Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars106
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Blu-rayChange
Price:£8.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
on 8 October 2010
First of all lets go through some of the negatives I have read about this phenomenal mini series. The narration is cited by some as being bland and monotone - Benedict Cumberbatch in my opinion is only second to the sublime David. A. His voice is soothing and is description is perfectly concise and factual. Score - Some people believe it reminds them of Africa but it is fitting as it is definately in keeping with the tribal aspects of the south pacific (which are also given some attention throughout the series). Third - repetitive sequences. Whilst these do exist, I find this is commonplace in wildlife series (see Blue Planet and Planet Earth)- its simply a way of ensuring that stragglers can understand everything rather than assuming everyone has either followed the series from the first minute or has an encylopedic knowledge of marine bio-diversity. Who cares if they repeat huge sharks attacking struggling chick albatrosses learning to fly, flapping in dangerously shallow waters? Not me.

This is what makes the series staggeringly great value. It covers history and the influence of man, evolution and how certain species migrated across islands when it could have been quite easy to focus purely on marine life. After all, only 1% of the south pacific is land. The aerial shots provide an excellent sense of scale and the last episode provides a fitting analysis of how procarious and precious the south pacific is to everyone. I deliberately avoid going into details about certain episodes because I don't want to ruin it for anyone....

Finally, the Diaries section at the end of each episode is a great (and for me unexpected) addition because, like the immense Planet Earth series - we fully appreciate the lengths, timescales and risks taken by cameramen to bring never-before-seen shots. Who would have thought filming the inside of a big wave had never been done before?

Simply breathtaking this is an essential in Blu-Ray format.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
on 2 August 2009
I thoroughly enjoyed this DVD and it is definitely more than just a documentary series. Some of the footage is absolutely breathtaking and groundbreaking given that there are new grounds being conquered here.
Every episode has its own functional theme and has a quirky little diary series at the end which acts as a documentary on the series as such.
I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone with an inkling of interest in the South Pacific islands.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 17 September 2010
Normaly I would start with the content, which in this case is great. But the Picture quality and the effort to wich the camerawork has gone, sets almost a new level. The satellite approach of a cyclone was one of the most impressiv pictures I have ever seen. The picture is cristal, the image so impressive, it makes look Hollywood like a puppet theatre.
The colour is very rich, turqouise water, white beaches, shades of green, you have to see to believe it. On top of that some of the most pristine coralreefs there are in existence today.
You learn a lot, like f.e. the history and tragedy of the stone sculpures on the Eastern Islands. The origins of basejumping, underwater-volcano explosions, cave-explorations, and many many more astonishing pictures and informations.
Get it and enjoy a picture perfect ride in the South Pacific.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on 26 July 2009
What makes this documentary series ground breaking is its breadth of vision. Not only are we introduced to the variety of life of The South Pacific, but also both the geological and anthropological curiosities of this little visited corner of the world. The cinema-photography proves those people wrong who thought that "Planet Earth" set the bar too high for subsequent documentary film makers. Another triumph for the BBC.
11 commentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 10 July 2009
Outstanding natural history series. Combines the fascinating photography amd information about indigenous species found in David Attenborough's programmes, with wider ranging, and thought provoking, anthropological and geological facts and theories.

The photography is unsurpassed. I could sit and watch the underwater shots of breaking waves in the first episode again and again, and the aerial footage throughout the series is beautiful.

It might be helpful to have an atlas to hand, as most of the aerial shots make it very difficult to work out exactly where a lot of the small islands are located, but this is my only tiny criticism of the whole series. I already have a waiting list of people wanting to borrow the DVD's!South Pacific [DVD] [2009]
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
24 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on 6 June 2009
A fabulous, calming, enormously interesting series. These are aspects of the 1000 islands that one would never get to see through travel alone...and a beautiful soundtrack too.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 9 December 2009
I have only recently bought a blu-ray player and wanted to see what all the fuss was about (particularly on my 'HD ready TV')

I wasnt dissapointed !! This is by far one of the most stunning DVDs I have watched on the natural world

The footage is amazing, although I take the point that some footage has been recycled over episodes and perhaps used from elsewhere. But this is an old BBC trick and you come to ignore it when you watch enough nature BBC documentaries

Benedict Cumberbatch (the amazing actor in the TV series Hawking) is a fab voice-over for the series. You watch in awe at the quality while marveling at the smoothness of the narration

I really have very little else in my recent Blu-ray collection that gets so many 'wows' from my friends and family as this DVD
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 28 October 2009
I have watched (and bought) just about all the BBC natural history available onb DVD and this ranks amongst the best. The video is of cinematic quality and the soundtrack perfectly complimentary, relaxing and atmospheric. Before I watched I wondered if not being a David Attenborough narrated production it would suffer, but Dominic Cumberbatch is excellent.
The vastness of the Pacific and the remoteness of the islands is effectively conveyed and some of the information about the wildlife and how it got to such remote places is extraordinary.
All in all a wonderful package and highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 13 August 2009
The only problem with the never failing quality of the documentaries produced by the BBC is that you just want to jack it all in and explore the world.

All the shots are stunning in there beauty and in a lot of cases show places and animals not seen before by more than a handfull of human beings.

Informative without being preechy and the addition of the featurets at the end of each episode make this the perfect package.

Owning all the BBC productions on Blu-Ray produced so far I would recomend this as an addition to anyones documentory collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 30 July 2009
Having enjoyed this series in standard resolution on Freeview, I was looking forward to its release on blu-ray, and was certainly not disappointed in this. The topics covered were almost all perfectly
suited to razor-sharp depiction, and the enhanced video and audio
added considerably to the enjoyment of the series. A really top-notch
production -- informative and entertaining.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Great Barrier Reef [Blu-ray]
Great Barrier Reef [Blu-ray] by Monty Halls (Blu-ray - 2012)

Yellowstone [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Yellowstone [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Peter Firth (Blu-ray - 2009)

Great Rift [Blu-ray] [Region Free]
Great Rift [Blu-ray] [Region Free] by Hugh Quarshie (Blu-ray - 2010)

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.