Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars9
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 February 2014
Sugata's Message seems simple we learn better, when not being taught. Encouraged to ask questions and research the answers My first best book of the computer age thank goodness its an Ebook and hopefully will never go out of date.
D. Carpenter
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2012
As the current Government prepares to be swamped by ideas on the future direction of ICT and learning, they could do a lot worse by putting most of it in a shredder and picking out this small electronic pamphlet as the cornerstone of the way ahead. Of course they won't. Suggesting that kids might work better in groups without specialised teachers and 4 to a machine! What would the entire education establishment and its techie suppliers do then?

However, if you teach I recommend you read (it'll take 2 hours) and try out some of ideas. I've done so. They work. Only I can't see OFSTED being too impressed with my no-part no plenary lesson plan!
11 comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2013
This book is a fun read with great stories to inspire self organised learning. Shame it is so short and I am missing a more guided introduction in how this can be used in a home environment.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2015
Although this is a very short book, it does go into some more detail of the methodology and uses of Sugatra's ground breaking new teaching. I would also recommend checking out his TED talk and maybe getting involved in a SOLE project if you feel that it is worth pursuing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 September 2014
If you are a teacher you will need to read this book! Education is changing fast and this book tells us how technology is changing the way children learn, with dramatic results.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 November 2014
An amazing book that turned everything I thought I knew about how children learn upside down. These idea, I hope, start a quiet revolution in education.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 March 2015
Sugata Mitra is a very entertaining speaker(see his video) with an evangelical zeal for SOLE(self organised learning experience). Trouble is, like all other educationalists wanting to make a name for themselves he makes (to me ridiculously) controversial statements..."who needs arithmetic? who needs spelling?" Answer nobody-they look it up on their computer.

Of course those who budget for education are always suckers for the type of approach he espouses.... let the learners discover for themselves by using the internet. It conjures up an enticing future where there is no need for expensive schools and colleges with their expensive teachers and professors. All that money could be spent on something else.

Actually I cannot see University admissions officers being impressed by students following this route-not when many of them are still embedded in an era where even a highly qualified postgraduate can't develop their careers by taking a medical degree if they didn't get GCSE (or O levels) in English Language and Maths donkeys years ago.
Sorry Sugata- highly entertaining - but that's all. Seen it all before.
0Comment1 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2014
Very interesting. Anybody in teaching should read this book.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2015
a thought provoking booklet, shame it is not longer!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse