Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars25
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 September 2012
This is the latest in the new Airfix range of 'new tool' kits which replaces some of the old and dated models.

There are quite a few 1/72 scale P-51Ds on the market, including Academy, Hobby Boss,Hasegawa (now a bit old and pricey for what you get) and Tamiya (very expensive).

The kit has a good number of parts, with drop tanks, two canopy options and a nice set of decals, including stencils, for a 'Tuskegee Airman' aircraft. Detailing is good, with, for example, a nice and visible radiator, reasonable cockpit detail for the scale and a pilot which is much better than the old Airfix generic bods.

The only drawbacks are the heavily recessed panel lines, which will reduce with a coat of paint, and that there's only one decal option, but there are many after market sheets if you wish.

The kit fits together well, is easy to build, looks like a Mustang and is significantly cheaper than the competition: what more could you want, except the shelf space to build a squadron!

Well done Airfix.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2013
Very impressed with the level of detail on this kit, the panel lines are great and the parts fit together very well. For a small cheap kit the end result looks fantastic, in fact I have bought another one so I can have both a wheels up and down version.

highly recommended for both beginners and also experienced kit builders, you wont be disappointed.
review image
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2013
Ignore the daft 'one star' review. This is Airfix getting back to their best, with a good, new tooled rendition of this classic aircraft. An accurate and surprisingly detailed model can be built from this kit, and I liked the choice of markings. It's half the price of comparable kits from other manufacturers. You can't go wrong.

Oh, and don't forget you may need to buy some paints and glue!!!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2014
I'm extremely surprised with this kit on many levels, it's very detailed inside and out, beautiful panel lines and a very good quality plastic. I didn't expect this sort of quality from a series 1 kit. very easy to build and paint, there is a more expensive kit of an F-51 mustang which is basically this model with another sprue added with rockets and such. This is an option if you want more detail and different decals. The decals on this kit give only one option, I personally used the universal mustang decals and custom made my own by slicing up other sheets but for this design it's great. There are also lots of other after market declass for this popular kit!
Overall amazing kit for a gift or an experienced modeller.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 November 2015
I've not built this yet, just opened the box and studied the kit (anticipation was always one of the joys of airfix!).

However first impressions are good.

Another reviewer mentions this is re-tooled. I never built the original P-51 (which is one reason I bought this), however the detail level is superb; cockpit is 5 parts alone including gun sight! control surfaces a poseable and separate to the main wing.

Its almost 25-yrs since I last built an airfix kit and now I am rediscovering them with my children. Early kits lacked detail and were eclipsed by the likes of Hasegawa. However these re-tooled kits give them a run for their money.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
You cannot go wrong with Airfix new tools. For the price they are simply brilliant, Buy it and make it, you wont be disappointed. I will post some pics when I have built mine
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2013
this is once again a beginners kit the only difference is this one comes with no paint, glue or paint brush. nice model for the price. (under a fiver)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2015
first time i done a mustang i did it in red tail fashion going by film only at last i can see where i went wrong and correct brilliant model
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2016
Nice little Mustang kit ; maybe not as good as the Tamiya kit but a fraction of the price
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2015
Cant go wrong with Airfix. Great quality product. Fast delivery by seller.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.