Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.4 out of 5 stars23
3.4 out of 5 stars
Price:£7.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 December 2011
This is no more than 10 minute snatches of info strung together in a patronising & tedious way, it is not educational as it is mostly urban generalisation, some urban myth and just scratching the surface of the historical facts. There is nothing new on this set, anyone who is so grossly ignorant of WW11 to find this informative or educational really needs help. There is no real research, no referencing of material just the same old stuff trotted out with the normal american slant to it. Very amateur production too. Nice box but not worth the price of the set really, suggest the best use for these discs is as bird scarers in the garden.
0Comment34 of 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2011
I agree with the previous reviewer ... the best bit of this purchase is the box. It is superbly crafted with a distressed look; appears as if a genuine 1940s piece (retro at its best and could fetch good money on 'Bargain Hunt')! However, the content (the DVDs) is simply a montage made up of amateur offerings from History Channel shows; there's nothing original or specific here. Mind you, without any hint of embarrassment and in true American in-your-face so-what style, there is no attempt at a cover-up! My recommendation is to do what I did - discard the DVDs (I gave mine to the local charity shop) and place your better Hitler memorabilia in the exceptional case (which is worth the money on its own).
0Comment34 of 36 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2013
Not impressed at all, it seemed fragmented and once again commentary rather than exciting. Could not follow the direction this DVD was taken me.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2011
The content of the documentary is very good and interesting. However, the break in the story every 10 minutes, and the slightly annoying American voice over saying 'join us after the break as we go in search of history', is slightly off putting. would still recomend this box set to anyone interested in WW2 etc.
0Comment20 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 January 2011
Over and over recycled material, without substance to the claim it contains in the synopsis.
If you want CGI graphics, bundled with latest historical science, material from the recent declassified Kreml archives, they are not in this package. Just very general "run of the mill" material, that historical interested viewers have seen before. And actually very little evidence about Stalin's atrocities,
I was hoping to find in this set.
To round it up: Nothing but Hype, and very little substance. Only the Package would look good in your Media Shelf.
The whole Documentary could have been put on one two sided disc. A big waist of resources.
11 comment24 of 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2010
The best thing about this set of documentaries is the box the 6 discs come in. Congratulations to the packaging / marketing team. The actual documentaries are far too superficial to be appreciated and they don't tell us anything we didn't hear about in high school except for the decoding of the silent films. A big waste of money.
0Comment23 of 29 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 April 2014
I could not believe each DVD has only 1 episode on it!! Also it is totally lacking in substance and any other TV documentary would be much better. In general I find avoiding anything by the History channel is good advice as they are overly American styled (lots of repeating the same content, and strange broken presentations as they have spots where breaks would have been in tv).
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2015
I found this set to be very thought provoking. I find Hitler an enigmatic figure. The choices he made. The path he took to get him where he ended up. Both politically and psychologically is fascinating. Many questions. Few answers. A worthy purchase.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2015
Every schoolchild should see this in early teens.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2016
Great seller will use again loved item
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse