Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
152
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 Download|Change
Price:£8.09
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 January 2003
This truly is the best of the wonderful Nigerian songstress. Once you have all the Sade out there (pre-Lovers Rock) so that you can listen to the wonderful non singles like 'Bullet Proof Soul', 'Couldn't Love You More', 'Maureen', 'Tar Baby' and others, this is the one to own. It's the one you put on when you just want to listen to Sade!
There is an amazingly smooth flow to this marvelously put together effort. You never want to skip around because the song before the one you want to hear is great to. It's like that. This is one of the best, 'Best Of' CD's out there. Every Sade fan has this one and you'll want to pick it up also. I have two. One is for my car, and the other is for my home. It's that great.
Whether you're a die hard Sade fan or just a casual listener, once you listen to this you will find yourself in the former category. That's what Sade does to you. The exotic blend of the band's rhythms and the smooth stylings of Sade Adu come together to form a unique musical experience like no other. There is no one like her so 'The Best of Sade' is the best, period.
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 July 2006
If ever i was asked to live on a desert island and i could take 1 album, then this would be it. I have played it to death over the years and i still find it new, still find new favourite parts.

Its simply an album of fantastic love songs, sung with a level of passion that you simply do not hear in other artists.

It is the ultimate, play at night, play in the car on the way home, wind down, hold your girl in your arms album.

Absolutely the best.
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 March 2006
Sometimes a "Best of..." compilation really does work and here's a perfect example. Not only does it live up to its title but it flows pretty seamlessly from start to finish capturing, on the way, some wonderful music from this underrated and increasingly forgotten artist. Sade's naturally "cool" voice weaves its way through a set of excellent, self-penned, jazz-tinged tracks featuring exquisite, perfectly "laid-back" arrangements to create a distinctive and unforgettable album that's a serious contender for one of the best late night records out there.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2002
Every romantic should have a Sade CD in their collection, and this is a well compiled CD featuring one of the most vocally seductive, and sultry artists around. Some editorial criticism i have noticed about Sade Adu is that her work all sounds the same, I would repudiate this criticism and argue that Sade is wonderfully diverse and unique, one of the true pioneers of R&B, this Gal has more strings in her bow than a guitar orchestra !
The best tracks in my opinion must be the moody, bluesy 'No Ordinary Love' drowned in sorrow, its lyrics are evocatively accurate about falling in love, 'Pearls' is a poignant track about starvation in Ethiopia Pearls being the metaphor for seeds a mother is collecting to grow food for her starving child, a very perceptive piece, musically so beautiful ending in Sade screaming Halleluya because shes so lucky (you gotta hear it), Cherish the day is cool, so is the satirical 'Smooth Operator' and Your love is king, another good ballad is 'Love is Stronger than pride'. I heard her new album 'Lovers Rock' and read shes aged 41, but she still looks and sounds better than ever.
Anyone with a pulse would love this
Anyone without one, it will awake you !
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2003
I find Sade Adu's voice enticing, hypnotic. There's a sensuality there, an earthiness, but maybe a bit ethereal and a bit other-worldly. Seductive, however you look at it.
Are these truly her best? Don't ask me, because I think every song on all her CDs should be considered her best.
Okay, I exaggerate. I don't usually, but she deserves it. This is for R&B listeners, for smooth jazz listeners, for soft rock listeners, along with a batch of other listeners.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2016
A superb collection of class by Sade. Wonderful vinyl pressing , no surface noise, just odd click you would expect to find on any vinyl record.Listen to this on a good vinyl set up and wonder why cd was ever invented. I just wish she would release more music.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2014
Some of the tracks on this album stand out for me like, Please Send Me Someone to Love.

One or two tracks are little boring and have got that laid back they end up straying into elevator music style. E.g. track 10, Nothing Can Come Between Us. It's so thin and repetitive.

Over-all though the laid back presentation Sade performs is it's strength. I like the vocal style because it doesn't present any harsh or hard tones. I like Dido for the same quality.

Over-all I do rate a full five stars even though I have the odd track which doesn't excite. They are not bad tracks though. The reason for five stars is that the remaining tracks are really that good, and carry it all the way.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2016
What have Lady Gaga, Adele, Shirley Bassey, Amy Winehouse, Gloria Estefan, Etta James, Annie Lennox, Sarah Vaughan, Tina Turner, Dione Warwick, Debbie Harry, Lisa Stansfield and Sade all got in common?
They all have ‘Contralto’ voices!
Sade has made 6 studio albums to date, 1984 – 2010, all of which have featured in the UK top 10. She has had 4 top 20 singles here with ‘Your Love is King’ reaching Number 6.
Aside from having the most wonderful voice, her music is the epitome of romantic easy listening. I love the almost hypnotic but subtle back beat to her music. The only very small critique I can offer is that all the very best songs are in the early part of the listen and that some of the others don't quite live up to that standard - but over all ... lovely!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2008
Sade along with Anita baker, queen of adult contemporary, jazz & R&B delivers this beautiful, romantic album which is absolutely flawless from start to finish, providing the ultimate smooth grooves & chill out classics, all the songs are a joy to listen to time and time again.

My personal favourites on this album would be the huge jazzy crescendos of `Is It A Crime' that song is just incredible, the sultry `Sweetest Taboo', trademark hit `Smooth Operator', `Paradise', the jazzy sultriness of `Jezebel', `Hang On To Your Love', `Love Is Stronger Than Pride', `Never As Good As The First Time' & `Nothing Can Come Between Us'.

A fantastic greatest hits from Sade, it's got all the ingredients, class, depth & an almost incomparable sophistication, my only criticism is that it only includes the solid hits from each of her albums, Sade has done some mind-blowing songs over the course of her career, this can be seen in particular on her earlier LPs such as `Diamond Life' & `Promise', it's a shame we only get to hear a small portion of what Sade is about, but otherwise amazing songs, amazing artist, no one does it quite like Sade.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 1999
Although there are a few songs from each of her individual cd's that are among some of my favorites, this cd does a terrific job of incorporating most of the best songs from each of them. This does have quite a few songs from "No Ordinary Love" so if you have this cd you may be disappointed - but it incorporates a great selection of the rest of Sade's songs. If you like Sade (and even if you don't know if you do) this cd can be listened to from beginning to end.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.