Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars50
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£9.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 24 September 2005
This is one my all time favourite films. I come back to it whenever I need cheering up. Wonderful witty script with no weak scenes, beautiful characterisation, enjoyable story. Our teenage sons also love it, it's a film all the family can enjoy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 22 July 2010
So pleased to at last have a DVD version of a very old favourite from the 80s. My video player is long gone and it never seems to be on TV.But now I can ,any wet Sunday, curl up on the sofa with a plate of linguine and feel happy to be alive. Even if you lose your wallet you will enjoy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 5 June 2006
What a completely disarmingly brilliant film. Just when you expect a lightweight rom-com along comes a delightfully witty masterpiece with real heart, great acting and wonderful dialogue. OK, it's a coming-of-age, feel-good, boy-meets-girl, college drama but it avoids most of the usual cliches and leaves some great lines and scenes indellibly etched on your memory. The plot - a quartet of old school chums (none academically gifted) have left school and are pondering their future - the prospects are stark - either university or stone masonry - as "Cutters" in the single local industry. Hero Dave is drifting and, inspired by the Italian Champion cycling team, dreams about becoming a world cycling champion when he bumps into a lovely college girl. His efforts to court the girl lead eventually to a mismatched cycling contest - the Cutters against The College Brats. Along the way we follow the trials and tribulations of the four friends and find out how their future plans will cause their paths to diverge. We've all been there, leaving school, college, job etc - it's an emotionally charged time and this film captures the poignancy really well. There are some excellent comic conflicts between Dave and his well meaning but bewildered parents - excellent acting by all concerned. So, yes, it is another story about growing up and the loss of innocence but it'll have you at the edge of your seat laughing, cheering, feeling self-righteous indignation, embarrassment and the kind of bittersweet feeling in the stomach that only lovesickness or a really good film/book can give you. Enjoy again and again.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 4 February 2011
I saw the this film when I was briefly visiting Los Angeles, it was given a try at a local cinema and we all stood up and applauded at the end...being English and back in '79 that on its own was first. I loved this film and everyone should see it at least once!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 1 September 2013
Picked up on this in a nostalgic review in the guardian (Xan Brooks). Absolutely amazing, and deserves a far wider viewership than I suspect it has. I'm almost tempted to go on a pilgrimage to the quarry lake....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 29 August 2015
A little delicious film that has been missing over the years, but represent a unique ironic and lighthearted, yet not stupid, comedy about growing up, only from the original point of view if small town guys who are passionate for Italy and cyclism. What comes out is a freestyle comedy, which seem half improvised half classic, with some great racing scenes and a lovely mood, brilliant and funny dialogues, and a pn overall affection for this whole environment, although the film also talks about teenagers frustration in a small town and class differences that often condition who we are and how we live and look at the future. A film that has all the right pieces in the right places. From a versatile and impirtant Seventies director specialized in crime movies (Bullit, Friends of Eddy Coyle, Robbery) who proves to be as good also in comedies.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
25 of 30 people found the following review helpful
HALL OF FAMEon 6 January 2006
I have a particular affinity for this film, as it is set in the town where I lived for a long time - Bloomington, Indiana. Most people in Bloomington are basketball crazy; apart from this, perhaps the second most popular sport is bicycling, culminating at the end of the school year with the Little 500 bicycle race on campus (a bicycle version of the internationally-known Indianapolis 500 motor race, just 50 miles north). This is primary a campus event, with fraternities and a few other organisations fielding teams; there are also community teams, and always at least one team with the name 'cutter'.
The film is a piece of fiction not just in its plot but also in the details, but it is a good story. The primary character is Dave Stoller (played by Dennis Christoper), a recent high school graduate who isn't sure what to do with the rest of his life. He and his three friends Mike (a very young Dennis Quaid), Cyril (Daniel Stern) and Moocher (Jackie Earle Haley) had made a high school pact to 'waste their lives together' hanging out in the comfortable, small-town atmosphere of Bloomington. However, half the town is university, with all the ambitious, young people that such institutions bring. Dave is son of Raymond (Paul Dooley) and Evelyn (Barbara Barrie), a typical middle class working couple. Raymond makes his living as a used-car salesman, largely taking advantage of the supposedly-smarter college kids. Barbara is trying to put some romance back into their lives.
In his boredom, Dave becomes obsessed with two things - Italian culture and bicycle racing. He calls his father and mother 'papa' and 'mama', plays Italian opera (Caruso, etc.) endlessly, persuades his mother to add Italian cuisine to the home cooking; Dave's friends put up with him, as they have their own small struggles to deal with - Mike, in entering a stage in life where he's no longer the star quarterback of the school; Cyril, who can only think of the next way to disappoint his father (who delights in being understanding); and Moocher, unemployed and unambitious, but falling in love and planning to get married. The spend their time in a sort of dazed and confused state, without too much confusion due to lack of stimulation.
Dave realises there is more to life than hanging out on the downtown square in Bloomington. He begins impersonating an Italian exchange student, falls for a co-ed named Katherine (played by Robyn Douglass), and the juxtaposition of town and gown is set - Katherine is the girlfriend of a swim-team member, and Dave with his three friends have a confrontation with them on campus that leads the president of the university to step in, marking as the field of combat the hallowed bicycle race, the Little 500.
Dave, in his drive to be the Italian exchange student, has taken to idolising the soon-to-be-visiting Italian bicycle team of Cinzano, and become a great cyclist himself. Disappointed by the poor sportsmanship of that race, Dave is ready to give up racing, until his father Raymond, who had always been against his son's starry-eyed ambitions, sees the spark go out of Dave's life, and encourages him to join his friends in the newly-formed Cutter team, and run the race at the college.
The word 'cutter' is a derogatory term the college kids used to describe the townsfolk. Bloomington is situated in the midst of a huge natural deposit of limestone, some of which has been used in construction of buildings all over the world, including bridges in London, the Empire State Building, and massive public works projects in Asia. The college kids (the 'gown') look down on the cutters (the 'town'), and are intent on not letting them steal the victory in the race. The epic battle is set.
There were cameos in the film, including the then -actual president of the university, John Ryan. Extras for town and college scenes were hired from Bloomington, a few of whom I know and enjoy seeing again in their 25-year-old glory (one such person, Jennifer Mikel, sang at the wedding of a friend not too long ago). Those who know the geography of Bloomington watch the film and delight in editing that causes geographic problems - turning the corner on a bicycle and going down a street that is not connected to the one before; riding or driving down streets the wrong way on one-way streets. Most especially, they delight in seeing the town and university as it was. Much has changed in the 25 years since this film was made, and yet, much is the same.
The term 'cutter' didn't really come into use until this film - it was more or less invented for the story in this film. As Dave's father Raymond tells Dave at one point, Dave is not a cutter. Raymond was a cutter - he cut limetone in the quarries, but those days are gone. The campus is built of limestone, and it is time now for Dave take advantage of those buildings.
In the end, the hero does not get the girl, but does get a life, in a victory that goes beyond what any race could bring. (Dave wins some and he loses some; you'll have to see it for yourself to find out how this plays out, so I won't spoil it for you).
The film stands the test of time fairly well - the comedy and the drama still rings true.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 September 2015
I have a real soft spot for this film. Set in Bloomington Indiana, it focusses on four childhood friends, now aged nineteen who are contemplating what happens next after an aimless year off. There's not too much going on for them in their small town. The industry it was originally based on - quarrying and stone-cutting which occupied their fathers' generation is all but over. The rain filled quarries that remain are great places to swim and dive but job-wise, its all service industries dependent on the transient college population, with whom there are frequent outbursts of violent rivalry.

Against this background the main character, Dave has a foot in both camps, as he remains loyal to his old friends but tries to win over a college girl. His main obsession though, is cycling and pretending to be Italian like his heroes on the Cinzano cycling team. There are great scenes following him on his racer, accompanied by Italian classical music, that capture his youthful exuberance. He is set in opposition to his dad, a father of the shirt and tie wearing old school, who worries that his son lacks a work ethic and enjoys arty-farty past times when he should be working and miserable at his age.

All of this could easily have led to a cheesy poor v rich kids with unsympathetic parents, tale but it is a well rounded story with charm and pathos. Even if you have seen before, it's a film that is easy to watch again. If you haven't already treat yourself.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
An almost perfect film in my opinion. The story centres on a cycle race at a US University, and the efforts of our hero (a townie) and his chums to win it and the girl (a student) to boot. Lots of laugh out loud moments in a non-gross American Pie sort of a way, a witty script, great characterisation and lots of cycling, too - though it pains me to watch the finale taking place on a cinder running track - couldn't they have found a velodrome somewhere?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 August 2009
As a keen cyclist I'd heard of this a while back and was recently given it by a friend. There is something categorically naff about cycle films - something about the huffing and puffing and close-ups of faces of steely resolve and the panning shots of "our hero" during a race passing other cyclists who don't seem to be trying all that hard - and there is much of that in here, but it's fair to say that its charm ends up winning you over. The portrait of small town America in the 70s is acutely drawn (though with a nicely amateurish tone) and the characters are likeable and oddly believable by the time you reach the end.

This may sound like a very weird analogy but there's also something a tiny bit Star Wars about it - as much about the aesthetics as anything else I guess, but also it's portrait of a young disaffected man living in a smalltown who dreams of a wider world out there. Also there's something a little Mark Hammill in Dennis Christopher's performance.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
The Flying Scotsman [DVD]
The Flying Scotsman [DVD] by Jonny Lee Miller (DVD - 2007)


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.