Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars95
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 15 September 2003
Mark Urban, the author of "The Man Who Broke Napoleon's Codes," has written another very good book. He tells the story of the "legendary" 95th Rifles, following them from when they embark from England in 1809 (to take their place in the Peninsular War) up until their involvement at the Battle of Waterloo. We travel along with them through Portugal, Spain, France and Belgium and get to know the hardships they endured- seemingly endless marching; the confusing advances and retreats; sleeping out in the open in the cold, rain and snow; and going long periods, sometimes up to 3 days, without any food. This, in addition to the many skirmishes, sieges, and battles they engaged in- which were more numerous than those fought in by any other regiment. I enjoyed this book for many reasons: Mr. Urban writes very well, with a witty, yet informal, style; there are many first-person accounts, so we really get to feel that we know these men and what they are going through; in addition, the author doesn't try to hide the less noble aspects of the 95th- besides the many examples of bravery and loyalty that we read about, we also see drunkeness, desertion, looting, and shirking of duty. But let me emphasize that Mr. Urban doesn't do a "hatchet-job" on the regiment. This is not revisionist history, it is just a full history...warts and all. And, believe me, the positive vastly outweighs the negative. Considering the amount of combat these men saw over an extended period (6 years), and the privations they suffered, one comes away from this book with a great deal of admiration and respect. Another nice thing about the book is that Mr. Urban goes to great lengths to explain what made this regiment so special- and what wasn't unique to them. For example, they became excellent marksmen because they practiced actual shooting. This was unusual because most soldiers of the time, although they practiced formations and loading their weapons, did not get much, if any, "target practice." On the other hand, while the 95th was known for its ability to "pick off" French officers in battle (causing confusion and loss of morale amongst the common French soldier), this practice did not originate with them. What made the 95th so special was their ability to hit the target! Before this time, British army leadership was under the impression that only "woodsmen," such as German and Swiss mercenaries, could become sharpshooters. The 95th showed that, with enough practice (and with the right weapon) the common British soldier could do just as well. The 95th, through their long years of combat, also showed that sharpshooters had value not just as skirmishers: they could also fight in a line, and they could also be effective in siege operations...as they proved at Ciudad Rodrigo. The reason I am giving this book 4 stars rather than 5 is because it does suffer from a few defects. Firstly, the maps are very poor. They are few in number and not detailed enough. It is very difficult to follow the author, sometimes, as he tries to describe in detail what is going on during the course of a battle. Secondly, Mr. Urban is almost exclusively concerned with the "small picture"- following the 95th in action from one battle to another. It would have been helpful if he had stepped back once in awhile to explain the broader strategy- what Wellington or Napoleon had in mind at a particular time. In the overall scheme of things, however, this is small beer. This is a very good book, and well-worth reading for its "insider's view" of what camp-life and battlefield conditions were like for both officers and common infantrymen who served under Wellington.
11 comment160 of 164 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2007
Having been a student of military history at uni and having grown up reading Bernard Cornwell's adventures of Richard Sharpe it was very interesting to read the true life accounts of the men of the 95th (or at least the 1st Battalion). Urban manages to make his book both informative and interesting, there are enough first hand accounts to stop it reading like a text book but there is still a wealth of academic information to keep the military historian happy. It was very interesting to follow the lives of several key figures within the battalion watching as their careers developed or indeed ended abruptly on the battlefield (or in at least one case, in front of a firing squad).

This is not a campaign history of the Peninsular war, although there is plenty of information on the subject, nor is it a regimental history of the 95th; it is more a personal history of the men of the 1st battalion of that unit that followed Wellington from Talavera to Waterloo. It focuses not only on their experiences in battle, be in small skirmishes, large set piece battles or the storming of a breach but also on the day to day lives of the soldiers covering such topics as food, shelter, desertion, advancement, money and entertainment. All in all a great book and well worth a read for anyone wishing to find the true Richard Sharpes of Wellington's army.
0Comment50 of 52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2003
This book is a cracking read.The author peels away layers of myth and tells it like it was.
The officer who hid in his tent to avoid a battle gets his due, so does the sergeant who got himself a comfy job in the hospital store room to avoid fighting. At the same time the guys who fought the French again and again - desperate not to let their regiment down despite suffering terrible conditions get the praise they deserve. In other words the 95th can at last be judged as real men rather than the two dimensional heroes of previous books.
Urban flags up the stories of several soldiers and officers to show what kind of people they were, where they came from, what their hopes and fears were. He shows also how the cameraderie between officers and men came to blow away the class system - with men of the Rifles themselves using the term 'Band of Brothers' that is now so familiar to us.
There are plenty of battle scenes and as many villains seem to wear British uniform as French. It really is an eye-opener, especially if you've read a bit about the Rifles before.
My only criticisms: not enough maps and it could have been longer - quite a few soldiers who you want to know more about but just get walk on parts.
0Comment90 of 94 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The perfect companion for all military history enthusiasts is the ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker

In view of the prominent Peninsular War book and TV series Sharpe (starring Sean Bean), I resisted reading Mark Urban's account of the 95th Rifles. I feared a further lionization of Wellington's redcoats and greencoats, downplaying the Spanish and Portuguese contribution. In fact, my fears were wrong. Not only does Urban point out that British successes were often due to French voluntary force reductions, he also treats many aspects of war that are often ignored in conventional military history. His discussion of corporal punishment, desertion, drunkenness, promotion and demotion as well as a darker topics such as rape is outstanding. The poor Spanish civilians had to endure the depredations of two foreign armies on overstretched logistics.

The 95th Rifles as part of the Light Brigade/Division was fortunate in having both colorful protagonists and writers who captured their adventures. Given their prominent role in Wellington's tactical approach, the Rifles were in the thick of many of the classic battles of the Peninsular War. Skirmishing and aimed fire in the best Jäger tradition, the 95th were both modern and un-British. They remain a greencoated exception to the "their's not to reason why" tradition of the British Army, probably one of the causes why they still are admired. A great read. Highly recommended.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2007
This is an enjoyable account of the 95th Rifles in the Peninsular war (with a final chapter covering Waterloo and later developments of the 95th). I'd recommend the book if you're at all interested in this period of history, military history in general or a fan of the Richard Sharpe books. A highlight of the book is the sketches of some of the characters - especially Robert Craufurd who is as memorable and paradoxical as any fictional character I've read. One minor problem is towards the end of the the battles (and some of the characters) tend to merge into one - I think this is due mainly to the nature of the subject and Urban in general has produced a very readable book.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2010
Mark Urban's Rifles, tells the heroic and at times heartwrenching story of the soldiers of the 95th, following them through Potugal Spain and France from 1809 - 1815.

One would have thought that as the Worlds most powerful and richest country at the time, we would have at least been able to furnish our lads with tents,and adequate food during a terrible war which held very little, if any reward for them.

Urban tells of amazing actions by these brave and,on the whole, loyal men, some of them did on occasion dessert,but only because of the inhumane and disgraceful treatment dished out by our ' gentlemen ' officers.

Welly Wellington described them as scum, someone should have reminded him it was 'scum ' such as these that built the Empire, and enabled the likes of him to live such a comfortable life,it is noteable that nosey did'nt seem to put himself in any danger at the time.

As you can see this is a very thought provoking book, and well worth a read, Urban puts it together nicely.

If it has any faults, then they are that the battle accounts are little vague, but this is more about the plights of men in war.

A good book at a good price.Rifles: Six Years with Wellington's Legendary Sharpshooters
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2014
My knowledge of the Penisular War was limited to the odd episode of "Sharpe" (sorry historians). The description of the privations of warfare in this era and the development of new tactical approaches and how these related to class structure and how the British and the French perceived their national character were revealing and though provoking. One slight criticism was that the central idea that the methods of the British riflemen was new and revolutionary was repeated several times too many- I got it from the off. It was refreshing to read about this period, we hear so much about the Victorians.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 January 2005
definately worth a read if you are into the factual 'story' behind the 95th rifles. Breaks away from the glossier stories of the Sharpe series, to provide a gritty, realistic view of what life was like in Wellingtons army.
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2011
If you like reading about history, facts, the origins of the modern military and learning about how people live, react and survive warfare, this is the book for you.

I received this book as a gift a few years ago and thought (out of politeness) i would give it a go. I am so glad i did. This is certainly not the type of book i would normally go for but i was 'hooked' after the first few pages.

Mark Urban's style of writing is captivating and his attention to detail is fist class. This story takes the reader on a journey, alongside a motley crew of Riflemen, across the English Channel and into the heart of many battles with rifle, bullet and sabre at the ready.

The authors clarity of description concerning the conditions that had to be endured, the vast range of leadership (from extremly poor to excellent)and the development of 'shrewd' foot soldier tactics in the face of the blind arrogance by senior 'Cavelry'Officers is excellent.

You will very quicly become familiar with many of the stories characters (and also start to care about their welfare!). Mark Urban weaves this story with clarity and purpose and even takes time to ensure you become familiar with who these soldiers where, where they came from and (for those who make it back to Blighty) what happens to them afterwards.

The Author should receive praise for providing (me) a far clearer understanding of why Wellingtons Warriors were engaged in War with the 'Frenchies' at this time, where this started and ended up and what were the ultimate outcomes.

In essence, i found this book to be a cracking read and a great way of delving into a subject area that i had previously dismissed as too difficult to broach in one sitting! I have read this book several times now and i am still finding hidden treasures amongst the text. Well Done Mark Urban (again).
Buy it, read it and enjoy it.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2014
Superb book telling the story of the Rifles, how they came to be and how they fared in the Peninsula War. Urban writes as if he is telling a story and makes you feel as if you are alongside the men he is writing about. He chooses his main combatants carefully to represent the different ranks and attitudes prevalent at the time. This is excellent writing about a turbulent time and portrays how the Rifles came to be a successful unit despite entrenched opposition. A first class read.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
  -  
Get your Virginia concealed carry certification today.