Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars28
4.3 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 February 2013
Unfortunately for the previous reveiwer, his model was incomplete but I'm sure Airfix would be happy to fix the situation.

Like other recent Airfix new tooling kits, this is accurate in appearance, easily assembled, much cheaper than the competition and has good detail. It's a very good kit, especially for the modest damage to the wallet. It's as good as the Tamiya but much cheaper.

There is one decal option, for the well known DW-K, but there are many more decals available from specialist hobby shops. NB Be careful when purchasing as the older Aifrix Mk 1a is still around; although it is a nice kit this new issue is a great improvement.

Highly recommended.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2013
A beautifully rendered model, head and shoulders better than previous offerings of the 1/72 Spitfire from Airfix.

A highly detailed cockpit that cannot be appreciated once the model is completed (especially if the pilot is seated therein).

A special mention to be made is that the parts are secure on the spruce and need to be carefully cut off, but with a sharp modeller's knife the task is easy and once off the pieces go together really well.

There is very little spew so the new tooling works well.

In conclusion, this is a very easy but rewarding build.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 December 2015
This was a christmas present from my daughter. The engraving on the kit is top notch showing the flaps, air intake, cartridge disposal et al. Really simple to make (done and painted in a day) but well-designed to the level of a much more expensive kit. The only slight downer is all the detail going into the cockpit which is then all covered over, but take a few pictures of it and you have something to remember it by. Really impressive model.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2014
A new tooled kit from Airfix, and what a kit it is.

A new cockpit set up with great detail, new surface detail with engraved panel lines, better detailed landing gear and even and updated Cartograh decal sheet. I have yet to build her but from reports from other builders the parts fit is out of this world.

Thanks to Airfix for a super new kit!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2014
Decals and interior are very nice, but even for a 1:72 scale, the plastic brackets have so much detail!!
it's a very good kit and besides, you can never have too many spitfires!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 October 2014
Airfix have produced an excellent product here. The cockpit detail is awesome. Panel details also good. Had some minor trimming to get the pilot to fit. All told excellent.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 September 2015
I had an old Frog model of this plane. The model wasn't as good but the under carriage was retractable which pleased me greatly as a small boy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2013
I loved putting it together with my 6yr old nephew who I bought it for.With any luck it'll make him carry on building.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2013
Really enjoyed building this kit, gave me something to keep me occupied over the cold weather. Its looking quite good.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2014
Great little model easy to put together. Painting wise colour 56 is not shown on box only on the plans.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.