Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
167
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£33.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 March 2014
A good surprise upon tasting. Decently complex nose, good hit of flavour and a good smooth drink without the rough edge and burn you generally get from a 10 year old. It is not Jura smooth but then it has a lot more going on than Jura 10.

Well worth trying.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2012
I have bought more Talisker than any other single malt and despite the almost limitless choice of other whiskies available I still find myself yearning to go back to Talisker 10, it's one of my 'all-round' favourite whiskies.

It has quite a heavy smoky/peaty flavour with a hit of sea water/weed so it's not something everyone will get along with but it's balanced very nicely with a sweet fruitiness like you get from Speyside or Highland whisky's along with a fair bit of spice. It's has some vanilla notes you get from the ex-bourbon casks, most reviews mention pepper but I get more nutmeg and cinnamon than anything and perhaps a touch of cloves and ginger. One thing's for sure it's certainly not in danger of being called a bland whisky. So if you don't like smoky whiskies then it's probably best to stay away, however this is so good it'll probably convert you.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 December 2014
Actually, this is THE whisky from Skye - Talisker is, surprisingly, the only distillery on that island. Islay, Jura and many of the other Hebrides have many more, Islay being the jewel in the crown. Talisker is often ranked with Laphroaig as the peatiest of all single malts, although it doesn't have quite such a pronounced "TCP" taste. However, you'd be well advised to steer clear of it if you like your whisky smooth and mellow!

The Talisker distillery on the west coast of Skye is amazingly busy, for such an isolated spot. If you turn up at random, you may well find you have to wait for a place on one of the guided tours - although it's worth it. (As is the scenery on the way there and back).

Delivery was swift and the precious bottle was lovingly packed in two concentric boxes and plenty of brown paper, in addition to its own heavy cardboard tube. Best of all, the price was exceedingly bargainous, which makes anything taste even better to the true Scot!
11 comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
I bought this whisky for my husband who knows about whisky. He said that this was excellent, beautifully packed and very prompt delivery. This was an fantastic price for this quality product.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
A single malt whisky from Skye, this is not your Aldi "Queen Bess" rubbish. This is a very robust whisky with a strong peaty flavour. Now, I've heard whiskey described as "peaty" many a time and, never having chewed a lump of Highland compost it means nothing to me. In fact, the taste is strong, smoky and medicinal more like toffee flavoured TCP than John MacInnes No. 4. There is also an unctuous oily texture on the tongue that you've never experienced in anything you've ever drunk. That might be enough to put you off if the best you've ever tried is Johnny Walker, but give this a go.

This distinctive tipple isn't a whisky to get smashed on, but neither is it to be taken lightly - it's an education for your taste buds.
22 comments| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2015
As a fan of whisky i read the reviews and chose to sample this one as i have been looking for that "TCP" kind of smell.
As soon as i tried this i knew this was what i had been looking for, its not to everyone's taste as my mate does like a whisky but not to keen on this one, but for me this is a really nice and complex whisky that i thoroughly enjoy.
Very peaty and smoky just to my taste.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
A single malt whisky from Skye (thankyou D Smith :) ), this is not your Aldi "Queen Bess" rubbish. This is a very robust whisky with a strong peaty flavour. Now, I've heard whiskey described as "peaty" many a time and, never having chewed a lump of Highland compost it means nothing to me. In fact, the taste is strong, smoky and medicinal more like toffee flavoured TCP than John MacInnes No. 4. There is also an unctuous oily texture on the tongue that you've never experienced in anything you've ever drunk. That might be enough to put you off if the best you've ever tried is Johnny Walker, but give this a go.

This distinctive tipple isn't a whisky to get smashed on, but neither is it to be taken lightly - it's an education for your taste buds.
33 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 December 2014
It's just a beautiful single malt. Peaty, fruity and toffee-e with a lovely smoky finish. In fact, the finish lingers longer in the throat than any other whisky I've ever drunk - you go to bed having cleaned your teeth and there it is, behind your nose.

It's a decent tipple at about 46% yet there's barely a hint of alcohol burn. The taste is so complex that you almost forget you're drinking whisky. I never really 'got' how one could describe a whisky as 'salty' until I tasted Talisker; think toffee apple mixed with 'posh salted caramel dessert in restaurant' and you're pretty much there. Utterly delightful.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2016
I've tried numerous peaty single malts and this one always comes out on top. It's very smooth and subtle with a long finish. Talisker 10 is becoming rare in the shops so it's good to see it available on Amazon
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 August 2015
It's always good to have a selection of single malts so you can pick the one you're in the mood for. Talker is a great peaty whisky and tbh, if I'd never tried Ardberg or Lag 16, it'd have 5 stars as it really is a great whisky, but it just can't quite measure up to the two previously mentioned.

With all good peaty whisky's (and its not as strong as Ard'), you get an amazing nose on it and its really smooth.

Definitely a favourite, but if you want to start with the best, go for Ardberg or Lagavulin 16 first, but as you get hooked, add this one to your collection as well.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 6 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)