Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars18
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£4.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 25 April 2011
Jennifer Hudson's debut was not a flop, not by 2008 standards.
It went gold and, thanks to being nominated alongside a mostly undeserving set of contemporaries, took the 2009 Grammy for Best R&B Album. However, a considerable amount of ill-suited material combined with obstructive guest appearances made it something of a misfire.
If the album was truly worthy of a Grammy, "I Remember Me" better run the ceremony's R&B table in 2012.
There is no lightweight pop, no beatbox-based Timbaland beats, no audible Auto-Tune -- no messing around.
Even the adult contemporary material -- the songs that function strictly as a platform for Hudson's powerhouse vocals -- packs more punch.
Most of the songwriters and producers who return from the debut, namely StarGate, Ne-Yo, and Harvey Mason, contribute positively here.
The shrewdest move was involving Alicia Keys, Swizz Beatz, and Salaam Remi.
"Angel", a euphoric testimonial written by Alicia Keys and co-produced by Keys and Swizz, sounds like it could have been made for Teena Marie, recalling "I Need Your Lovin'" while switching between tapping snares and a smacking four-four beat.
Keys and Swizz also team on "Everybody Needs Love", a hard disco throwback that is 80 percent slip-and-slide drums with a gorgeous, prancing chorus.
On "Don't Look Down", Keys and Remi (with Swizz handling the programmed drums) provide a boisterous and uplifting backdrop for one of Hudson's most gospel-rooted performances.
Remi also produces a bold interpretation of Anthony Newley and Leslie Bricusse's "Feeling Good" that surpasses every vocal version not recorded by Nina Simone.
Another welcome alliance comes from R. Kelly, whose "Where You At" (produced with Mason) is the type of song on which Hudson thrives most -- the album's own "And I Am Telling You", confident but scorned and on the brink of bugging out.
At their best, Hudson and her collaborators provide the kind of mature R&B that is not felt merely in the mind, throat, chest, or hips but the entire body. A Kellman

Favourite tracks: "I Got This", "Where You At", "Angel", and "Everybody Needs love".

Ultimate Collection
Love Songs
Jennifer Hudson
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2014
Really like a lot of songs on the album and it's less 'hit and miss' than her first release. There are a few b-sides that the album would have benefitted from being without and I'm not sure most of the tracks show off depth of her vocal ability and talent. However it's certainly an enjoyable album and one that I haven't bored of quickly.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 19 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 22 March 2011
On Jennifer Hudson's `I Remember Me', gone are the days of that real R'n'B club feel you got from `Spotlight' and the rest of her debut release. Instead you'll find a collection of immaculately produced piano driven ballads. Instead of embracing that more hard R&B sound of her debut, `I Remember Me' sticks to more mainstream beats that wouldn't sound out of place on a Leona Lewis release.

With the songwriting/production credits including Alicia Keys, Ryan Tedder, Ne-Yo, Stargate and R Kelly, my expectations were quite high. Unfortunately I have to admit I was largely disappointed. That fantastic voice still lives on but the material here is average at best. Outside of lead single `Where You At', the stand out tracks are few and far between and come in the form of `Why Is It So Hard' (penned by Ne-Yo) and `Gone', which takes a strong beat and blends with the acoustic guitar and some synthesized sounds. Infectious and `alternative' but done better by Leona Lewis in a similar vain with her track `Naked'.
Anyone wondering how Hudson's much publicized struggles take form here you'll find out on `Still Here' where the tragedy she has faced is beautifully incorporated in this Dianne Warren ballad.

The best way to describe the album is pleasant but forgettable. There is a somewhat summery feel across the whole album except for the big brass banded, motown tinged cover of `Feeling Good', where you pause to wonder why Jennifer doesn't explore this sound a little more.

I have to say, I think Jennifer Hudson is a really great role model. To go from Disney alumni to leaving the early stages of `American Idol' as an underdog and become an Academy Award winning actress is inspiration defined and a message to everyone everywhere to never give up on yourself. With her more recent personal tragedies I was really rooting for her on this new release. I still think there is enormous potential in making a great record of original material but she is yet to find the most effective direction for this.

I will add that the UK edition does include 'Spotlight' and from Sex & the City 2, a duet with Leona Lewis 'Love is your Color'. I have no qualms including these. Just a little shame they outshine the newer material.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
This album is better than Jennifer's first album release which although had a couple of good tracks on, was a bit dirgy in places. There's a few tracks which remind me of Beyonce but are much, much better. Happy with my purchase.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 21 May 2011
Had to comment on the long awaited follow up to Jennifer Hudson's amazing debut album. I Remember Me sees a slightly different side to Jennifer's vocal personality and shows real promise but doesn't seem to quite reach the potential we know is yet untapped in her amazing vocal range and strength. Where You At is a great track and the `Spotlight' of this CD, and the track Believe fits her voice perfectly and is simply beautiful.

Few minor complaints - I realise that Americans love their anthem but do we really need to have the Star Spangled Banner as a track on music CD? - it's utterly meaningless to anyone outside of the American market. I'd have rather they left it out or replaced it with another song from the range she has recorded for different sound tracks and such. Another space waster is having the song Spotlight on this CD . . . fans will already own it? Curious decision? - would have even made more sense if it were a re-mix of some description.

For me the low points of this collection are the track Gone, which sounds like a Jordin Sparks or Kelly Clarkson offering (not good enough for Jennifer Hudson) and the title track I Remember Me, which contains quite poorly written lyrics. The highlights are definitely Believe, I Got This, Angel, Why Is It So Hard and Where You At.

I feel there was a missed opportunity with the Leona Lewis duet too - two great voices could have made something so much more memorable than the insipid offering on this CD - surely someone involved in the process should have realised this. Think back to Jennifer's last CD and her duet with Fantasia OR even the Whitney Houston/Mariah Carey - When You Believe or Donna Summer and Barbara Streisand - Enough Is Enough (No More Tears) - It's more than possible!

Overall a good CD but not a great CD - I know Jennifer Hudson has much more to offer and, in the right hands, will eventually drop a flawless, killer CD!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2013
This sounded like it was a European release. Although JHud is great regardless, I prefer the US version of the songs to the Euro release.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 December 2013
Loved this CD and what a voice. Loved all the tracks and what a fantastic version of "Feeling Good". I enjoyed her last CD too.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
i really enjoy the cd and the dvd..
man, she is amazing!
i recomend this seller to anyone.
i love all that songs in her cd.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2012
gawjus album, very slow paced but even still smoothe sexy vocals, though would benefit from more up beat songs in the future
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2013
great album - has it's own flavour and not one type of music. listen to it all the time at work
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Jennifer Hudson
Jennifer Hudson by Jennifer Hudson (Audio CD - 2008)

Jhud by Jennifer Hudson (Audio CD - 2014)

Dreamgirls by Keith Robinson (Audio CD - 2007)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.