Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
122
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 November 2002
as many other reviewers have stated, no sane musician would go near Jim Steinman or his songs. who ever said Meat Loaf was sane?
this, of course, is the sequel to the third biggest selling album of all time, and is just as good, personally I think Meat's voice has matured along with Jim's songwriting.
You all know about "Anything For Love" so I'll cover some other gems...
"life is a lemon (and i want my money back)"
a phenomenal vocal performance, absolutely belted, its also a funny lyric on top of some real rockin' music.
"it just won't quit"
this was orignally performed by pandora's box, written, alike all the tracks on Bat, by Jim Steinman. another good lyric and vocal performance with a helluva guitar solo.
finally, my favourite track?
"objects in the rearview mirror may appear closer than they are" - you'd think this would be funny too. but if you know anything about Meat's life and childhood this is perhaps the most honest, tear-jerking song ever. beautiful, long, powerful, strangely operatic. could this be a review of anything except a Bat album?
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 April 2002
The album winds up from the void of dead-tape, rising to an enthralling climax known to all as I'd Do Anything For Love. After getting the listener going with it's massiveley extragant, Broadway-esque guitar solos and choral interludes the album continues, tempered with insight and new takes on old cliches. This album has it all, happiness and sadness, love and fear, with a plethora of solos of so many kinds to boot. The original Bat out of Hell was stunning - and it just just got a whole lot bigger.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
My own personal favorite Meat Loaf album, this has it all. It hits the ground running with the opus "I would do anything.." a fanatical powerful opera peice, almost duet. Next up is "Life is a Lemon", which good as it is, I prefer the remix version on Best of.. "Rock and roll dreams" another teenage love song which is fantastic. "It just won't quit" and neither will the song, luckly."Out of the frying pan" is classic Steinman with a great cresendo build up to the chorous.
"Objects" is a real tearjerker from the first few lines, whilst "Wasted Youth" is exactly the same as "Love, death and an American Guitar" from Steinman's own Bad for good - but with "Wasted youth" added at the start :) "Everything louder" is my fav track on the album - turn that one up to loud! :-) "Good girls" from the Pandora's box album is probly the only track I would call duff. "Back into Hell" a wonderful instrumental peice and finally "Lost boys" round ups a great album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2005
What a comeback for Meat Loaf in 1993 when he released this album and the single I'd Do Anything For Love, well it's anyone rock star dream to have a comeback like that but it happened to Meat.
After 10 years of delays and wars, Meat and Jim Steinman finally got their second masterpiece together.
This album contains the longest album titles I known such as the very sad and powerful 10 minute song Objects In The Rear View Mirror May Appear Closer Than They Are.
Most of the songs of this album are taken from Jim 1981 solo effort Bad For Good and Pandora's Box.
If you've heard all of Jim previous work it may be a slight disapointment of lack of new material. Only 4 songs!!!
Jim and meat's new carnations of Jim's new songs are so much better than the original, Good Girls Go To Heaven (Bad Girls Go Everything) races miles head of it's Pandora's Box orignal.
Everything Louder than Everything Else, well the title explains the song straight away, I wish there were more meat loaf songs like this once.
Every song has a new story to tell, it's a Masterpiece like the first bat album but with much more attitude and jim has got lot more to say this time around.
This album brought Meat Loaf out from the closet and made him into a Rock Superstar, he won a new generation of fans which he deserve and it's good he's still at the top after more than 10 years after the release of this album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2012
I had not heard Meatloaf's original Bat out of Hell for yonks then due to a, well you don't need to know about my silly fantasties!!!!, I ordered a copy and wow I had forgot how amazing this album was and still is! I have ordered Deadringer as I know that album too but never got it on cd so I wait for that to arrive.

I thought I would get Bat out of Hell II though like Tubular Bells II this is nothing like the original and there appears to be nothing to link it as a concept album to the original. There is a progression with Mike Oldfield's Tubular Bells II which kind of gives him an excuse to call it that but really Bat out of Hell II stands up as an great album on it's own and in a way calling Bat out of Hell II is a bit tacky and designed to make it sell and fair enough musicians have to earn their living BUT the Soundtrack to the Rocky Horror Picture Show goes better as a partner for the original Bat than this. I wish Meatloaf would release one more Bat out Hell style album like the original. However..........

Bat out of Hell apart from it's title, is a fantastic album from one of the finest rock singers. I would love him to do an album of duets with Ellen Foley - songs that were written specifically for them as to my mind she has a far better voice than Bonnie Tyler who Meatloaf did an album of duets of sorts with.

I am going to take a chance and order Meatloaf's latest Hang Cool Teddy as it has rave reviews.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2012
So what can match the classic Meatloaf album Bat out of Hell ?.....the answer not much really. However, Meatloaf and Jim Steinman have twice, tried to follow it up with the sequel albums "Bat out of Hell II - Back into Hell" and "Bat out of Hell III - The Monster is Loose"(with help from others too). I suppose really both are a further celebration of Steinman's writing capabilities and Meatloaf's interpretation and singing power more than anything else. As I purchased the two, second hand on amazon marketplace, in total for just 95p, I thought I'd listen to both and review them giving others an insight to the quality you get, should you wish to buy them too.

1."I'd Do Anything for Love (But I Won't Do That)" - 12:00
A continuation of the epic sounds of Bat out of Hell this song made in as a single on its release almost 20 years ago. Quality is superb could have been a song than never made the cut for the first album.

2."Life Is a Lemon and I Want My Money Back" - 8:00
A heavier sound than on some meatloaf songs great heavy guitar at the start with a good male female duet banter mid song and excellent guitar solo at the end.

3."Rock and Roll Dreams Come Through" - 5:50
Mid tempo ballad in a style which is like Elton John meets Queen 1970 style.

4."It Just Won't Quit" - 7:21
Roy Bittan starts this track with his unmistakable piano style. Another mid tempo number maybe lacking the quality to fill the 7minutes 21 seconds it does. To me,a bit of a filler. One of those songs , that halfway though you want it to end.

5."Out of the Frying Pan (And into the Fire)" - 7:24
Has the grandeur of the track "Bat out of Hell" but never quite breaks out and races away like "Bat out of Hell" does. Some good piano and guitar on it and some good scale drops too. Grand ending, with lots of piano and screaming guitars.

6."Objects in the Rear View Mirror May Appear Closer than They Are" - 10:15
Looking at the length 10:15, I'm hoping for a classic. The intro starting with a piano solo is a bit reminciant of Springsteen's Thunder Road, then we get very searching soulful singing by Meatloaf and delightful piano by Bittan. It's a bright sunny day here but this song has an epic feel of a night time song. Great song up to the halfway point then...with the use of a the occasional line from Paradise by the Dashboard light "It was long ago, it was far away" is makes its way, as if the singer is remising of past glories. Wonderful song !

7. "Wasted Youth" (Monologue by Steinman) - 2:41
A talking track like parts on the original...whimsical and not really making that much sense, more of a introduction to the next track.

8. "Everything Louder than Everything Else" - 7:59
A phrase you'd hear more at a Motorhead concert, but the song which is above average, hints at wasted youth. It ends like a usual Meatloaf sing-along track, with a piano, drum, guitar montage... bagpipes too at the end !!!!

9. "Good Girls Go to Heaven (Bad Girls Go Everywhere)" - 6:53
A jazzy feel at the start, with sax, then leads into a heavier feel. Another typical Meatloaf track, with another typical sing-along Meatloaf passage.

10."Back Into Hell" (Instrumental) - 2:46
Synthesized instrumental another filler more than anything.

11. "Lost Boys and Golden Girls" - 4:29
A ballad with shades of "You took the words/Two out of 3.

All in all not a bad album, with some really good songs. It is lacking the total epic feel of its predecessor though, while some of the songs take on the nature off so and so track Part two. To me it's more of a "we've got 4 great songs, let's make it into an album" than it is a start from scratch record.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2013
I haven't listened to Meat Loaf for some years. I was somewhat disappouinted by this MP3 tracks, seem flat and lacking in depth. The live tracks were not good. Some overly long some they appear to have forgotten the words. The instrumentals were a tad self indulgent. I am going back to relisten to the vinyl to see if I was viewing this through rose tinted spectacles but will have to but a record player first. A bit disappointing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 January 2004
It surpasses Bat out of hell in a few ways. It has more songs and better songs. Plain and simple. 'Everything louder than everything else' is excellent and so is 'Good girls go to heaven'. Not to mention 'Anything for love' as the opening song and 'I want my money back'. This album reeks of value for money and with the exception of the dodgy poem before everything louder than everything else and the musical 'Back into hell' this album is superb. 'out of the frying pan and into the fire is also a great song. The weakest song is probably 'Objects in the rear view mirror becasue i dont count 'back into hell' and 'wasted youth', and 'rock and roll dreams is superb also.
Buy the album and you will realise just how good it is. Nuff said.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2006
Seven years after his previous album and 15 years after the legendary 'Bat Out Of Hell', he's back! And not only that, he's back with Steinman. It's a great album, of course, and puts him back where he should be at his own special niche in rock music. 75 minutes of very long songs (almost 12 minutes for the opener; the highly successful version released as a single was a lot shorter, and perhaps, arguably, more effective?, great big overblown, bombastic, revved up, no holds barred, turn it right up, rock opera. It's as if he never was forced into releasing an album or two in the interim which weren't quite as, well, Meaty. The album cut across the generations: thirty-somethings and teenagers were listening to it. In spite of its power, this album does not quite capture the spirit and magic of the original. Also, most songs were not new; many had been recorded previously by Uncle Jim himself on 'Bad For Good' and also by his own ensemble of foxy femmes fatales known, albeit briefly, as 'Pandora's Box'. But it is an album which can be loved until hell itself freezes over. Or at least until October 2006.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2013
ca beat a bit of loaf!! just what I was looking for, much appreciated, hard to find but amazon is always gud, have even found more works by the same artist of the back of amazons suggestions

kind regards

Cheers dude
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)