Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars33
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£8.10+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 9 January 2002
When Rick Asley first came into my life i was obsessed,bought all his singles,then this album on vinyl,there was a free poster with it and i had it on my bedroom wall for years.I still have my vinyl but unfortunatley do not have a record player,so i will be buying this cd so i can have endless nights of pleasure listing to this hero of mine.If you loved Rick Astley buy this you will not regret it.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2010
Rick Astley's debut album was one of the finest of the PWL produced albums from the late 80's and I almost wore out my cassette copy back in the day!! This re-mastered re-issue is simply fan-tastic!!!!!!
The sound quality is phenomenal - no more will I have to listen to my vinyl rips cos at last ALL the 12" mixes are included as well as the original album on this 2 CD set. Have ordered the 2 Disc set of "Hold Me In Your Arms" already!
If you love all things S/A/W and want them in fantastic quality, get this before it goes out of print! I am positive these re-issues will be highly sought after in a few years to come! BRILLIANT!
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2001
Contains 4 of his 6 top ten hits. Even though songs like together forever sound very dated, songs like never gonna give you up, even today are still good to listen to. Couple these songs to rick's amazing voice and you get a 5 star album.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2010
Edsel Records and Sony/BMG have contributed to creating an ideal format for a reissue. They have strived to include all the remixes and extra tracks that go along with this CD. The sound quality is amazing and the layout is great. Also very meticulous liner notes and informative. Nothing about this reissue or Rick's other PWL CD "Hold Me In Your Arms" has been skimped on. Plus the price is so reasonable. I can only hope for more PWL reissues. What about the Och'i Brown album that has never been on CD ever.
44 comments6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2001
This is a great S/A/W produced album with top ten hits such as Together Forever and Never Gonna Give you up. While these two songs can be found on many SAW compilations as well as any 80's compilation, the rest of the album is brillant! The production is typical S/A/W fare, but you have to admit, their sound is very unique. Add that together with Rick's great voice and you have yourself a hit album!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2001
Young Englishman Rick turned into an overnight superstar with this album which contains the universal hits Never Gonna Give You Up, Together Forever, Whenever You Need Somebody and When I Fall In Love. It comes as no surprise that each of the 4 singles above has reached the #1 spot somewhere around the world. With slick production from Stock/Aitken/Waterman and Phil Harding/Ian Curnow, the PWL team turned the tables on everyone and came up with a multi-platinum album. The best thing about Rick is of course his voice. The roar of a lion coming from the depths of a human. The songs written and produced by SAW are superb and brilliant and it took Rick's vocal to make them superior. White kid singing Motown songs. Never Gonna Give You Up is in the running for the best pop song of all time. Rick contributes 4 of his own songs in this album but they don't have the crunch of the SAW songs but No More Looking For Love and The Love Has Gone are solid. It's a great album to have and the sleeve is cool including a small essay on Rick. Buy it or be square!
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2010
Fastastic!!!! Finally some of the remixes I love remastered and put out for us dj's. The liner notes are very informative as well. If you loved the original cd, you are going to FREAK for this!!!!
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2005
What can I say? I got this album on cassette when I was 10. I've played it so much it's worn out! Obviously all the hits, such as 'Never gonna give you up', 'Together Forever', 'Whenever you need somebody' and 'When I fall in love' are on it, but the tracks that were never released are pretty fantastic too. Strong man is one of my favourite tracks of all time. This is Stock, Aitken and Waterman, and some of Rick's own stuff, at their very best. If you buy this album you won't regret it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2010
Finally, a complete album with all complete versions of extension. A MUST FOR ALL RICK ASTLEY'S FANS !!!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2010
This album definitely placed Rick AStley on the pop chart map. This album apparently sold 15.2 million copies worldwide, according to his own official website. He had hits one after another just from this album. The additional tracks and remixes makes it a delightful package for any fan of the 80s out there, especially the rare and rather elusive mixes of 'When You Gonna'.

Thank you Edsel Records for reissuing Rick Astley's music.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.