Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars294
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£9.90+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 6 October 2012
I have read some of the reviews (in particular, the ones that are not too positive) and I have to say: It still makes me laugh out loud... :-) OK, this season has several week episodes: The back-and-forth episodes at the beginning of the second disk are pretty boring. Seems that they did not really have something for a complete episode, so these are just patchworks of small bits and pieces. But the first episodes and the last about eight are really fun to watch
One big point of discussion seems to be: Not enough science. Too much personal life. I do not care too much that the focus of the series has changed. People change. Repetition is boring. My other two beloved series (House, Monk) really got boring when it got to the fifth season. Because nothing changed. Just more of the same. Only different.
I am a scientist (somewhere between Sheldon and Bernadette in discipline) and I *love* to see good jokes about the scientific part of their lives. But we had loads of great, great jokes on that front that at least I will never forget ("Geology is not a real science!", and the spherical sheep in vacuum joke, and the dark side of the moon). But people from science should be allowed to have a personal life, to change, to develop. (Sorry for my bad English.) And the focus on the more personal stuff is just cool because otherwise, it would get repetitious. Leslie was great, but only for some time. Kripke is definitely great, but I would not want his rhotacism (just got that from Wikipedia) in every episode -- it is only this funny. So, yeah: If you love the characters, and if you think that "a little different" can still be good, then the fifth season is good for you. Full stop.
I am more worried about the sixth season: They are so happy showing Howard floating through the space station, there is hardly anything happening in the first episode. But I hope that what we have seen in the finale will produce, again, something new and pretty crazy. I have always liked Stuart, and it appears we are seeing a hell more of him now! ;-) And finally, Rajesh has found somebody to love... How sweet! I hope for the best.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Here in box set, spread over three discs, are all twenty four episodes of the fifth season of popular sitcom the Big Bang Theory. All about two brilliant but nerdy physicists, their worldly wise next door neighbour, and their friends.

As ever, each episode runs from eighteen to twenty minutes.

The dvd has the following language and subtitle options:

Languages: English, Castilian Spanish, French.

Subtitles: English, Castilian Spanish, Dutch, French, Finnish, Norwegian, Swedish.

Many of the episodes stand alone, but there are linking themes this year. Sheldon and Amy's relationship continues to develop. After a fashion. Howard and Bernadette's wedding approaches. As he gets the chance to go the international space station. Raj remains so very lonely. And there are changes for Leonard and Penny also.

Fans of the show have split into two camps by this point in the run. There are those who think the show has lost something from the early days with the addition of more characters and more focus on relationship based storylines rather than science/nerd ones. Or those who love it no matter what. The former may not be entirely pleased by this season. The latter won't have a problem.

The show does do very well to fit all the cast in each week, given the length of the episodes - Bernadette is only missing from two and Amy is only missing from three - but after a couple of excellent opening episodes the first half of the run does produce a lot that are merely very good rather than great. These tend to be ones that have two plotlines a week, and in these the whole cast won't always be together for any point of it.

The second half of the season does seem to move beyond this, and is as a whole very good, with some real stand outs. Plus some very good guest stars.

The audience does react with emotion when certain things happen. And you may well do the same. This is a show that survives on the strength of well loved characters providing a lot of laughs. And in that respect, it's at the top of it's game.

Extras are:

On disc two: Two ten minute long featurettes with brief with cast members. One about their favourite moments from the fifth season. And one about the show reaching it's one hundredth episode.

On disc three: a nine minute long gag reel. The show has always produced good ones, and this year's is no exception. Many gag reels can be people pulling silly faces or making silly noises for the sake of it, but these are genuine and often very funny.

Plus a fascinating fourteen minute long feature about the work of the prop department and other integral members of the show's behind the scenes crew.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 January 2013
Take the snooty perfectionism of Niles from 'Frasier' and crank it up a good few notches; add a generous helping of Dustin Hoffman's Rain Man, including the lack of social skills; sprinkle liberally with the abrasive haughtiness of Doc Martin; add a twist of both Kenneth Williams from the 'Carry On' films and Julian Clary; then top with a light dusting of Mr. Bean ...

The result is Sheldon Cooper, gifted theoretical physicist and geek extraordinaire, as arrogant, self-centred and narcissistic as he is childlike and loveable, and who is undoubtedly one of the finest comedy characters of all time - so much so that even the way he knocks on the door is hilarious!

Sheldon is what makes this brilliant sitcom really shine, but he is also aided and abetted by a motley ensemble of fellow geeks: the neurotic Raj, who can't talk to women without first necking some alcohol (and who reminds me of the hilarious 'Indian Keith' in 'Celebrity Juice'); the sleazy and sex-obsessed Howard, who, despite now being engaged, still lives with his belligerent, overbearing mother; and Leonard, who is just as pathetic as the rest of them, but who is their link to Penny, the 'blonde across the hall', and the world of 'normal people'.

This series also sees the return of extreme oddball Amy Farrah Fowler, who, despite being Sheldon's girlfriend (though he's loath to admit it), seems to have taken quite a shine to Penny; and Howard's chipmunk-like yet feisty wife-to-be Bernadette, who may prove to be quite a match for his loud-mouthed mother.

I'd seen snippets of 'The Big Bang Theory' on TV and was generally unimpressed, but it was only when I watched it properly that, beneath the cheesy American feel (not least of which is the incessant and rather irritating laughter of the studio audience), I realised its utter brilliance. As epic and loveable as 'Friends' and 'Frasier', and as quirky and hilarious as the US version of 'The Office', this is a comedy that will rightfully take its place among the greats.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 November 2011
In the cult tradition of SPARTACUS, the halls of every science department now echoes: "I AM SHELDON"!

Currently into its fifth season, THE BIG BANG THEORY proved to be one of the most funny TV sitcoms ever aired. Even if the show seems to have slowed down form its initial explosive impetus, I had not laughed out loud this hard ever since the best days of FRASIER and SEINFELD - and BIG BANG is **consistently** brilliant!

Sheldon Cooper is unavoidably the king of the show - the massive black hole this Universe revolves around if you will. A child prodigy, now a 24 years old theoretical physicist PhD with absolutely no social skills or known sexual drive. Sheldon may be on the verge of unifying the fields but cannot drive a car to save his life or break a smile even remotely resembling that of a mere homo sapiens.
His equally super-intelligent (yet sexually confused girlfriend), Amy Farrah Fowler, (which Sheldon finally claimed) received a far more enlarged role this fifth season. However, she was not a very good addition and she unbalances the show. Her character only manages to blur the focus form Sheldon (there is only room for one genius!), diffuse a number of comically charged situations and gum up the show's flow.

Leonard Hofstadter is Sheldon's roommate and primary ...keeper. An experimental physicist himself (who Sheldon tries to "help" by steering him towards a teaching career), he juggles Sheldon's idiosyncrasies with his personal neurosis - not to mention his crush on his neighbor Penny. Which crush, like lunar eclipses, follow a predicted yet unavoidable periodicity.
Leonard tried his hand in a long-distance relationship this season with his friend Raj's sister, Priya, but he seems to be gravitating back towards Penny once more.

Howard Wolowitz is the only one with no PhD (and Sheldon will never let him forget it). An engineer (whose crowning achievements were a mechanized arm that is used in the space shuttle and a liquid waste management solution), he also managed to wreck the Mars Rover in hopes of landing a girl (but he made sure no one can prove anything).
The fact that he is a short man with a severely outdated and misguided sense of fashion, still lives with his mother, insists on using a collection of pickup lines straight from men's magazines advice columns - and yet carries himself as God's gift to women is just hilarious.
Howard used to be the show-stealer. Whenever he entered the scene you just knew he would offer such an outrageous perceptive that would render you speechless. Now, if only Howard's character was allowed to continue in its stellar trajectory. He has been weighted down by his fiancée, Bernadette, who is very likeable, but also is cramping his style. Not to mention that she, slowly yet inescapably, is turning into his scary mother.

Rajesh Koothrappali is a particle astrophysicist with a fashion sense close to absolute zero and a severe case of shyness - to the point that he cannot speak in front of women unless inebriated. He keeps using the "poor Indian" defense although his father is a rich doctor who drives a Bentley. His character, even in the fifth season, remains underdeveloped.

Then there is Penny. She is the proverbial good girl next door who came to California with stardom aspirations but so far works as waitress and suffers a sequence of bad boyfriends (Sheldon has in fact calculated the exact number of them, extrapolated from a bell-curve that started at 14)- and, obviously, from her neighbors.
One of the best fifth season moments: slipping in the "Who is the greatest?" cheer between Sheldon's patented knock of repeated "Penny!".

The show unavoidably makes use of previous sitcom combinations (the odd couple, the unfulfilled love-interest mismatch) but even if one manages to discern them they are used in such a fresh manner that all that is left is great entertainment!

The way to truly enjoy this is to own it on DVD. The writing is so smart and the jokes fly so fast (many of them non-verbal) there is just no way to savor it during its weekly air time. Well, may be Sheldon could but then again, who can compare his intellect with his?

0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
on 3 September 2012
As much as I love the first 3 series I can accept that shows must grow as do characters, but TBBT has grown into a generic Friends clone at the cost of it's quirkyness. I even enjoyed season 4 but the cracks were beginning to show. It seems such a shame because the show's premise can allow for the mining of comedy gold in areas that other sitcoms just can't go.

Why can't leonard have a major success which puts sheldon's nose out of joint? Why can't we see Raj's mammouth struggle to overcome his selective mutism? Why can't Howard build a thingymabob that allows him so much success that he puts Sheldon's name as a footnote in his memoirs? Why can't there be a reversal where Penny goes desperately chasing Leonard after Leonard comes to realise that she doesn't care for him as much as he does for her, such as stealing his mail, doing favours for him? Perhaps they even manage to fix the lift! Something as simple as that can change the dynamics of the show.

Instead we have stories about not getting a hair cut, fun with flags, confronting a bully, battling for an office, ruining a toy teleporter, going round to Wil Wheaton's house and bridesmaid dress shopping. This is not to say that some of the episodes are not funny. There are some terrific one liners and anything with Stuart from the comic book store is pure gold. But for every classic line about the bone density of an 80 year old man there is a truly desperate attempt for laughs about getting wood whilst playing Settlers Of Catan.

Sheldon used to be 80% genius, 20% child, now he's the opposite. Why does someone as popular and likeable as Penny spend so much time with nerds such as AFF and Bernadette? The show was how she bounced off 4 uber nerds, now there are 6 nerds on the show. Leonard has turned into an obnoxious douche. Howard is domesticated and lost his appeal.

With the show becoming more successful in this progression I can't see it coming back to what made it special in the first place. To do that they'd have to get rid of AFF and Bernadette for a start. Come on fellas, you can bring it back, just get creative rather than going through the motions!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 14 November 2012
I'll probably never get tired of the Big Bang Theory. In my opinion, one of the best sitcoms ever. With that said....Season 5 is a bit weaker than Season 1-3 (therefore only 4 stars) but probably on par with Season 4. That's still waaay ahead of your average sitcom, therefore definitely a buying recommendation!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
Continuing with the trend. yet another strong season. Cast again nails every performance bringing humour and humanity to the show. Development is rife as Amy continues to become more human under the influence of Penny, Howard and Bernadette tie the knot, Leonard finally gets the stones to confront Penny with his feelings and even Sheldon musters up some will to change regarding his relationship with Amy. The only character who once again remains the same is Raj. Which I still maintain is a good thing. Rajs form of humour is best played when socially awkward by day and after a drop of alcohol millionaire playboy by night. Plenty of strong stories and maintains the high standard set by previous series. i will say that this series is equal to series 4 and not an improvement. I fear we are encountering the pinnacle of The Big Bang Theory now.. and i dread and pray against its inevitable decline :( I hope it doesnt happen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2013
Some complain about content storylines concentrating on new characters and relationships. Nonsense. The excellent actors are simply given more foils for their banter and more varied situations. Well worth getting the whole series of seasons. The editing on E4, apart from the appalling ads, in inexcusable, taking out huge chunks just to delete such words as Bitch and Damn. With all the utter rubbish produced in the US and shown over here they simply ruin what is a consistently funny and intelligent show. All characters deliver their extremely clever and funny script with and incredible ability to keep their faces straight. Enjoy the outtakes for proof. Jim Parsons is a gem. As a father of an autistic child I can see that his character is autistic, high-end, clearly, and his idiosyncrasies are accurate to a fantastic degree. Wonderful stuff, watchable again and again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
58 of 73 people found the following review helpful
on 5 May 2012
The first 3 seasons of TBBT were pure gold, season 4 was an amalgum of gold and silver, but right from episode 1 of season 5 there has been something not quite "right". The pacing seems to be off and and I just don't laugh as much.

However, regardless of how much anyone may criticise season 5 it is several orders of magnitude funnier than any other sitcom currently on air. The show might be coasting along on autopilot at the moment but in comparison to anything else it still sparkles.

Also, on repeated viewings it is funnier. TBBT has always had great repeat viewing strength (like all great comedy) but I didn't "get" a lot of season 5 until I'd watched it twice - my wife thought so as well. Does that mean the scripts are not as well written? It certainly isn't the acting, which is as good as ever.

So overall, not as good as past series, but still funny and worth viewing. 8/10
55 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2014
From the very first season onwards The Big Bang Theory Show has always hit the mark with me.This is not always so with some sit-coms. Some take awhile to get into, and others after a bit just don't cut it. Likewise there are some comedies which are pretty good on a one shot basis. That is to say, I saw it, and o.k. -yeah, I've seen it, but that's it. Then there are certain sit-coms which join the ranks of those which, going back all the way to like the 'Lucy' days of the 1950's which are classics, and even after you've watched the episdodes and just about know them by heart, you still like to see them again. THe Big Bang Theory is for me, in that ranking.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.