Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars637
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 March 2014
I would highly recommend this film to all ages, as an adult I was engrossed in "Hotel Transylvania" and found the humour great! The film is ironic and sarcastic and full of quirky jokes! Not to mention that Genndy Tartakovsky's animation is a treat! Embrace your inner monsters, you are in for a delightful ride!

The film "stars" Adam Sandler as Dracula, a loving father who spends his life trying to protect his young daughter, Mavis, from the cruel world of people. With his young daughter coming of age (she hits 118!), Dracula is about to host a party of a lifetime. And here comes a party crasher Jonathan, voiced by hilarious Andy Samberg, a dude and lone traveller who accidentally ends up at the hotel and (you saw it coming) falls in love with Mavis.

All in all, "Hotel Transylvania" has the definite trademark of Adam Sandler and his posse, but it is also a sweet and kind-hearted family film. Especially for the horror loving family. Five stars - no hesitation!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 17 May 2013
Gosh, I love animated movies and I need to say that Hotel Transylvania does not disappoint! One of the best releases of 2012 :-) Honestly feel good movie! Get a copy - will definitely make you laugh!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
59 of 64 people found the following review helpful
on 31 October 2012
I'd heard negative reviews about this being nowhere near as funny as many other anmimations and i really don't know why,it's very impressive.
A great idea with Dracula being an overprotective father of his daughter who's just turned 118 (a gag i found amusing). She hoping for her 118th birthday her dad will let her out of the monster hotel just to see what humans are really like.
Along comes a young explorer who falls for her and she for him. He at first assumes this some some kind of fancy dress party,but soon learns the truth. Then it's up to Dracula to keep the explorer a secret and so he becomes a descendant of frankenstein's monster in order to stay there without being slaughtered. The truth about Dracula and his daughter,wife and trouble with the humans is soon revealed. There's a lot of very funny stuff and makes some good points,giving great messages about life and differences in people's attitudes. And the way it handles young love is all very touching,with animation to adore and great voice overs. I honestly can't see why this is considered a bad movie,it's funny,it looks nice,it's got a great plot and makes some good points. And of course,Dracula becomes cool again.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
Having originally bought the DVD version of Hotel Transylvania for family viewing, knowing little about it or what to expect, we soon found ourselves wanting to watch it again (and that was just me and the wife!), hence the reason we have now purchased the Blu-ray version.

I won't say too much about the storyline in this review, as that has been thoroughly and efficiently described elsewhere by other reviewers, but from our own perspective there are some very funny lines in this animation, which provoke many "laugh out loud" moments, even though we have heard them umpteen times before.

In addition, there is so much onscreen detail and slapstick humour, that even after countless viewings, we still spot the odd little visual gag that we somehow managed to miss previously.

However one of the most endearing aspects of the film is the underlying theme of Drac's over-protectiveness towards his daughter. This is something with which most parents, (especially with teenaged daughters) will be able to identify and find reason to laugh at, even though by doing so, they will find that they are actually laughing at themselves.

To conclude, we found this to be a hilarious and entertaining film, which has provoked many happy moments and will continue to do so in the future.

Whether or not others agree or disagree with this viewpoint is a matter of personal taste, but this review represents our honest impressions of Hotel Transylvania and it is hoped that they will be helpful to others considering whether or not to purchase this film.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
22 of 25 people found the following review helpful
on 18 January 2013
I took my son to see this (he is six) and we both loved it. I honestly expected it to be a 'more of the same' in the field of animated children's films - mildly funny, great animation but on the whole nothing much to shout about. Actually, as well as being funny, it was unexpectedly sweet and uplifting. One of those animated films that appeals to boys as much as girls which is a real plus. Loved it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 14 March 2013
My wife, three year old son and I went to the local Cineworld on a £1 Saturday morning Kids Club deal. This was the only film besides Madagascar 3 - which we had seen previously - so we went in expecting mediocrity. How surprised we were when it turned out to be one of the funniest, smartest and entertaining films of the year!

The characters are funny and well drawn out - the secondary characters (Werewolf, Frankenstein and Hunchback in particular) really add richness to the narrative. The story is clever and the voice-acting excellent. A lot of people knock Adam Sandler but he does what he does and entertains people. In this film he turn in his best role since Funny People, Punch-Drunk Love. He's excellent as Dracula as is Andy Samberg as the optimistic hitchhiker Jonathan.

This is up there with the alternative funny films that best Pixar/Disney offerings: Kung Fu Panda, MegaMind, Despicable Me etc.

A great film, very funny and a lot of fun!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 6 October 2013
Although I grew up I still enjoy watching animated films and Hotel Transylvania is just hilarious.

Count Dracula has a problem: he is a single parent and his daughter - Mavis is a teenager. She is just 118 years old and she wants to explore the world.

Dracula makes all the effort to keep inside the Transylvania Hotel, a place where monsters are kept safe from humans.

Despite of Dracula's efforts to keep the humans out, a teenager finds the hotel and him and Mavis fall in love. A lot of funny situations appear when the teenager starts interacting with the monsters.

In conclusion: really funny and I would recommend it to all animation films fans.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2015
What do you get when you combine the talents of a Cartoon Network veteran, a Saturday Night Live writer and the cast from virtually every Happy Madison film? The new Sony Animation Studio’s movie, Hotel Transylvania, starring the voice talents of Adam Sandler, Selena Gomez, Andy Samberg, Kevin James and David Spade. Is this a fun, family friendly movie about Dracula and his friends or is it just another cheap attempt to sell Happy Meal Toys?

After centuries of monster persecution at the hands of humans, Count Dracula decides to build a safe haven to protect his friends and his only daughter, Mavis, from mobs, pitch forks and torches. He has his army of zombie minions construct a castle where his friends can feel safe and at home. That castle is Hotel Transylvania. Protected by a haunted forest and a graveyard filled with the living dead, Dracula wants to make sure his resort is human free.

On the eve of his daughter’s 118th Birthday, Dracula invites all his close friends to the hotel for a weekend long celebration. But Mavis doesn’t want a party, she wants her freedom to explore the world. Dracula becomes overprotective in fear that she will suffer the same fate as her mother, who was brutally killed at the hands of villagers. He allows her to visit a local village, but it is all a ruse. The village is filled with disguised zombie servants that scare Mavis back to the hotel.

The festivities begin and the overprotective father’s plans are falling into place, but all his hard work could become undone when a human discovers the hotel and crashes the party. Dracula must do everything he can to keep the stranger’s identity hidden from the hotel guests or it could result in the end of monster-kind.

Hotel-Transylvania Image 1


As of late, children’s movies have subtly inserted messages to open doors of communication between parents and their children. How to Train your Dragon was a story about an awkward boy trying to gain the approval of his father. Brave was about a rebellious girl in a power struggle with her mother over tradition. ParaNorman was about bullying and discrimination. Hotel Transylvania is no exception. On the outside, the movie is a very colorful monster mash of characters having a good time singing and dancing, but hidden underneath the cape is a story about father who is afraid of his little girl growing up and leaving home. Dracula isn’t trying to be an overbearing father, but after losing his wife, his daughter is the only thing in the world he has to remind him of her. As a father of three daughters, I could relate to the film in more ways than one. Now while Hotel Transylvania is more kid friendly than ParaNorman, it was still successful in relaying the message of how powerful the bond between a daddy and his “little girl” really is.

Directing the movie is Cartoon Network animation veteran, Genndy Tartakovsky. He is responsible for directing such iconic cartoons as the Power Puff Girls, Samurai Jack and Dexter’s Laboratory. His experience is shown throughout the movie. He knows exactly how to take classic Universal Monsters and give them character and heart. Now while Dracula and Mavis may not be as rememberable as Bubbles and Buttercup, they are still fun for kids without being scary.

Hotel-Transylvania Image 2

Adam Sandler lends his voice talents as the voice of Dracula. Now while he tried to do a proper Romanian accent, at times it seemed like he was just doing an Adam Sandler impression. What Sandler does succeed in is portraying a concerned father that truly thinks of his daughter’s safety over anything else. As a father of two girls, Sandler (who also produced the film) seems to have made the movie homage to them. Because of that, the movie showed more heart than what I was expecting.

It wouldn’t be an Adam Sandler film if he didn’t bring his friends along to help out. The monster cast is filled with Saturday Night Live and Happy Madison (Sandler’s Production Company) alumni. Kevin James plays Frankenstein, David Spade is the Invisible Man, Steve Buscemi is the Wolfman, Molly Shannon plays the Wolfman’s wife, Fran Drescher is the Bride of Frankenstein and CeeLo Green plays the Mummy. It was like the cast from Grown-Ups got together to make an animated film, though, at least they made a better film this time around. The voice of Dracula’s daughter, Mavis, is Disney Channel veteran, Selena Gomez. Rumor was that Miley Cyrus was the first choice, but she backed out before production. Good thing because Gomez did a good job, and I don’t think it would have been believable if a vampire had a slightly subtle Kentucky accent. Playing the human, Johnny, is Andy Samberg. This is his second film this year with Sandler as the two starred in the adult comedy That’s My Boy. Until I watched the credits, I totally forgot that Samberg was in the movie. He doesn’t do his typical voice. Samberg portrays Johnny as a carefree hipster just passing through as he goes from hostel to hostel discovering the European country side. The camaraderie of past films that the majority of the actors have developed over the years is what makes Hotel Transylvania an enjoyable film.

Hotel-Transylvania Image 3

While I am usually a proponent to viewing computer animated movies in 3D, Hotel Transylvania didn’t really have any of the typical sight gags to warrant spending the extra bucks. The 3D did add some depth, but nothing like the 3D effects of Finding Nemo or How to Train your Dragon. Take my advice and save your money for the concession stand.

My kids and I had a good time with Hotel Transylvania. It is is a fantastic Daddy-Daughter afternoon outing. It may not be a spectacularly animated as Disney-Pixar’s Brave, but it still looked fantastic. The characters were cute, the songs were fun, and the dialog had enough adult humor to entertain the parents while not being too over the heads of little ones. There is even an unexpected joke that makes fun of the Twilight series that got a huge laugh out of the audience. The only major fault I found with the movie was the repetitive dialogue at the beginning. After so many times, I got it, humans are bad. That point will be drilled into your head enough times up until the middle of the second act. On the other side of the coin, the movie teaches little ones about tolerance and understanding. I guess that I was also slightly disappointed that with CeeLo Green being in the cast, his song talents were not utilized. To many, that may be a good or bad thing. If you are looking for a fun pre-Halloween movie to take the family to this weekend, I recommend checking out Hotel Transylvania. It is definitely more enjoyable than Twilight!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
I'm not really a fan of cartoon movies but I'm occasionally talked into watching them with someone else so through time I have seen more than a few and to be fair, I really don't like most of them. This on the other hand was genius. I laughed from the very start right through to the end.

It's packed with witty jokes about a collection of monsters that everyone knows so well. Your probably already aware but the basic storyline is Dracula built the castle/hotel for the monsters to go on holiday and hide away from the humans. The setting is his daughter Mavis's 118th birthday and she is becoming a woman and wants to go out into the world which the count isn't for having.

As the story progresses we get more of a backstory on the count and why he is the way he is and the first ever human to find the castle becomes very friendly with Mavis. I'm not telling you anymore than that as I hate spoilers but you could probably have got all that from the trailer.

I loved Adam Sandler's Count Dracula voice and everyone else in the movie was great too. This would definitely be great for kids but adults will love it too. I did keep getting flashbacks to The Flintstones meet Rockula and Frankenstone which I loved when I was younger but it's in no way whatsoever a copy of that movie. Just slight similarities.

I honestly can't recommend this high enough and it is easily one of the best cartoon movies I've seen.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 27 May 2013
The film opens with a loving nurturing Dracula caring for his daughter in 1895. In order to protect her from evil humans he constructs a huge castle as a refuge for monsters which include, Frankenstein, wolfman, invisible man, bigfoot, zombies, ghouls, Quasimodo etc. We then move to the present as his teen looking daughter turns 118 and wants to see the world. Before the first human shows up we already know the script.

There were a number of fun things about the monsters that kids would enjoy but adults will find tiresome. Dracula constantly denies saying "blah, ba-blah, ba-blah." There is one scene the kids laughed at and that was when someone pulled down the swimming trunks of the Invisible Man. He quickly pulls them back up, tells people "I just got out of the pool! It's cold! Don't judge me!" At one point the Invisible Man is playing charades, which he admits, "I'm not very good at."

At one point Dracula asks if humans would accept them (the monsters) if they "came out." I'm sure there was some kind of message there.

As an adult, I was basically bored with the film which had such great potential. 4 stars from a kids view. Not really scary or funny.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Inside Out [Blu-ray]
Inside Out [Blu-ray] by Pete Docter (Blu-ray - 2015)

Hotel Transylvania 2 Movie Novelization
Hotel Transylvania 2 Movie Novelization by Sheila Sweeny Higginson (Paperback - 18 Aug. 2015)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.