Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars300
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 25 January 2015
Love Batman (1989) and Returns (Keaton & Burton) however I cannot stand the seizure inducing mess that is Batman Forever and Batman & Robin. I appreciated those 2 when I was a lot younger, partly owing to them being in the cinema back then and there being a mass hype over them. But watching them now just gives me a headache. Forever is full of flashing lights and loudness and Batman & Robin.... well... less said the better really. It's a shame because they had the potential and could have carried the saga on nicely but it just didn't happen. Returns will always be my favourite. Has a slightly enchanting feel to it. I know that it was a summer release too but it feels like a Christmassy sort of film: the snow I guess.

Anyway, this is a good set however some of the inside sleeve work is incorrect/doesn't correspond to the right film etc but really... who buys a dvd set to look at the inside covers? It is a good set JUST to say that you have all 4 original films but I think that you only really need the first two.
Great price for all four.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2013
The only reason I'm not giving a 5 star is product picture. On the picture you can see box set with each movie in separate box,total of 4. Instead,it's 2 boxes with 2 discs on each box. And no booklet. I'm uploading picture for details. Not that is something terrible but it's good to know.
Everything else is OK,4 classic Batman movies for great price,lighting fast shipping etc. I don't know why other customers said that there are no extras. There are over 18 hours of extras (documentaries,making off,director commentaries,9 music videos, and much much more).
review image review image
44 comments|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2011
If I were looking to buy any of the original Batman series on Blu-ray, then I'd quite happily go for the darker Tim Burton titles as standalone releases. However, for only a couple of pounds more you get not only films three and four but also some extensive, fascinating bonus features that justify the purchase.

In particular, the final part of the 'Shadows of the Bat' retrospective that appears on the Batman & Robin disc includes some refreshingly candid interviews. The more colourful Joel Schumacher instalments were a result of studio interference following the comparatively weak box-office performance of Batman Returns. While those who provide the film's financing have a duty to protect their investment, once they start dictating what happens creatively, disaster usually ensues. This documentary is a salutary tale for budding executives everywhere and shows how things can go horribly wrong when they cross the line, bringing a hitherto successful franchise to a halt.

One could argue that Schumacher was not the best director to have taken the series forward, but given a dreadful script that went into character overload and had to shoehorn in as many merchandising opportunities as possible, it's hard to see how he could have succeeded. Thankfully, his future projects, such as The Phantom of the Opera (2004), were more in keeping with his theatrical sensibilities.

This set includes some fine picture transfers and all the soundtracks are in Dolby TrueHD 5.1. Each film is contained in its own standard Blu-ray keepcase.
11 comment|52 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
Although the later movies in this series were a little bit cheesy the first one was pure Batman, and jack Nicholsons portrayal of the Joker was a scream, you can clearly see how much jack enjoyed playing this character, a bargain for all lovers of the Batman at less than £13.00s and all on Blu-ray at that, buy it.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 January 2006
This box set is worth getting if you're not looking for all the behind the scenes extras etc. that usually come with dvds. As a box set it is certainly lacking since there are no extras but I bought it just for the films so I'm happy.
22 comments|39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2009
Batman Audio:

Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English.
Dolby Digital 2.0: Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian.
Dolby Digital 1.0: Brazilian Portuguese, Latin Spanish.

Batman Returns Audio:

Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English 5.1, German, Italian, French.
Dolby Digital 2.0: Latin Spanish.
Dolby Digital 1.0: Castilian Spanish, Brazilian Portuguese.

Batman Forever Audio:

Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian.
Dolby Digital 2.0: Brazilian Portuguese.
Latin Spanish 2S.

Batman & Robin Audio:

Dolby TrueHD: English 5.1
Dolby Digital 5.1: English, Castilian Spanish, French, German, Italian.
Dolby Digital 2.0: Brazilian Portuguese, Latin Spanish.
66 comments|136 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 October 2015
Great little set, little light on extras but what the hell. Batman and batman returns are amazing. Sure comic fanboys hate them for making joker the man who killed bruces parents and for making penguin a sewer dwelling monster, but judging them as movies their great. Batman forever is... passable. Jim carrey is annoyingly jim carrey as the riddler, and tommy lee jones is underwhelming to say the least as two face. Batman and robin... well il just say theres a reason this franchise was dead for 8 years. The first two films make this a good purchase on their own, hence my four star rating, the third can make for a couple hours braindead fun and the fourth is abysmal. And im being nice to it with that phrase.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 February 2014
Although this pack was a well priced trip down memory lane, delivery was excellent (and the movies are still enjoyable) the inner sleeves of the DVD cases are misprinted and don't relate to the movies. Nothing wrong with that in principle but I would have still bought it had the seller been honest enough to show this in the listing.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2010
The four movies presented here vary greatly in quality Batman (1989)being undoubtedly the best and the last two Batman Forever
/Batman and Robin being distinctly weaker.The offer price is a big draw here.You get 4 movies on blu-ray for 17.99.Batman (1989)contains an impressive set of extras docs detail the history of Batman the character and the development of the movie
and if that weren't enough theres an extensive making of also coupled with brief hero and villain profiles and prince music videos and a Burton commentary this disc alone justifies the cost.Batman returns carries on the extensive extras in similar vein.All the movies look good on blu-ray apart from the odd grainy bit here and there and the sound is spot on.Well worth the asking price and a decent companion piece to the later movies.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Others have discussed the reasons to get these Blu-rays seperately and,yes, I can see their point. But hear me out here.

For around the same price as the first 2 films alone you're getting all 4 movies.
The third movie is entertaining and still has some Burton influence.
If you have kids then the fourth movie is not wasted. I know so many kids who love Batman and Robin. Besides, despite its faults the film has Uma and Alicia for the dads and George for the mums!

The transfers are all pretty good (though Batman will never look as good as the more recent Anniversary Blu-ray release) and the extras span all four discs including music videos and interesting retrospectives as well as interviews with DC's staff.

So, there you have it, plenty of reasons to buy this Blu-ray set.
11 comment|33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse