Shop now Shop Now Shop now Shop Cyber Monday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Kids Edition Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars736
4.0 out of 5 stars
Price:£17.52+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

157 of 161 people found the following review helpful
on 26 March 2011
Outer - Strong padded envelope.
Inner - Standard cardboard box.
Good condition

Build Quality:-
Good quality hard plastic body.
Simple but effective mounting bracket.

We have had one of these lights in use since December 2008 and it is still going strong. We use it to light a dark alley between the house, the garage and a tall wooden gate. The light given is plenty to ensure that we don't step on a hedgehog or put our hands on a big furry spider when trying to unbolt the gate!

The solar panel simply sits on the flat garage roof. A matter of minutes to screw the bracket for the lamp and P.I.R. unit to the wall.

We have now obtained a second unit which is in use lighting the patio, not good for reading at night, but excellent for picking a safe route between the patio pots. One surprising thing, in 2008 it cost £24.46, now it's only £16.79.

Easy to setup, effective light when you don't want to blind your neighbours with a 500W Halogen lamp or would have a challenge to cable up a mains powered lamp.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
86 of 89 people found the following review helpful
on 3 May 2010
This solar light is so useful, it illuminates a large area and is really bright. The long cable between the panel and light allows for use in a north facing corner with the panel on the sunny side of the house.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
on 14 June 2012
Bought this item a few months back to light my front door/porch area. It does this adequately.
It is motion sensitive so helps me to find keys etc when dark.
It has a long enough cable to site the solar panel (which tilts and rotates) a fair distance from the light for
the best access to the suns rays to charge it.
I have just bought another for my shed.
I would not recommend this for too large an area as it doesn't give off
enough light.
However it is perfect to light small areas such as a porch or shed.
Update Feb 2013: still working even though the 2 I bought have not worked when there is little direct sunlight over the winter (which is to be expected I guess)
I found it best to switch them off to allow the little sunlight they got to recharge the batteries enough to work ok and they a 're working fine again now.
update Jan 2014 : both lights are still working fine. Considering the small amount of sunshine they have received, this is still impressive...
Update April 2015: these are still working well and have been since my last update :-)
66 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
on 2 December 2010
I am very pleased with this product.
Its a very bright light and the sensor is very responsive to movement.
A definate must for lighting your way within a shed or garage
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
80 of 86 people found the following review helpful
on 25 March 2011
The mains powered PIR light on the back of the house failed which meant going out to the bin at night or the garage required carrying a torch along with anything else. This solar light provides an adequate level of light for safe passage and saved calling out an electrician resulting in a hefty bill.

It comes with screws and rawlplugs for fixing both the light unit and solar panel into walls or woodwork. We mounted ours on the wall of the house about 3m up so that the sensor had a decent line of sight. The sensor is fixed but has a decent angle of coverage from its elevated position on the house.

I strongly advise anyone purchasing to make a paper template for use when drilling. There isn't one supplied but it is simple to do and saves a lot of messing about.

Tools needed are a no.6 masonry drill bit, a hammer drill, a hammer, phillips-head (cross head) screwdriver, a decent ladder (someone else to support the ladder for any great height).

For a tidy finish you will also need some cable clips for the solar panel wire. In total it took about an hour to install.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
45 of 48 people found the following review helpful
on 22 October 2010
Bought 1 of these last winter, and worked well for 1 week, as soon as it rained the PIR filled with water and the product failed to work again, I am very disappointed as it seems cheaply manufactured and is obviously not weatherproof.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 2 April 2012
I purchased this item for my back garden mainly because it was relatively cheap and most importantly, was solar powered as opposed to mains (which would require electrical certification to install and the costs with it). On opening the box, there was the light and PIR and a solar panel with 12v style extension lead and connector. In order to get maximum power, the solar panel needs mounting (via 3 screws and wall-plugs) as south facing as possible. The extension lead runs to around 3 metres which gives ample opportunity to mount the solar panel and light in a multitude of ways.

The battery powered light requires the solar panel to recharge it, so give it some sun, a day or two before use, and the light will work well, as long as it keeps recharging. Both the solar panel and light are on simple mounts and have swivel heads so can be positioned any way you like- very versatile.

My garden is small and I wanted a deterrent. Nothing more, nothing less. This does the job and does it well. The blue tinted light spread is quite focussed but after a day of charging the power is strong and consistent and the PIR works well.

If I wanted to light the garden up like a Christmas tree then I would have gone for the Evo36 but this version is more than up to the task. The light is not aggressive like my neighbour's 500W Halogen (which makes all our gardens part of a maximum security establishment) and is pleasing enough- in fact, all I need now is some additional feature lighting in the garden to complement the PIR!!

In summary, for under £20, with no wiring required and simple fixing instructions, this is a winner.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
VINE VOICEon 29 August 2012
These are *the* best value solar lights around.
They have a 15 LED lamp and sensor console, the LED lamps in a moveable array which attatches to the wall via a two screw clip, and a 10' wire leading to the solar panel, again on a gimbal meaning it can be mounted to and surface with three screws, and rotated to face the sun.
Direct light works best for these but they do charge on overcast days too, just don't mount the panel in deep shadow.
The lamp comes on via the sensor (it can be turned off via an easy switch underneath the round white sensor) and stays on for 25 seconds.
The lamps are instantly bright, give great coverage, lighting a 25' garden with enough light to see your way around, underneath the lamp is a much brighter focused beam, with a crisp white glow.
The sensor picks up movement at about 15' though sometimes more than his, and as the lamps are LED they use so little power that one good afternoon of sun has kept ours going for a month before now.
These really are great, the same model was sold at a certain upmarket dept store or £25 this month!
And at the price they are here you really can't go wrong :)
If you have dogs these are great to mount around the garden so you can keep track of where s/he has been as the light is sensitive enough I pick up a terrier or a cat!
And of course it's Eco friendly and long lasting. One of ours has been in use for three years now!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
on 3 October 2010
Unfortunately it is NOT waterproof (as the sensor area filled up with water & stopped working, I drained it by making a small hole), and has now completely died, only 3 months after fixing it up. It is not the solar panel or the batteries but the electrical elements within the light, as they are not protected from the water. Save your money and buy a different one.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
92 of 100 people found the following review helpful
on 17 January 2011
Wanted a basic solar powered light to attach to the outside of my garden shed which sits in splendid isolation at the bottom of a fairly long garden. Wanted one to enable me to use keys in the dark & discourage visitors. This does the job very well.It's a fairly concentrated beam but more than adequate for my purposes. It's very simple to set up. Fitted it at the beginning of November and it's working fine (Jan. 17th) having experienced wettest, snowiest winter since records began(?). I was aware of several reviews indicating non-waterproof nature but so far, that hasn't been a problem.If it is, I'll let you know.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 14 answered questions

Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.