Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn more Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars21
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£4.99
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 22 March 2004
i have to thank the film Fear And Loathing In Las Vegas for introducing me to Jefferson Airplane. this is the best cd i have heard in years and Grace Slick has the most amazing voice ever. best songs are hard to choose but Somebody To Love, Aerie, Last Wall Of The Castle and White Rabbit are great, despite Somebody To Love being covered and destroyed by the Boogie Pimps, or whatever. i recommend this for anyone wanting to get into Jefferson Airplane, because all the songs just blew me away the minute i heard them. we really need a band like this about now.
0Comment|32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2001
The quality of the songs and audio recording, as well as the sheer length of this CD more than make up for the lack of its conceptual coherence. No group epitomises the essence of the West Coast's 1960's counterculture scene better than Jefferson Airplane, and this record chronicles their development from the gentle folk rock beginnings ("High Flyin' Bird", "Blues From An Airplane", "Somebody To Love" - the last being a legacy from Grace Slick's first band, The Great Society) to the explorers of emotional states ("White Rabbit" et al) and their political activism ("Volunteers", "We Can Be Together"). Opening with the equally mellow and energetic guitar solo of "Embryonic Journey" by Jorma Kaukonen (from their chart-topping 'Surrealistic Pillow' album), this CD goes on to be alternately melancholic and joyful. Coming across very much as a vehicle for Grace Slick's vocal talents, this album is at its finest during Slick's contemplative, sometimes cynical songs dealing with sensitive social "fringe" issues. Culminating in "Wooden Ships", the beautifully introspective duet with Paul Kantner, the group's mastermind in its later phase, the album winds down to end with a concert version of a slightly dated "Have You Seen The Saucers", but nevertheless leaving you craving for more. More than just a compilation of memorable numbers, a must for all 1960's flower power music fans.
0Comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 November 2005
Most Best-Of albums are a patchwork of good to half decent tracks, with a few stand-out numbers. This one isn't like that. It is literally one of the best Best-Of compilations I have come across, without a single duffer track in sight. Every single track is brilliant. Remarkable, and even for those of us with many an Airplane album in their collections I would consider this a must-have album. If you've never heard much of the Airplane before now, this is most definitely the best starting point. It's a terrific album of brilliant flower-power rock n roll.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2007
This compilation could be the right investment for the buyer who wants only one CD by this band. Featuring their two best known tracks "Somebody to Love" and "White Rabbit" the CD is likely to satisfy the casual buyer.

Containing songs from all their 6 studio albums + a couple of live recordings it gives a pretty good general view of the band's recording career.

It will always be a matter of taste and a subject to discussion which specific tracks ought represent the various albums on a compilation CD.

I think most tracks are well chosen even though I miss great tracks like "Come Up the Years" (Takes Off), "My Best Friend" (Surrealistic Pillow), "Martha" (Baxter's) and "The Good Shepherd" (Volunteers)

The booklet of 8 pages is a complete disappointment; with sparse information on the tracks and only a very brief band biography.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2016
The 2 tracks I bought it for (White rabbit & Somebody to Love) are great, the rest not so much. Got what I expected & nothing more. OK.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2016
A well balanced best of collection of Jefferson Airplane.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
one from the past. good service and product.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 March 2015
Clasic, some great tracks for my collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2014
Deliverd on time pleased with quality of cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2006
This product is immense. 21 top quality songs. Jefferson Airplane are absolutely great. The Airplane are way before my lifetime but I still love the band!!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£7.99
£7.99
£7.49
£5.49

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.