Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars72
4.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£32.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

I've never used a deep fat fryer before. So this is all new to me after 43 years! My Sister bought me this for my birthday as I love my belly!

It's not exactly silver as stated but a very light grey in colour (see my uploaded pictures!). The fryer body is made from plastic and it isn't heavy to lift at all. It comes with rubber feet so it doesn't move on the kitchen worktop if knocked accidently. It has a safety lid which locks down well and can only be opened by pressing a button. The lid is vented for steam and has a filter built into it and can also be removed for cleaning. There is also a small icondensation collection drawer at the back which will need to be emptied out every other use. The non stick well that you fry your food in has a minimum and maximum oil level mark inside it on the right wall. I use two bottles of oil to bring the level between these two marks, so just under two litres! The basket is deceiving in it's size I would say. I can fit a lot more chips, fish, chicken in there than at first thought! Definitely enough for two northerners and three southerners but no more :)

The basket is well made and feels sturdy enough when transferring food out. The fryer has a simple temperature control dial that goes from 130 to 190 degrees C. There is a diagramatic quick reference guide down the side of the front recommending at what temperatures to cook the most commonly fried food. On the front is a power on light and a green light that when on, shows that the oil is heating up and this light goes off once its upto temp. It only takes a few mins to get to 190, so It's pretty quick! There is no cord storage at all on this fryer in my opinion. It comes with the cord bound by a wire tie as most electrical appliances do. In use there is a lot of steam produced by the fryer which does come out from where the lid forms a seal with the body. It does say cool wall body but it does get hot and of course the lid gets very hot indeed so common sense would say do not under any circumstances leave unattended or let children anywhere near this!! I've cooked chips (of course), fish and chicken to date with cracking results! I'm going to check my library of unused cookbooks out for some ideas!

So, as long as you keep safety in mind this is a great device.

Now to work out the colonel's secret recipie. . .
review image review image
0Comment46 of 47 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2010
Its OK for the money. Suitable for a two person meal and no more.
It is actually grey colour and by no stretch of the imagination silver. Despite the cool wall outer it does get hot on the outside. Certainly enough to give you a surprise. It feels fairly flimsy but so far its all holding together and works very efficiently. Fill it with good quality oil , anything else will leave your kitchen smelling .There is no timer , but that is no problem as this is not the sort of appliance anyone in their right mind would leave unattended.
0Comment33 of 34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2013
A very good fryer for very little cost. Cooks food fast, looks better than in the picture and it has proved reliable. Very easy to clean.
0Comment11 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 December 2011
This deep fat fryer is excellent for making homemade chips. It is very quick and safe. Also easy to clean after use. Only downside is that there is no storage area for the cable. Would definitely recommend it though.
0Comment18 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2013
Over the last 30 or more years my wife and I have had about 10 fryers. Some lasted a couple of years, others a lot longer but my last one was becoming impossible to clean so my wife decided to buy one of these - not from Amazon I should stress but from Tesco where it cost quite a bit more.

It has the same 2 Litre oil capacity as the last one but holds a lot less food - just about enough chips for 2 people. As other reviewers have mentioned it has no rubber seal on the lid which makes it easier to clean, but coupled with the fact that it is secured by only one catch (previous had 2) it leaks all over the place and particularly around the handle when it is anything other than lightly loaded. In fact it is so bad that there is never any moisture in the little tray in the back as it all leaks out. As far as I am concerned there are two main reasons for buying a fryer - it won't overheat and catch fire if left unattended and it won't fill the kitchen with oily steam and smells. Well it certainly fails the last test in a big way.

As others have remarked it is not very "cool wall" and today the flimsy handle for the lid disintegrated after only around 3 months and about a score or so uses. I have had one or two where the design left something to be desired, but as a Graduate Engineer I have to say this is an appalling design, and I was lucky not to have hot oil splashed all over me when the handle broke and the loaded basket fell back into the pan. One final point, the thermostat reads at least 5C low so at 170 it is nearer 180.

All in all a disaster and I would have rated it "no stars" if I could. Unless I got a bad one, I can only think the people who like it only do chips for one, and then not very often.

Peter
11 comment27 of 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2013
bought this as its a good make, but its really cheaply made and steam comes out from all around the lid! not impressed at all!!!
11 comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2011
I am really impressed with this deep fryer, it seems really well made and cooks perfectly. Very good value for money. Would certainly recommend.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2015
Used this several times now and what a dangerous item it can be. When lowering the basket in to the boiling oil you MUST LOWER BIT BY BIT MUCH SLOWER THAN NORMAL as the oil bubbles up and if you do not lift the basket quickly boiling oil floods out of the top down the sides and over the work surface. Having the lid closed is not a sensible thing as oil and steam make it almost impossible to see whats going on in the pan through the window, and before you say anything YES I have used several chip pans before and did not have this problem. This is an accident waiting to happen. I now have to clean the entire pan as the outside is covered in chip oil as well as the front, top of work surfaces and the floor where it dripped. Try cleaning boiling oil up it does make the hands rather hot. Would NEVER touch this style of pan again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
Suitable size for two portions. Fair price. Lack of an adequate seal between lid body lets most of the steam into the air, bypassing the filter, it also allows oil spillage if not moved with care.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
I have owned this fryer for about 8 months now, Yes it does great chips but there is no rubber to seal the lid, not only do the cooking smells escape so does red hot sream and when it gets older it gets worse. the hot steam puddles then dribbles down the side of the fryer so you get a nice puddle of greasy steam on your work top Great!!
I have owned many fryers over the years and this has never happened with any of them.
VERY MESSY AND A BIT DANGEROUS. DON'T BUY!!
Get something better instead I'M going to.
0Comment11 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.