Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars81
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
on 8 October 2007
Quite simply, Hairspray is in my opinion, one of the best films to have been on at the cinema this year. However, what makes it so successful is its fantastic soundtrack. Opening number 'Good Morning Baltimore' is a great feel good tune and other classic tracks such as 'Without Love' with lyrics such as 'I never looked inside myself but on the outside I looked good' and 'It's like getting my big break and laryingitus'(apologies for spelling!),you know you are onto a winner! As for the singing, all in all very good although I thought Nikki Blonsky's voice started to grate after a while, despite it being amazing compared to my own voice! All I can say is that we need more fantastic soundtracks and films like this as it is practically impossible to not smile when listening. Great stuff all round.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
on 21 July 2007
Fantastic film - made fabulous by the superb music and the superb acting & dancing. Fabulous rock n roll music which will make sense once you've seen the film! I can honestly say this is the first film I've ever seen at the cinema, where people watching the film have actually stood up and started dancing! Why? Because of the music....
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
If you enjoyed the film, which I'd bet good money you did, then you'll absolutely adore this soundtrack. It includes all the songs, plus a couple more [heard in the credits] and they are pretty much in their entirety, giving you the full spirit and beat of the movie. A must-have for any musical collection!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 25 July 2007
I have just returned from the cinema watching this film and the first thing I did was to order this soundtrack! The score is awesome, thesinging is AMAZING! Who'd have thought Christopher Walken could sing?

I recommend this CD to everyone in the entire world!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2015
Cheesy? check.... Makes you think? check.... catchy tunes? absolutely!

Love the movie, love the musical, love the soundtrack!

Favourites include the upbeat Hey mama welcome to the 60's, Nicest kids in town, and You can't stop the beat - but I still love Ms Baltimore Crabs... makes me laugh at how horrid the character is! All the songs are brilliant though - probably would have thought people wouldn't buy it without having seen the film / musical - but it's very cheesy, but also poignant with how it addresses racial equality / integration issues in the 60's - And John Travolta as Mama Turnblatt.... with Cristopher Walken as his husband (Timeless to me) is so lovely!

I like to listen to this on cold wintery mornings when I don't wanna get up or stuck in traffic... can't help smiling whilst listening.... or belting the songs out... However, if you haven't seen the film / show some of the characters are (ironically) racist - part of the issue that is raised and conquered in the movie, but listening to some of the lines, if you don't know the movie, potentially might upset people... and Amber's mum (superbly played by Michelle Pfeiffer) is essentially horrible and rude about Tracy's size too! Well played as I hated her!!! Hateful character, her counterpart being Queen Latifah - fabulous as always - belting out Big blonde and beautiful - love all of it... Listen to the samples if you can, and you'll get a feel for the tone, but can listen to this over and over.... also Zac Efron(Link) , Amanda Bynes (Penny) and James Marsden (Corny Collins) with Elijah Kelley (Seaweed) and Brittany Snow (Amber) also have great songs too! Cheery, cheesy but with a serious message - LOVE LOVE LOVE IT!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 8 January 2009
This is an awesome soundtrack. Zac Eflon has a really nice voice..if I was a director I know a great character that he could be casted as with that voice!
The whole soundtrack is an upbeat, feel happy, don't be depressed piece which is great cos thats what we need at the moment, happy cheerful songs. My favorites on the soundtrack are "run and tell that", "Big, Blonde and Beautiful" and "It takes two". Sure its 60's ish..but its fun! Especially is you wanna do some karaoke with you one great time!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2010
Ever since I first saw the original John Waters non-musical film I have absolutely LOVED Hairspray and so you can imagine my delight when I heard that it was going to be a musical first on stage then in this 2007 film version. I had a totally fabulous time at the show and I feel that the film goes a long way to replicating the energy and excitement of the stage version. This cd soundtrack from the film is absolutely brilliant with excellent performances from all the cast, especially Nikki Blonsky as the exuberant and full of beans Tracy Turnblad. Among so many gems my especial favourite song has to be Michelle Pfeiffer's lament at the lack of talent in the youngsters these days compared to when she was "Miss Baltimore Crabs", she's wonderful camping it up to the max! I would recommend this soundtrack to all musical lovers who want to have a good time and guarantee you'll be humming and singing along in no time.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2009
This is a great soundtrack to an enjoyable movie.

The album book has all the words to every song so now you can sing along to your favourite track the soundtrack does express the feelings the America's had for blacks in the 1960's.

This soundtrack is a good gift for a fan of the film or and good CD if like music from musical.

There plenty of talent on this disc Zac Efron of High School Musical and the legend John Travolta from GREASE.

This is a great buy and a great price with Amazon prime.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2011
Hairspray - Original Motion Picture Soundtrack Shows the segregation that occurred in the 60's in the very enjoyable way that bring the point home.
With all the characters playing along, in a very camp manner. Very enjoyable for all the family, that hits all levels, so that children get it on one level but adults are able to enjoy it at a different level, and can explain it so that it does not occur again!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 5 December 2013
Good CD and also good price although the case was cracked but it still played fine so I was happy with it
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Hairspray (Original Broadway Cast Recording)
Hairspray (Original Broadway Cast Recording) by Original Broadway Cast of Hairspray

Mamma Mia! The Movie Soundtrack
Mamma Mia! The Movie Soundtrack by Cast Of Mamma Mia The Movie

Chicago - Music From The Miramax Motion Picture
Chicago - Music From The Miramax Motion Picture by Original Motion Picture Soundtrack

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
Try LOCK IT 48HR Hold Hairsprays. Endless Style & Transformations.