Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars88
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

26 of 30 people found the following review helpful
If you don't like bad language you may struggle with this.
If on the other hand you don't mind a bit of top-class
potty-mouthed creativity you may very well love it to bits!

Nicki Minaj (aka Onika Tanya Maraj) shoots from the hip on
her debut album 'Pink Friday' and takes no prisoners. She is
mad and bad and just a little bit dangerous to know and to tell
you the truth, dirty or not, this is a very fine first outing.

Ms Minaj can sing. No doubt about it. Listen to the chorus on the
deliciously funky opening track 'Im The Best' if you need proof.
However, it's the rapping which really shines! This lady can spit
out words with the kind of fierce delivery and rhythmic attack
which only the very best in the genre can muster. Hooking up
with Eminem on the positively outrageous 'Roman's Revenge' is
an inspired pairing. Mr Mathers meets his match and sounds like
he's enjoying every last moment! Stripped-down, awkward, angular
and totally thrilling, you can feel the sparks flying between them!!

'Did It On 'em' is rude. Very rude indeed and very, very funny.
I kept thinking : "Noooooo...You can't say just can't!"
- but she does and she doesn't give a damn! Coming out of a less
convincing mouth the scatological lyrics might well have sounded
immature and gratuitous. Here the profanity is blissfully correct.

Rihanna returns a favour collaborating with Ms Minaj on the lovely
duet 'Fly' (they perform together on 'Raining Men' on Rihanna's new
album 'Loud'). Both Divas deliver deliciously powerful performances.

'Save Me' has a strong tune cut through with skittering drum & bass
rhythms. The marriage of styles works wonderfully well.

Kanye West pops in to say "hello" on 'Blazin'. It's a mid-paced
arrangement full of luminous synth washes and big faltering beats.
Truth-be-told Mr West is not at his best. His rapterlude sounds
positively dull next to Ms Minaj's bright and breezy rhyming.

'Dear Old Nicki' is a curiously elegant confection brimming over
with just the right kind of "told-you-so" confidence and spite.

Final track 'Last Chance' finds Ms Minaje ripping up the lino
with Natasha Bedingfield. The words spin in the air like a manic
cloud of summer swallows. A generously uplifting conclusion.

If 'Pink Friday' is a taste of things to come then I'm
already hungry for the next course. Bring it on! Soon!!

Bold, brash and maddeningly addictive.

Highly Recommended.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 24 January 2012
CD was received from Amazon in good condition.

Overall an excellent cd....totally loved Nicki Minaj's catchy rap + poppy tunes.

It's recommended for listeners like me who aren't into hard core rap and still like their pop tunes.

Favourite tunes include Superbass (of course!), Moment 4 Life, Fly and Save Me.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 14 January 2013
I love this album, it is one of my all time favirouts ... It has all the best Nicki songs from a couple of years ago now on it and I would really reccomend it to anyone really but especially one of the barbz!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 2 December 2012
Love this product. Considering it was Nicki's first album, I think she did an amazing job. I bought this album after listening to her second one, and they just keep getting better!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 27 December 2012
Smooth as silk - more more more more more more more more more more more more more more more more more more more more - there you are the seventeen more words you wanted
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
on 24 August 2012
This review is for: Pink Friday (Japan Edition) Nicki Minaj
Nicki Minaj is not the type of artist I would usually buy, but I recently heard a snippet of "Pound The Alarm" during "Big Brother UK" and then discovered through a visit to YouTube some other superb tracks such as "Muny", "Starships" and "Girls Fall Like Dominoes". Therefore, I had to buy "Pink Friday" & "Pink Friday - Roman Reloaded" (for other newbies like me, I discovered that these are actually 2 separate albums with totally different tracklists, not 2 editions of the same album - confusing because they are both called "Pink Friday"). I opted for the deluxe edition of "Pink Friday - Roman Reloaded" (Pink Friday: Roman Reloaded), but when it came to buying the "Pink Friday" CD I discovered that there are a bewildering number of editions available, some of which didn't include the two tracks I particularly wanted ("Muny" & "Girls Fall Like Dominoes"). There is the original 13 track CD, then there is the 'Super Bass' edition with 2 bonus tracks, then the Deluxe Edition with different bonus tracks again from the previous bonus tracks. On top of that, there are import versions such as the U.S. CD with 4 bonus tracks.... and so on. I was keen to get the best version available, so I did some extensive research and discovered the best version to be the Japan Edition which includes 20 tracks and gives you every permutation. It is the ultimate edition available, albeit expensive. I did weigh up whether to get more than one of the original CD's, but there always seemed to be something missing no matter which 2 CD's I would have purchased. So therefore the Japan Edition was the only one for me with its 20 tracks; the 7 extra tracks compared to the original 13 track CD being "Super Bass", "Blow Ya Mind", "Muny", "Wave Ya Hand", "Catch Me", "Girls Fall Like Dominoes", and "Bedrock". I'm pleased I bought this because it's a really fantastic album and the bonus tracks are among the best tracks, particularly "Muny" and "Girls Fall Like Dominoes". There really isn't a bad track on this album and I played it through from start to finish and couldn't switch it off until I'd heard it all. Hopefully my review will save you the many hours I took to come up with these answers and help inform you which version will suit you.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 12 January 2013
Loved the music
Would not recommend listening to some of the tracks when kids are in the room as there is a bit of bad language
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 December 2013
•Do explain why you liked or disliked this product.
•Do compare to similar products and share how long you've used this product.
•Do identify specific attributes (e.g. comfort and fit of a shirt or the battery life of a camera) and whether they met your expectations.
•Don't describe your seller or delivery experience (you can do that at
•Don't include promotional content of any kind or reviews written
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 July 2014
This is her first and best album, couldn't be happier when I got it, people talk sh*t about it because of the lyrics but CAN'T THEY SEE IT'S HAS PARENTAL ADVISORY? THIS IS A PIECE OF ART! in every way! if you haven't got your copy yet, DO IT NOW. you won't regret for sure, every song has some kind of story, the music video for them in Youtube are even better, you better shake your ass while listening to this
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 30 July 2011
Singing I'm the Best on the first track of her debut studio album, Nicki Minaj could not be more right. After showing her talent on collaborations with Mariah Carey (Up out my Face) and Christina Aguilera (Woohoo), the rapper and singer-songwriter got the chance to work with some amazing artists like Rihanna, Eminem and Kanye West for her own album as well. Amongst the best tracks are Roman's Revenge (ft. Eminem), Did it on'em, Fly (ft. Rihanna) Check it out (ft., Dear Old Nicki (best ballad), Last Chance (ft. Natasha Bedingfield), Your Love, Girls fall like Dominoes and Super Bass. Sassy and colourful! A must have!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.