Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Refreshed in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop Now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars22
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

51 of 51 people found the following review helpful
on 11 February 2002
Crosby & Nash's first album as a duo balances sing-a-long rockers with reflective mood pieces which suprise and delight. Of the two artists, Crosby produces the quieter moments - 'Where Will I Be?'is one of his most depressing yet beautiful songs, balanced by the answer song of 'Page 43,' his first steps to recovery following the death of Christine Hinton. He also succeeds with the calmness of 'Games,' a song rejected by the Byrds.Nash equally shares the spoils - 'Southbound Train' is a Dylan-Eagles type song but with the glorious harmonies, while 'Stranger's Room' & 'Immigration Man' were based on reallife events. Equally 'Frozen Smiles' was written about Nash's troubled friendship with Stephen Stills at the time - showing that C&N didn't really need him at this point. Atlantic's decision to re-release this album was a wise one indeed. An excellent album all round.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
34 of 34 people found the following review helpful
on 24 June 2004
Finally, after eons out of print, Atlantic made available again this gem from the early 70's, a great album even in the context of the great music that was still being created, regularly, back then, and probably one of Crosby & Nash's most accomplished collaborations.
Everything you likely already cherish about these two is present here, heartfelt and immaculate harmonies, strong and distinct compositions from both artists, and superb musicianship -again provided by the 60's elite of California's session players.
When it comes to specific songs, it's more a matter of personal choices than objective hierarchies. Nash's songs are particularly moving and fiercer -as much as "fierce" is ever something to be said about Graham Nash- than anything in "Songs For Beginners." Crosby's pieces carry the wonderful dramatic undertow he could invoke -it seems, at will- ever since The Byrds' days and, more poignantly, in his first solo album and Deja Vu.
All in all, a thing of beauty. No disappointments, no proverbial "black holes."
An example of the significant music that you could still expect in the early seventies, before that decade turned grandiose and stupid.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
30 of 30 people found the following review helpful
on 2 November 2006
This is the first album released by just Crosby and Nash and its a winner. Its that album that you want to play late at night, with rain on the windsheild,or with that open fire lit. Ok it is a bit hippy, but at the good end of the spectrum, pure Woodstock Folk music. The delight with this compared to other C and N release is that you can listen to it whole as a complete piece of music, theres no dross. Other C and N albums have their moments , all have good songs on, but not until the latest one, the one they annoyingly seem to also called Crosy and Nash , which i call ' Lay me Down', do they do another consistant album.

This album though kicks off with the splifftastic ' Southbound Train' by Nash and even if you gave up chasing smoke circles in '74 it evokes that folky feel.Wheres my Freak Bros mag gone? I would highly reccomend this album and hope a version with bonus tracks and info book comes out as I'm sure they must of recorded more at these sessions and I , and it seems most other people know very little about this not quite lost gem.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on 14 February 2010
Loved this album since 1972. The vinyl copy still had regular playings, but decided to invest in a CD copy at a price that was just to silly to pass by. Shame there are no bonus tracks, as I'm sure there are some additional songs that never saw the light of day, or the 'extended' original takes like those that have subsequently surfaced on Remastered versions of DC's and CSN&Y boxsets, and raised the question just why the hell they were edited in the first place.
Nevertheless, this CD is quality stuff from beginning to end. Crosby's 'dark' and slightly obtuse approach to song structure is perfectly complimented by Nash's more direct approach. Anyone who regarded Nash as 'the lightweight' amongst CSN&Y should think again. True, his contributions to the early CSN(&Y) were the poppier elements of their sound, but also some of their most instantly recognisable and commercially successful numbers. Here Graham has added a bit more bite to his songs, particularly the closing 'Immigration Man'.
The album opens with Nash's 'Southbound Train' which has Nash moving from his english pop mode of Deja Vu's 'Our House' into a truly American mellow country rock sound, similar in sound and feel to much of Neil Young's 'Harvest' album, and with great success.
Crosby follows up with the excellent 'Whole Cloth', and their trend of (by and large) alternating tracks, which is followed on their next 2 albums is set. If it works so well, why change it.
Anybody who admires Crosby's work in either The Byrds, CSN(&Y) or his brilliant 'if I could only remember my name' solo debut will not be disappointed in any of his work here. In fact songs such as 'Where will I be?" and "Page 43" could be among his very best. The same goes for fan's of Nash's 'Song's for Beginners', and this joint effort is, unsuprisingly, the natural companion album to both their solo albums and Deja Vu. Given the excellence of those albums that amounts to a hearty recommendation for Crosby and Nash's first, and in my opinion, best joint album.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 26 May 2009
I first saw Crosby & Nash over 30 years ago sing the songs on this wonderful album. Age may have withered them but it has`nt staled their infinite variety. The music ranges from simple, accoustic love songs to excellently produced soft rock. It`s a record that captures the mood of it`s time and place. A time when music had`nt been hi-jacked by metronomic electronic gimmickery and over sophisticated stage shows. Just two men sitting in the spotlight, occasionally supported by a backing group in the best tradition of the old singer-song writers. May that Southbound Train continue to roll.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
on 23 June 2008
Released on cd some years ago to celebrate 40 years of Atlantic, this new release on Rhino claims to have FOUR bonus tracks but latest news is that there are no new tracks. Whilst one of C & Ns more consistent efforts with Crosby's Page 43 being the highlight - there is no need to buy this if you already have it ..CHECK if the additional tracks are there before buying it. CD JUST ARRIVED AND NO EXTRA TRACKS...RIP OFF.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
on 7 March 2011
Possibly the best of any album of C,S,N & Y; C, S & N; or N & C. But must be depressed when listening to it otherwise it's full impact will not be appreciated - preferably after rejection in love, losing a love or yearning after an unrequited love. But suffering from extreme angst will do. If, on first listening, you think "Where I will be" is the saddest song you have ever heard, just wait until you reach "Games"! What an opening line - "Born in the Sunshine, dying in the rain...". How can you beat that for non-joyoussness? Definately one I am going to play at my funeral to get everyone weeping profusely.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 29 August 2008
This is a fantastic collection of songs, and perhaps the best of all the albums which sprang from CSN. It has Crosby's strongest selection of songs, including the amazing Games and the haunting and moving Where will I be? This and Wind on the water represent Crosby and Nash's creative peak, with or without S and Y.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2013
This is the first of three Crosby And Nash albums, perhaps the strongest of the three although many will say "Wind On The Water" was their best.Southbound Train, Whole Cloth, Strangers Room, Page 43, Games, Girl To Be On My Mind, The Wall Song and Immigration Man are my favourites.
1. Southbound Train
2. Whole Cloth
3. Blackstones
4. Strangers Room
5. Where Will You Be?
6. Page 43
7. Frozen Smiles
8. Games
9. Girl To Be On My Mind
10. The Wall Song
11. Immigration Man
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2011
Like Crosby's If I could only remember my name, the first album by C&N is filled with both commercial (Southbound train, Immigration man) and unconventional songs (Blacknotes, Where will I be?) and it's one of those albums I treasure a lot. It's not that every song is a classic, but it's definitely an album which has a strong feeling and mood. Strangers Room, Where Will I be? and Page 43 have always been songs I turn to as a sort of comfort. Classic stuff.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed

CSN by Stills & Nash Crosby

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)
Save Big Black Friday/Cyber Monday. Free Shipping on Orders of $50+!