Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars10
4.6 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on 5 September 2010
This Edsel compilation is nothing short of fantastic. Every Jason Donovan mix and rarity from the time is available on this and the album's successor, 1990's 'Between The Lines'. The packaging is lovely featuring lyrics, picture sleeves and an excellent essay to boot. It's a nigh on perfect release and of course is remastered so it sounds great too.

Have to admit, though, as I was coming to the end of Disc 2, I became a little Jasoned out! How many of these remixes I'll play again is open to debate, but they are there, that's the thing.

Congratulations to Edsel, who did such a good job on the recent Rick Astley albums, for this great product at such a decent price.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 14 January 2011
Once again EDSEL open the pandora box and made a great deluxe edition of this classic album from the late 80's
a must have for all the PWL sound fans.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 5 November 2011
being a huge fan back in the day,i thought i would buy this collection for a trip down memory lane.making hit music is what S/A/W did so well for nearly a decade,and this cd is no exception.featured are the b sides to all his top 5 singles from the album,as well as the 12" remixes.though a few get a bit boring after a while,most are classic donovan may have lost his way in life,but this album shows why he was pop royalty back,take a trip down memory lane and buy a copy to replace your vinyl/casette...and before long,you'll be singing away to "too many broken hearts,"everyday"and,of course,"especially for you" wishing you were kylie!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 20 September 2010
It was with a little trepidation when I saw this re-issue was under Edsel records. The Rick Astley re-issues sounded ok but not out of this world. Therefore, i was certainly amazed when I heard this CD and Between The Lines and was blown away by its sound quality. The sound was clear, crisp and had much more punch.

Nothing more can be said about the quality of the songs here. It was a # 1 album after all. Even the non-single tracks are good, i.e. You Can Depend on Me, Question of Pride, etc.

If you are a SAW fan, you'll love this. All the remixes, extended version, instrumentals are here. This is how a re-issue should be done - other record companies should take note.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 13 June 2014
Typical of many modern remastering, this Deluxe Edition suffers from a limited dynamic range. A letdown, considering the clear, crisp audio can be made even more appealing if only Tom Parker (the mastering engineer) chose to combine the superiority of modern transfer & mastering equipment while retaining the wide dynamic range that's prevalent in late 1980s recording.

The limited dynamic range is also evident in the other Tom Parker mastered PWL reissues, including the Japan-market Kylie Minogue's debut CD, and also Enjoy Yourself, released in 2012.

The original 1980s Enjoy Yourself CD may sound softer when played at the same volume, but when listened at a higher volume, the wider & more natural dynamic range makes listening more enjoyable. Bass sounds punchier, deeper & more natural, despite the overall audio quality lacks the crispness & clarity of modern remasters.

I hope that Tom Parker & other current mastering engineers would consider remastering future titles while retaining the dynamic range of the original master tapes.

It's a pity that many excellent modern reissues such as this comprehensive Deluxe Edition is marred by the loudness war.

Comparatively, the Rick Astley's Deluxe Edition of Whenever You Need Somebody, and Hold Me In Your Arms has a better dynamic range, mastered by a different engineer, Phil Kinrade.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2014
This is Stock, Aitken, and Waterman at the very height of their powers. This release contains plenty of extended versions, instrumentals, and remixes, although not all the hits have them. My highlights are the key-changing intro to the extended mix of Too Many Broken Hearts, and the instrumental of Nothing Can Divide Us.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 27 August 2012
This review is for: Ten Good Reasons (Deluxe 2CD Edition)
The original issue of this album was 11 tracks, so here we get an incredible 26 bonus tracks! To be able to track down all the released mixes on CD singles would cost a fortune now and many of these bonus tracks were issued on vinyl only or were previously unreleased tracks anyway. So to be able to get all of this in a comprehensive collection deserves five stars. Usually I find something missing or something to gripe about, because I'm thorough and just a bit fussy. True to form I did find something, the Party Hardy mix of "Too Many Broken Hearts" is not here. This is most likely to be because it includes a snippet of Pat & Mick's "I Haven't Stopped Dancing Yet" in the middle and would sound very out of place here (I would have left it off too). It has since been released on the limited edition 3CD edition of "Pete Waterman presents The Hit Factory" Pete Waterman Presents The Hit Factory and fits much better on a various artist compilation, so that was the right decision. What we actually have here is every possible mix you can think of from this album and is therefore an archive of everything, rather than a double CD you would listen to from start to finish. The mastering is superb and one thing that was particularly pleasing was to see that "I Guess She Never Loved Me" (the B-Side to "Every Day") is complete. On the CD single of "Every Day" the intro is clipped. It is that attention to detail I appreciate greatly. I thoroughly recommend this, because it shows Stock Aitken Waterman and the team at PWL (who were extremely important to the success of S/A/W) when they were at their most creative. Jason's vocals sound so good on this album and we are so used to him as a singer, it's easy to forget before this he was a TV soap star in "Neighbours" (his character Scott being the inspiration for "Nothing Can Divide Us (Great Scott, It's The Remix)". The transition to pop star seemed to fit him like a glove. I can also recommend Between The Lines (Deluxe 2CD Edition). Both these reissues are superb. Many thanks to Edsel and Tom Parker for putting these together. I really appreciate it and I'm sure many other PWL fans and Jason fans do also.

By the way, I have also reviewed: Between The Lines (Deluxe 2CD Edition)
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2014
Absolutely great cd and a lovely set of songs by a great singer a most for everyone who enjoys good music
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2014
I bought this cd for my Daughter , she gave it 10 out of 10 . She will recomend it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 26 October 2010
Takes me back to my youth. Excellent to here all of the 12"'s again !!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Between The Lines (Deluxe 2CD Edition)
Between The Lines (Deluxe 2CD Edition) by Jason Donovan (Audio CD - 2010)

Ten Good Reasons
Ten Good Reasons by Jason Donovan (Audio CD - 1989)

Greatest Hits
Greatest Hits by Jason Donovan (Audio CD - 2006)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.