a motor in during the run up to me getting a Tucano from airfix. I had already painted the F-51D mustang from airfix which was a bit more expensive for different decals and a different armament. This kit is exactly like the F-51D without a few missiles, meaning the quality is fantastic. The interior detail is great, the decals only have one option which is marginally disappointing, but other than that it's an amazing kit for the price. I highly recommend it! The only problem was amazon taking around 3 days to dispatch and even longer for it to come through my door. other than that it is an amazing kit!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
A new tooled kit from Airfix, and what a kit it is.

A new cockpit set up with great detail, new surface detail with engraved panel lines, better detailed landing gear and even and updated Cartograh decal sheet. I have yet to build her but from reports from other builders the parts fit is out of this world.

Thanks to Airfix for a super new kit!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
You cannot go wrong with Airfix new tools. For the price they are simply brilliant, Buy it and make it, you wont be disappointed. I will post some pics when I have built mine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
this is once again a beginners kit the only difference is this one comes with no paint, glue or paint brush. nice model for the price. (under a fiver)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
first time i done a mustang i did it in red tail fashion going by film only at last i can see where i went wrong and correct brilliant model
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)