Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
119
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 December 2011
I had to post this review mainly in response to the only one that gave the film 2 stars.

This is a travesty of a score and with the basis of it seeming to come from one who is much more at home with action movies or cheap comedies.

The film is fantastic with great acting from Pitt and Hill who give very strong performances, Hill's actually fairly surprising as he usually does Kevin Smith style comedies. The script is great and draws a great deal of laughs.

Whilst being a film based on sport there isn't a great deal of sports knowledge required as this is more a film of overcoming adversity and any sequences on the pitch are very short. To get a real idea of this film check out Roger Ebert's review by just searching Roger Ebert review Moneyball in google.

This is a film to see from the script writers of Shindlers List and the Social Network. It is funny, engaging, interesting and heartwarming. You do grow to love several of the characters and become invested in them. One of the films of 2011
44 comments| 46 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 May 2012
This film is a sleeper in the UK because most people will write it off as a 'stock' US baseball movie.

That it ain't.

If you want fine acting ( Pitt and Hill), a great script ( Sorkin) and a true story about how one individual challenged the status-quo/flat-earthers and in so doing took his team from under-dogs to game-changers, then you will find it here.

An outstanding find and quality film.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 6 October 2013
This is the film of the Michael Lewis book of the same name. It deals with the real life story of Billy Beane.

Though I have no interest in baseball (I have only a hazy idea of the rules) that is not the case with this film.

I also bought the CD version of the book, narrated by Lewis himself, and found it fascinating.

Billy Beane is a guy who many would say got a raw deal in life. After showing so much promise as a junior, it all went pear-shaped. Later in life he adopts an entirely new mathematical system for picking out promising baseball players. The system, born out of sheer financial necessity, is a new metric for spotting potential talent.

This film does not have any car chases or shoot outs. It ain't that kind of film.

It's just a very interesting and thought provoking film. That's why Michael Lewis wrote the book. That's why Brad Pitt choose to do the movie.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 December 2014
Moneyball is a brilliant film, and the one thing the yanks are good at, and that is making sports films.

This film is based on a true story about a failing baseball team. Jonah hill plays the part of a yale number cruncher, I have seen a few films with Jonah hill in and to tell you the truth he is not my cup tea but his acting in this film was very good. The late Philip Seymour Hoffman was his normal brilliant self, but I must say for me anyway this has been brad pitt at his best, if not his best part I have seen him in.

What I loved about the film was the amazing live footage of the winning run, which just added to the true events. Oh and the song brad pitt's daughter sang was just lovely.

***FEATURES BELOW***

Deleted Scenes
Billy Beane: Re-inventing the game
Blooper with Brad Pitt and Jonah hill
Moneyball: Playing the game - making of moneyball
Drafting the team
Adapting Moneyball
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 May 2013
So good a movie that, having first seen it via LoveFilm rental, I bought my own copy to watch at leisure.
An essential management tool for any business and, it's based on a real happening(s).
Brad Pitt did himself proud with this one and too, his viewers.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 March 2014
In 2001, General Manager Billy Beane's Oakland A's lose to the Yankees in the playoffs then lose three stars to free agency.

To the consternation of his scouts, Beane hires and listens to Peter Brand, a recent Yale grad who evaluates players using Bill James' statistical approach.

Beane assembles a team of no names who, on paper, can get on base and score runs.

Then, Beane's manager, Art Howe, won't use the players as Beane wants.

Can Beane circumvent Howe, win games, and make it to the 2002 Series..

I'm English, so I have no concept or interest in the game of baseball, I played rounders at school and it was the closest thing we had.

So I had no idea what I was expecting, just wanted to see the movie because of the plaudits it has received, and the blindingly intriguing notion of Hill putting in an Oscar nominated performance.

And while some of the films references and Baseball speak goes over my head, the feeling of emotion that emulates from PItt and Hill is very much there, and makes the film what it is, a marvellous portrayal of two men who start from scratch and against the odds, make it.

Now it sounds like any other struggling sports movie, but thanks to some very funny moments, and Pitt and Hills chemistry, it puts it yo there as one of the best sports dramas ever made.

The film reaches it's peak when little gestures of the hands by the two stars when closing a deal gives the audience goose bumps. Simple things like this make the film more interesting, despite the heavy subject matter.

It's a film that can be viewed several times on many levels. An education into the world of Baseball and how money rules the game, an underdog feel good film, or just an excuse to see Pitt and Hill give their best performances.

It's not for everyone, it does become really slow at times, but the script more than makes up for the pace.

But it's truly a memorable film, made better with performances and some stunning set pieces.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 August 2015
This is a potentially glamourous film that has no glamour or emphasis: it's because of the quiet, reflective style of the Director (FoxCatcher, Capote) who gives it a slow pace, fill it with suggestive music and shots, and let the actors act with balance and understatement. What I do not really like is that all this excellent art and intelligence celebrate something that I personally find unaccettable: that goals can be achieved just by measuring everything through statistics: it takes away any intuition and experience from sport activities, especially that of a manager
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2014
Winning the world series of Baseball is kind of like winning the world series of cheese chasing; both are sports that are only really played in one country so the world doesn’t really care. However, the rest of the world has come to care about sports such as baseball because we watch so many American films, some of which are about the ball of base. ‘Moneyball’ is the true story of Billy Beane and his running of the Oakland A’s; he took them to an unprecedented winning run by hiring players that were forgotten elsewhere and getting the best out of them. To do this he needed Peter Brand, a talented statistician whose theory was that you can make a team better by playing the odds.

Statistics, freakonomics, baseball, not really that promising a mix on paper, but director Bennett Miller has imbued both a sense of realism and tension to the film that lifts it above the usual sports fare. As someone who knows little about the fortunes of the A’s, the conclusion was a surprise for me and this really added to the thrills. Brad Pitt is ably helped by an impressive cast; finally someone has been able to harness his almost sleeping style of acting in a way that works; he actually pulls his weight here. Jonah Hill is also good as Brand; ably playing the geeky mathematician who hitches is horse to Beane’s wagon.

In a way it is not the direction or the acting that makes ‘Moneyball’ such a compelling film, but the system itself. It suggests that just because you are not the elite does not mean you cannot be a winner. The way in which Miller weaves the theories into the film are natural and you never feel spoken directly too. There is a surprisingly large amount of drama to be found just in watching people having a new way of working forced upon them. This creates friction and that is the very basis of drama, in fact the baseball itself has relatively little to do with the film and you can watch it with no knowledge at all and still enjoy yourself.

The film has a slight gritty feel to it, but the BluRay does look good. There is no director’s commentary on the version I saw, but the feature on the real life Moneyball system is an interesting watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 18 October 2014
You don't have to be a baseball fan or a spreadsheets lover to enjoy Moneyball. The story of how an under-resourced team found a way to be smarter than their bigger and richer rivals has an appeal that works even if you're not sure what a strike is and aren't moved by the idea of someone pouring over data to find a different way of looking at things.

That is a large part of why Moneyball, the movie of Michael Lewsis's book about the Oakland A's baseball team, is such an enjoyable movie.

Add in some great acting, a script written by someone (West Wing's Aaron Sorkin) who values words rather than seeing them as placeholders between special effects, great editing of footage and a nicely judged music score and you have a wonderfully enjoyable movie. Even if you don't like baseball.

Often the extras on a DVD are of limited value, but in this case - save for the one that give you the chance to watch Brad Pitt sitting laughing for several minutes - the extras add greatly to the film, both in explaining the context and (in the case of the deleted scenes) rounding out the characters nicely.

Of course, being the film of a book there is the ultimate extra - the book itself. Don't think of one as a substitute for the other. If you enjoy one, dive into the other too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2015
This is a film about sports but it is also a film about performance analysis and institutional politics. How do you measure the contribution of individual members of a team to overall performance? Baseball analysts developed a large number of performance measurements in the 1960s and 1970s which were resisted by mainstream baseball until fairly recently.

This film is about the clash between the old way of doing business and the new way. Brad Pitt plays Billy Bean who was a hot prospect in the 1980s but who never made it in major league baseball. Thus there is a poignant element through flashbacks where his career plays out and he wonders how the scouts (working on 'gut instinct') got it so wrong with him. Clearly there is a personal element to seeking change, as the old ways never worked for him as a potential player.

The film is often funny and watch out for scene stealing performances from the late Philip Seymour Hoffman as a manager. Pitt is at his best and his relationship with his daughter (from a divorce) is very well played out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)