Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 January 2013
I bought a 3D TV last year and went all out, spending a small fortune on the best possible setup. I then spent months buying and renting 3D material to test it out.

I have tried and tested just about all the well known 3D titles out there, some of which have been very good.

This box set is SERIOUSLY not worth the money. The video quality is poor, the dialog is dreadfully uninformative and childish, but what's worse than all of that is the terrible 3D.

Many people have commented on here about the dizzying/headache inducing, fuzzy and out of focus scenes and I can do nothing but agree 100% with this.

Ocean Wonderland was THE first 3D movie ever where I've actually been forced to take the glasses off because it was making me feel nauseated and bringing on a headache. Anything that moves quickly toward the screen is impossible to focus on, and when there is a lot happening on the screen it is very uncomfortable to watch. At times in Ocean Wonderland if you didn't look directly central on the screen the image everywhere else was out of focus. The shark disc was just as disappointing, especially any scene involving lots of out of focus jelly-fish.

If you've not experienced 3D before then you might be fooled into thinking this is good. It's not. When you've seen how 3D can be done, and then you watch this, you realise just how badly this has been made.

Material such as David Attenborough's Kingdom of Plants is a perfect example of just how good 3D quality can be when it is done correctly.

The branded IMAX products are also far better than this. These feel like cheap imitations.

Save your money, and look elsewhere for 3D material. Under these waters swims nothing but sharp and bitter disappointments.
1111 comments| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2014
These discs have received many negative reviews and I have to agree with some of the comments, particularly the truly awful commentary! However, I think that many of the comments about the video quality is unfounded. Underwater is a hostile environment and poses a range problems for video photography. The water is not always crystal clear, the lighting is generally outwith the control of the photographers, cameras have to handheld and the subjects are wild animals and not subject to direction. Given the nature of the subjects covered the standard of photography on these discs is generally of a very high standard. These videos were originally produced for 3D IMAX screening and benefit from viewing on a big screen. The 3D effect is very subtle and natural and adds a great deal to the viewing experience. It is NOT overblown and gimmicky as you find on many releases. These are wildlife documentaries and do not require gimmicks. They are NOT intended to be 3D demo discs. If you want demo quality, spectacular 3D effects, look elsewhere. At their present price they are something of a bargain, but be aware of exactly what are buying and you will not be disappointed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 December 2012
I was expecting a good 3D effect, as a friend of mine had shown it on his tv and the effects were excellent, I was thinking maybe this is a counterfeit as the quality is so poor, nothing wrong with my tv a Panasonic plasma 3D tv. Avatar etc, very very good..
11 comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 July 2012
Well I must disagree with a lot of reviewers here, who think this compilation is boring and lacks photographic highs. I enjoyed watching "Whales & Dolphins" immensly, the 3D photography is superb, especially when examining the manatee. The depth is outstanding when the great beasts swim by the camera, the same is true when viewing the whales. Only thing that I didn't like (although I warmed to it slightly by the end of the documentary) was Daryl Hannahs voice over. The photographic work here certainly rivals that of the BBC. pity Daryl's naration is flat and rote.... but there is always the mute buttom!
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2013
If anyone rates this film as good regarding the 3D aspect must be watching on a tiny TV set?
The 3D effect is way too strong. my TV is a 50 inch full HD active system and I view from about 10 feet(about 3 metres) I don't have problems with any other 3D films.
It is my opinion that the film was made with the 3D cameras (stereo pair) too far apart, maybe for IMAX where the viewing distance is greater - and then the film is cropped for home viewing?
The distance between normal human eyes is about 2 1/2 inches (6 cm) and we accept a certain amount of squint when an object moves closer to our face, I would suggest that the two cameras used to film these movies where about 12 inches or more apart? meaning that if an object - maybe a small fish where to swim too close to the camera-the effect is too strong for the human eye/brain to accept!!
I have formed the opinion that if this where the film you took to the store to test the 3D system before you buy you may very well not bother-due to unacceptable eye strain!!
I have to say that the movie is ok overall - as I can turn the 3D effect off, but that leaves me with the somewhat childish narration,(maybe written for kids) but that is the script writers fault -not the person speaking(I hope?)
I am aware that this review will cause some backlash from the seller or high star rating reviewers but some people are easy to please-sorry.....
22 comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2011
Compared to the BBC's efforts, especially Attenborough's "Blue Planet" series (not yet on Blu-Ray) the photography was generally disappointing. 3-D moments are usually with harmless schools of fish swimming closer to the camera than the main subject, suggesting several things relating to the abilities, techniques and daring of the film crew. Lighting and choice of waterscape often uninteresting, again suggesting a catch as catch can approach rather than the far superior
standards of BBC film crews. Despite these disappointments the films clearly hint at the potential for underwater 3-D photography, something I feel deserves support and encouragement. Let's hope 3-D nature films rise to the occasion.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2014
1.SHARKS 3D .... there is 3D but is no good quality of 3D. My rate for the 3D picture of this is 0 stars

2.Dolphins&Whales ... there is 3D which is no good quality of 3D .My rate for the 3D picture of this is 0 stars

3.Ocean Wonderland 3D .. it is of good 3D quality ...my rate for the 3d picture of this is 4 stars
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2012
If you already got a taste of BBC nature documentaries with David Attenborough (such as Life, Planet Earth, Frozen Planet, ...), this 3-disc set will be a great disappointment.

Each disc contains a rather short (about 50 min) episode. There is actually very little information on the creatures, the narration is boring (perhaps meant for children or very young audience), the image quality is nothing to write home about either (yes - despite being advertised as IMAX movie - but again, try to watch this blu-ray after you've seen Life and you will understand).

Given the price, it may serve as a cheap test of one's 3D equipment - but if you are interested in nature, do yourself a favor - pick some other documentary.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2015
The dialogue or commentary is a bit stiff, not as good as I remember his Dad's being.
The lack of conservation can be shocking, but then it has to be put into a time context and we could overlook it.
Some animal death scenes.
Overall, the 3D, although not great, makes it a more interesting watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2014
as the header sez only one of the disc showed a decent 3d effect, which was the ocean wonderland one,
the dolphin and whales one was just a diagram of each fish followed by a short clip of each with little or no 3d effects
the sharks one's content was a little better but neither one was worth putting the 3d glasses on for
would not recommend it at all
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse