Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars162
4.5 out of 5 stars
Price:£32.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 February 2013
This is a nice keyboard that does all that you could wish but beware because you will almost certainly need the AC Adaptor which sells separately!
0Comment39 of 41 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2014
This review is based on the premiss that I wanted to buy a simple good quality and solid keyboard for a very young child rather than a branded toy keyboard such as a Micky Mouse keyboard. At the time my son was one and a half years old, now he is nearly three and the keyboard continues to work perfectly, this despite some pretty "heavy" key board soloing and abuse that even Keith Emerson would wince at. As far as it's musical functionality is concerned it has everything a beginner needs, far more than the aforementioned toys, and the tonality is excellent. Some reviewers have pointed out it does not come with a mains power pack, I have just used rechargeable batteries and they seem to last quite well. So, what's not to like? Nothing really.....in summary a durable and excellent product at a great price from a trusted brand.
0Comment34 of 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2011
I am very pleased with this keyboard and consider it exceptional value for money. It is of high build quality, performs extremely well and has a wide range of functions. I would readily purchase another in the future.
0Comment26 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2013
Just what I wanted, good tone and I can pick out music I am trying to learn for choir. Pity they don't include the mains lead.
0Comment21 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2012
Excellent value for the money. I bought it for my daughter's birthday. For a few pounds more I've got musical instrument not only a toy. I had similar keyboard from Casio as a child. Nowadays they significantly improved them with natural tones of the instruments, clear sounds and 8 tones polyphony. Very good selection of embedded songs and patterns. I hope this keyboard will be not only for a fun but our kids will start the first piano lessons on it.
0Comment46 of 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2014
a great mini keyboard, well made with good sounds, one of the best buys, the quality of the keyboard was as from Casio always good
0Comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 November 2015
Whenever I take my Tyros5 to bed, it takes up so much space that there is no room left for me and I have to sleep on the floor. However with the Casio SA-46 keyboard I have full access to the land of Counterpane while the keyboard sits discreetly upon my lap like a well-trained poodle. For this I give the Casio SA-46 five stars and the Tyros5 only one. As further comparisons would be unfair, I will put the Tyros to one side.

The Casio SA-46 is an inexpensive Mini Keyboard that is one step above being a toy, it is well made and moderately robust, it costs about the same as a family size Chinese takeaway. And if you like those “Bee in a tin can” sounds, the Casio has lots of them, this is the keyboard for you! The rhythm section is mainly drum beats which you can speed up or slow down using the two tempo buttons. Casio make a larger version of this keyboard, it has extra keys and is longer. But is it worth the extra cash? The SA-46 has two and a half octaves, starting at ‘F’ below middle ‘C’ and going up to the second ‘C’ above, a total of 32 keys. The SA-78 has three and a half octaves, starting at ‘F’ below middle ‘C’ and going up to the third ‘C’ above, a total of 44 keys. It also has a larger screen showing the notes played and a metronome icon. Don’t be fooled by the metronome icon, the tempo is set from “1 to 16”, but “1 to 16” what? It does not tell you the beats per minute, so it’s only guesswork. Beginner keyboard books usually stay within the two and a half octave range of the smaller SA-46. So buying the smaller keyboard and using the money saved to buy a quartz metronome may be the better option, if you have need of a metronome that is.

The keyboard is battery operated and also has an input for an OPTIONAL adaptor. I write optional in capitals as some people buy this keyboard and then moan “It’s got no adaptor!” I say to you “Read the information carefully, especially where it says ‘ADAPTOR OPTIONAL’ before you buy the keyboard, and if you do, make sure you have batteries to hand for when the keyboard arrives.” While on the subject of adaptors, do not buy a 9 volt adaptor that is advertised for a Casio keyboard, it will cost you more than if you buy a UNIVERSAL adaptor that can be set to various voltages and comes with a selection of plugs, it can be used for many electrical items including other keyboards that require different voltages and centre pin polarity. I bought this one: Connect-It ES1340 Universal Adapter 600ma with USB.

Should you have need to tune the keyboard, the facility is there. You just press the TONE and PATTERN buttons together. They are marked ‘Tune’ in case you forget. You can tune the keyboard a semitone going up or a semitone going down using the + & - buttons. It takes Ninety-nine button presses either way, there is no “Press and hold” function. If you have mistakenly gone the wrong way don’t panic, it’s not 198 button presses back, just switch the keyboard off and on and it resets to zero. The big bright coloured button toggles between the piano and organ sound.

There is no stand for this keyboard, but if your child is a toddler and mostly sits on the floor to play, then just get a plastic step stool (they cost about a fiver) and put the keyboard on that. The great thing with step stools is they are stackable, so as your child grows you just have to add an extra step stool. And by the time your child is eighteen you will not only have a fantastic Keyboard Hero in the family, but a great collection of step stools. There are five drum pads on this keyboard with the drum type shown below each button. Pressing each button from left to right they sound like this: Bump, Bup, Tick, Dump and Plonk. There are also five more drum sounds under the percussion section using the keys. And you also get some really useful sounds of a Bird, Telephone, Helicopter, Train, Laser Gun, Gunshot and Seashore. There is also a mini stereo jack socket for headphones at the back of the keyboard, the keyboard is, in spite of having two speakers, mono only. So by having a stereo jack socket, your stereo headphones will work on both sides in mono instead of the left side only. Of course you can also use this headphone output to feed a stereo keyboard amplifier like the Roland KC-110, it works a treat. But before you rush off to a Roland dealer to buy one, check with your Granny first, she may have one tucked away in her wardrobe. If not, then it’s going cost you in excess of £300. Joking aside, you can connect this keyboard to anything that has an AUX IN socket, be it Radio, Hi-Fi or Amplifier, which can have several inputs using different types of plugs. All you need is a cable with the correct plugs at either end.

Do not bother to buy a bag or cover, the cost is more than the keyboard is worth. If your child shows ability you will need to buy a bigger keyboard. On the other hand if the child loses interest, then what need of a bag or cover? Finally this keyboard comes with a two year warranty which is great or is it? If it requires attention, guess who pays the postage? And postal charges today can be quite high, it may be the better option is to kick the keyboard into touch, miss out on a family size Chinese takeaway and buy another keyboard. The good news is keyboards are pretty tough when it comes to longevity otherwise eBay would not be making so much dosh from their auctions of thirty year old keyboards which are always in pristine condition and only used once, if you’re daft enough to believe the seller. If you want to consider other mini keyboards that are more than just a toy, then look at the Bontempi models GT740, GT790 or the Korg Microarranger, but have the smelling salts handy for when you see the Korg’s price. So there you have it, the choice is yours…
22 comments5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2013
Perfect size, not too big, but has lots of programmes installed, which are easy to access.
Only down side blacak keys can fall off and once that happens they cannot be put back
0Comment12 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2015
This item has gone down a storm in our house. Initially there is great fun to be had with the 100 different sound effects and the settings. Then when it came to learning tunes the preprogrammed songs were well chosen and manageable for a child of six-seven. The special effects keys encouraged experimentation after the songs had been learned. Now try it with train noises, now do it with whistles...and so on. The keyboard has just enough octaves for that age group and I can see that it is keeping the love of playing alive. I'm sure we'll be upgrading eventually. The price point worked for us as it was an amount that the child was able to save up on her own. The option to use headphones means that older siblings can borrow it and play privately.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2014
I bought it to incorporate in a collecting box which I made for our church organ restoration fund and it caused quite a sensation. If anyone wants a picture from me of the finished result, perhaps Amazon could help. The keyboard has really excellent tones for piano and organ, and you can play a full double handful of chords. It is great fun for everyone, but also useful as a tool for serious musicians. You MUST buy the adaptor for mains use; otherwise it will be expensive to run on the AA batteries alone. This is a real quality product as you always expect from Casio. I think it is wonderful !!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 32 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.