Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
397
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.88+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 February 2009
If, like me, you don't trust yourself to get Sky because you're scared you'll never leave the house again, so you thought Freeview was a good alternative but now find it really isn't, allow me to introduce one of the few gems you can actually get on Freeview.

Squeezed in between E4s almost incessant diet of, like you know, teen dramas (One Tree Hill, The OC, 90210 and even Reaper on poorer episodes), lurks the fabulous Big Bang Theory.

Describing it as a series of 19 minute (yes, seriously folks - it must be good if the US networks figure they can squash 11 minutes of ads around it and still keep their audience) episodes in the life of two geeky scientists who live opposite a blonde waitress is as inadequate as saying Fawlty Towers was about a cross bloke in a hotel.

Firstly, the character of Dr Sheldon Cooper really is up there amongst the all-time great comic creations. Coupled with his much put-upon flatmate Leonard, they are eerily reminiscent of the great line in master and servant comic double acts from Laurel and Hardy to Steptoe and Son (but with better teeth). I don't know if the creators always intended it this way, but I suspect they suddenly found they had this unbelievably eccentric, idiosyncratic, gauche character with a brain the size of a planet and simply knew they had to wrap the whole series around him. How else can one of the funniest episodes be simply about all the other characters avoiding him because he has a cold?

Then, the four supporting characters are all well realised and much more than just foils for Sheldon, which is where so many character driven comedies fall down. I particularly love Howard, the seven stone jewish Love God and his very shouty (but never seen) mother.

Best of all, though, is the incredibly tight script. For those of us who mourn the passing of the great US TV wordplays - The West Wing, Studio 60 on the Sunset Strip, NYPD Blue, Deadwood and even back to the likes of Murder One in the mid 90s - this is a real breath of fresh air. Not a word is wasted, not an inflection missed and occasionally even the line not spoken is very, very funny.

As the box blurb says, this is comedy with affection, where no-one is especially mean to anyone else in the search for funny lines and where you will probably recognise and identify with bits of each of the characters. So, if you're scanning your Free-To-Air TV schedule with dismay that there's no Shameless or Dexter on, ignore the Mock the Week repeats on Dave (how many times can you watch them???), give Big Bang Theory a try and discover another rare Freeview gem.
1414 comments| 147 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 November 2008
I'm not normally a fan of american 'canned laughter' sitcoms, but this programme had me howling. Being a bit of a geek myself I completely empathised with Leonard (and more worryingly, Sheldon at times). If you don't mind a raucous laughter track after every line give it a try, it's one of the most well written and intelligent sitcoms I've seen in a long time. I hope the american TV fatcats don't do what they normally do when they occassionally stumble onto a gem, cancel it after 2 series'.

Live long and prosper, Big bang theory.
22 comments| 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 8 December 2009
In the cult tradition of SPARTACUS, the halls of every science department now echoes: "I AM SHELDON"!

Well into its fourth season, THE BIG BANG THEORY proved to be one of the most funny TV sitcoms ever aired. I had not laughed out loud this hard ever since the best days of SEINFELD - and BIG BANG is consistently brilliant!

Sheldon Cooper is unavoidably the king of the show - the massive black hole this Universe revolves around if you will. A child prodigy, now a 24 years old theoretical physicist PhD with absolutely no social skills or known sexual drive. Sheldon may be on the verge of unifying the fields but cannot drive a car to save his life or break a smile even remotely resembling that of a mere homo sapiens.
Best moment (a very hard choice to make): shouting at his sister, who was telling people that her brother is a "rocket scientist", that she might as well be telling them he is working at the bridge toll-booth!

Leonard Hofstadter is Sheldon's roommate and primary ...keeper. An experimental physicist himself, he juggles Sheldon's idiosyncrasies with his personal neurosis - not to mention his crush on his neighbor Penny.
Best moment: negotiating with Leslie Winkle (a fellow plain-looking but witty physicist and Sheldon's nemesis) their ...annual intercourse session to achieve "therapeutic sexual release" .

Howard Wolowitz is the only one with no PhD yet (and Sheldon never lets him forget it). An electrical engineer whose crowning achievement is a mechanized arm that is used in the space shuttle (and is now working on its liquid waste management solutions). The fact that he is a short man with a severely outdated and misguided sense of fashion, still lives with his mother, insists on using a collection of pickup lines straight from men's magazines advice columns - and yet carries himself as God's gift to women is just hilarious.
Best moment: diverting a military drone from its way to spying on the Russians, only to locate the house where America's Next Top Model is filmed - and be able to drop by and hit on the vulnerable one that gets kicked out that week!

Rajesh Koothrappali is a particle astrophysicist with a fashion sense close to absolute zero and a severe case of shyness - to the point that he cannot speak in front of women unless inebriated. He keeps using the "poor Indian" defense although his father is a rich doctor who drives a Bentley.
Best moment: after falling to give his name to Sheldon's beautiful sister, he comes back to get the flier requesting human test subjects for an experimental anti-shyness drug.

Finally, Penny. She is the proverbial good girl next door who came to California with stardom aspirations but so far works as waitress and suffers a sequence of bad boyfriends - and from her neighbors.
Best moment: filling in a long medical questionnaire with Sheldon at the hospital. "Headaches?" "Well, I'm getting one now!"

The show unavoidably makes use of previous sitcom combinations (the odd couple, the unfulfilled love-interest mismatch) but even if one manages to discern them they are used in such a fresh manner that all that is left is great entertainment!

The way to truly enjoy this is to own it on DVD. The writing is so smart and the jokes fly so fast (many of them non-verbal) there is just no way to savor it during its weekly air time. Well, may be Sheldon could but then again, who can compare his intellect with his?

HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2014
I bought this for my mum at Christmas as she had been watching the occasional episode on tv, but out of order. She pretty much watched the entire thing in one go. Apparantly it is amazing, although I haven't personally watched it.

Series follows a group of extremely geeky friends, who love physics, video games, science etc.
They are struggling however to understand the most complex world of all - women.

Comes highly recommended, I have a very happy mother :)
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2015
Really happy to finally own the complete boxset of this brilliant tv show.

I just love American comedy shows. This show has excellent jokes and makes me laugh. I haven't seen the complete series yet. So therefore can't comment on how the show progresses. I can't wait to see Wil Wheaton because I just adore the actor.

You may want to buy the Blu-Ray version of this box set if you care for perfect picture quality. In this DVD version, the picture quality is not hot and may be a problem for all you Full HD fans. It's not a problem for me as long as I can see the show and hear it.

Can't wait to watch these episodes from scratch.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 10 February 2009
The Big Bang Theory is about two well educated guys sharing a house - Sheldon, a physics genius, who's just not very street wise at all, and has a lot of quirks; and Leonard - still a geek, but he's more versed in the ways of dealing with society and other people. He still isn't perfect though.

His friends are bizarre too, Raj cannot talk to women unless he's had a few drinks and Howard is just a bit creepy at times, but he seems to be a good friend to Sheldon and Leonard.

When Penny (Kaley Cuoco - 8 Simple Rules) moves in across the hallway, the boys are a bit baffled by her and not sure what to do. Leonard decides he wants to be with Penny, but Raj just can't talk to her, and Howard just annoys her, and she is just not used to Sheldon's bizarre ways. Penny herself is a waitress at The Cheesecake Factory - and has a great personality. She can be a bit materialistic at times, but she's the usual 20 something girl.

This show is usually good, but at times you feel the cast don't gel as well as they should. The laughter track is absolutely annoying and you learn to filter it out. My favourite has to be Leonard as he seems a bit more human - but Sheldon is rather annoying at times and you just wish you could get him to snap out of it. Penny is also great, and Raj is really funny.

My favourite episode has to be the one where they convince a Korean boy not to come to the faculty - as Sheldon becomes impossible when the boy insults his work.

The DVD is really poor though - not even DVD9s - you get 3 DVD5 disks which only fill 80% of the disk. The picture is rather compressed and not as good as it was on TV, and HD viewers are going to be very disappointed with the transfer. There are no extras but piles of subtitles - so you should find the language you need easily. It's really disappointing, plus the mix is only 2.0 - whereas on Channel 4 it was full 5.1, which made the swooshing sound as they moved from scene to scene a bit more glorious, now it's just a let down.

Good show, shame about the less than average DVDs. I'm giving the 4 stars for the show, the DVD deserves no stars at all.
22 comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 November 2015
Its personal choice as in all things entertainment so one will enjoy the series or .....
I find the scripts very well written and the acting superb. Its just so nice to have a laugh these days that appear so full of stress.

It is also great to see a show with zero bad language. Family friendly viewing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
To be completely honest I didn't really like `The Big Bang Theory' when I saw it on TV first. I found the idea interesting and some of the jokes funny, but never really laughed out loud. Then I saw an episode from a later series and found it hilarious and went back to this with a fresh eye and I found it a LOT more appealing. Following genius' Sheldon, Leonard and their friends who live in a nerdy parallel universe to everyone else, this has some great science based jokes. Sheldon is easily the funniest character with his literal interpretation of everyday events and his cold, logical reasoning, but the other characters raise many a laugh as well. The actor who plays Wolowitz is especially funny as a perpetually horny nerd. To see how they want to interact with `normal' people (especially the hot neighbour Penny) is quite endearing as they battle between their high IQ look of the world and wanting to be involved in regular social situations and this makes for plenty of funny scenarios. Each episode is only about 18 minutes long and these are great to put on when you have a few minutes spare. If you know a bit of basic science then these jokes will be all the more funny, but it is in no way a prerequisite. Well worth a look and if you don't like it first time round it's worth trying again. Never has geek chic been so funny.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 20 January 2009
Before purchasing this DVD I'd seen odd episodes on TV late at night and thought it was funny, so I gave the full series a go and watching it from the start has been such a treat I think that anyone who has not watched this show is really missing out...it's brilliant!

It's about a pretty, blonde girl named Penny who moves into an apartment after breaking up with her boyfriend. Across the hall live two geeky physicists, Leonard and Sheldon. They have completely different lifestyles but it is fun and interesting to see how both the beauty and the geeks are in various, very funny situations.

I can't remember the last sitcom I saw that has been as hilarious, heart-warming and addictive as this. I watched the whole series within two days as I was enjoying it so much and I can't wait to see series 2 now!

I can't recommend this show highly enough - it is already well up there with other sitcom classics such as Friends and Frasier in my opinion and I think once it is more commonly known, this show is going to be big!
11 comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
‘The Big Bang Theory’ is about a bunch of characters living in Pasadena, California - mainly Leonard Hofstadter and Sheldon Cooper - who are both physicists at Caltech, Penny a waitress who later gets into sales, and Leonard and Sheldon's geeky co-workers, aerospace engineer Howard Wolowitz and astrophysicist Raj Koothrappali. Other minor roles over the seasons are promoted to starring roles: Bernadette Rostenkowski, Howard's girlfriend, a microbiologist and former part-time waitress alongside Penny; neuroscientist Amy Farrah Fowler and Stuart Bloom, the owner of the comic book store who, in Season 8, moves in with Howard's mother.

But the bulk of the narrative load over these eight Seasons rests with Leonard Hofstadter (played by Johnny Galecki) and Sheldon Cooper (played by Jim Parsons) and often concerns their socially awkward romantic difficulties. Leonard shares a Pasadena apartment with Sheldon. Leonard has a crush on his neighbor Penny when they first meet. They briefly date at the end of Season 1 and the start of Season 2 and in Season 3, they begin an on-again, off-again thing. In Season 5, he and Penny get back together, and at the end of Season 7, he proposes and she accepts. In Season 4 Sheldon Cooper begins a relationship with Amy, who eventually becomes his girlfriend during Season 5. In Season 8, Sheldon tells Amy that he loves her.

This is an excellent sitcom that pretty much succeeds in contextualising the humour within the actual and serious real-life scientific world in which they live and work. Many distinguished scientists have pitched up as guest stars on the show. Astrophysicist George Smoot had a cameo appearance in episode 17 of Season 2. Theoretical physicist Brian Greene appeared in episode 20 of Season 4. Astrophysicist, Neil deGrasse Tyson, appeared in episode 7 of Season 4 & infamous cosmologist Stephen Hawking made a short guest appearance in a Season 5 episode in which he meets Sheldon Cooper and points out a mistake in Sheldon's new Higgs Boson analysis!

Crude measures that these are, awards and ratings are sometimes useful indicators of the quality of a show – particularly over an eight Season stretch like this set. Over this span of Seasons, ratings have grown steadily – Season 8 ended way over double Season 1. Awards-wise, Jim Parsons won Emmys in 2010, 2011 and 2014. Parsons also won a 2011 Golden Globe. You get 183 episodes for your money with this box set. It’s not everyone’s cup of tea and personally I found the dysfunctional geeky thing overplayed sometimes. That said, it’s a stand out and unique sitcom that develops nicely over time. 5 stars.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)