Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars153
4.7 out of 5 stars
Price:£40.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 June 2012
I have bought more Talisker than any other single malt and despite the almost limitless choice of other whiskies available I still find myself yearning to go back to Talisker 10, it's one of my 'all-round' favourite whiskies.

It has quite a heavy smoky/peaty flavour with a hit of sea water/weed so it's not something everyone will get along with but it's balanced very nicely with a sweet fruitiness like you get from Speyside or Highland whisky's along with a fair bit of spice. It's has some vanilla notes you get from the ex-bourbon casks, most reviews mention pepper but I get more nutmeg and cinnamon than anything and perhaps a touch of cloves and ginger. One thing's for sure it's certainly not in danger of being called a bland whisky. So if you don't like smoky whiskies then it's probably best to stay away, however this is so good it'll probably convert you.
0Comment22 of 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
I bought this whisky for my husband who knows about whisky. He said that this was excellent, beautifully packed and very prompt delivery. This was an fantastic price for this quality product.
0Comment11 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2014
A good surprise upon tasting. Decently complex nose, good hit of flavour and a good smooth drink without the rough edge and burn you generally get from a 10 year old. It is not Jura smooth but then it has a lot more going on than Jura 10.

Well worth trying.
0Comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 10 December 2014
Actually, this is THE whisky from Skye - Talisker is, surprisingly, the only distillery on that island. Islay, Jura and many of the other Hebrides have many more, Islay being the jewel in the crown. Talisker is often ranked with Laphroaig as the peatiest of all single malts, although it doesn't have quite such a pronounced "TCP" taste. However, you'd be well advised to steer clear of it if you like your whisky smooth and mellow!

The Talisker distillery on the west coast of Skye is amazingly busy, for such an isolated spot. If you turn up at random, you may well find you have to wait for a place on one of the guided tours - although it's worth it. (As is the scenery on the way there and back).

Delivery was swift and the precious bottle was lovingly packed in two concentric boxes and plenty of brown paper, in addition to its own heavy cardboard tube. Best of all, the price was exceedingly bargainous, which makes anything taste even better to the true Scot!
11 comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
A single malt whisky from Skye, this is not your Aldi "Queen Bess" rubbish. This is a very robust whisky with a strong peaty flavour. Now, I've heard whiskey described as "peaty" many a time and, never having chewed a lump of Highland compost it means nothing to me. In fact, the taste is strong, smoky and medicinal more like toffee flavoured TCP than John MacInnes No. 4. There is also an unctuous oily texture on the tongue that you've never experienced in anything you've ever drunk. That might be enough to put you off if the best you've ever tried is Johnny Walker, but give this a go.

This distinctive tipple isn't a whisky to get smashed on, but neither is it to be taken lightly - it's an education for your taste buds.
22 comments10 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 December 2015
Just a great whisky for it's price. It has a hearty taste with a smoky aftertaste that I love and it smells amazing (In all honestly I don't really know what I am talking about but the whisky is pretty tasty)
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 21 August 2015
It's always good to have a selection of single malts so you can pick the one you're in the mood for. Talker is a great peaty whisky and tbh, if I'd never tried Ardberg or Lag 16, it'd have 5 stars as it really is a great whisky, but it just can't quite measure up to the two previously mentioned.

With all good peaty whisky's (and its not as strong as Ard'), you get an amazing nose on it and its really smooth.

Definitely a favourite, but if you want to start with the best, go for Ardberg or Lagavulin 16 first, but as you get hooked, add this one to your collection as well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2016
Lovely and smokey with a sweetness and peppery hit. It tastes almost full bodied and rich and is perfect on a cold autumn or winter evening. The only reason i dont give it 5 stars is its quite rich and full tasting for me, and although i love the smoke i prefer a slightly lighter whisky. Lovely in small quantities with bags of character its def one to try if you like a smokey powerful flavour. It also goes incredibly well with Italian blue cheese just as the amazon blurb says. Stunning flavour combination.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
I understand this may just be our view and whiskey can be quite an individual thing. We just didn't like it relative to others. I bought it following a number of recommendations. We actually did a blind whiskey tasting with 16 people and this finished joint last (1 votes), along with Sainsbury's own brand. Generally people loved JW Blue (a lot more £) or the surprise favorite Penderyn (same £):
Penderyn Welsh Malt Whisky 70 cl
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2013
A single malt whisky from Skye (thankyou D Smith :) ), this is not your Aldi "Queen Bess" rubbish. This is a very robust whisky with a strong peaty flavour. Now, I've heard whiskey described as "peaty" many a time and, never having chewed a lump of Highland compost it means nothing to me. In fact, the taste is strong, smoky and medicinal more like toffee flavoured TCP than John MacInnes No. 4. There is also an unctuous oily texture on the tongue that you've never experienced in anything you've ever drunk. That might be enough to put you off if the best you've ever tried is Johnny Walker, but give this a go.

This distinctive tipple isn't a whisky to get smashed on, but neither is it to be taken lightly - it's an education for your taste buds.
33 comments13 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 5 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.