Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Black Friday Deals Week in Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Amazon Fire TV Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars194
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: MP3 DownloadChange
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

28 of 29 people found the following review helpful
on 23 October 2002
The Immaculate Collection is where you want to start any Madonna collection off... It ranges from her "first" song Holiday to her Justify My Love/Rescue Me songs from 1990. In between are all her fantastic 80's hits, Like A Prayer and Into The Groove, 2 particular brilliant tracks but there is not one average track on the entire album! Noticable emissions are Who's That Girl, The Look of Love, Causing a Commotion, Oh Father and Burning Up - however there are only so many songs that she could fit onto it! Top album, buy it NOW!!
*** 1 word of "WARNING" the songs on the immaculate collection have been remixed (apart from vogue/rescue me/justify my love I think) so buy the other albums because they have the original mixes (usually better!!) for example the orignal version of like a prayer is 10x better than the immaculate collection mix! ***
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
on 22 June 2002
There could be no other way of making a compilation of Madonna's early work than this, and she knows it too!This is still the original,definitive and unabridged version of the Queen of Pop's early greatest hits, 12 years after it's initial release!A compilation such as this should exist in everyone's music collection and should be kept in an immaculate condition!!
The album presents Madonna's greatest triumphs with classic and catchy 80's synth-pop tunes such as "Holiday," "Lucky Star," "Borderline," "Like A Virgin," "Material Girl" and "Into the groove." In addition to this, possibly her greatest ballad "Crazy For You" and the deep and dark "Live to Tell," which has also been included on the original "True Blue" album and her collection of ballads "Something to remember." Her other successes such as "Papa Don't Preach" and "Open Your Heart" are also included and are provided with the contrasting and controversial "Like A Prayer." The album seems to have been arranged in a chronolgical way, not only of initial release, but also of maturity. Madonna's style seems to be constantly developing into more mature and personal work but every song she has made is a true gem!Just like this album!
The 90's smash hit "Vogue" is also included and can be listened to time and time again.This contrasts with "Cherish" which is pure, sing-along pop and still a timeless classic!The controversial "Justify My Love" is definately worth a listen and one can learn to appreciate the song-writing genius of this song after listening to it a few times!
Don't just stand there, let's get to it, strike a pose, there's nothing to it and BUY THIS CD NOW!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 23 August 2012
Covering the period between her 1983 major debut single Holiday and 1990's Vogue, The Immaculate Collection is Madonna's first and best greatest hits album. It doesn't include all of her singles from this period, missing the number one hits True Blue and Who's That Girl as well as Angel, Dress You Up, Gambler, Causing A Commotion, The Look Of Love, Dear Jessie and Hanky Panky it does include all of her most well known tracks as well as two new tracks the sexual Justify My Love and Rescue Me.....
All of the hits here appear in a slightly remixed form although none of them detract from the songs themselves and the remix version of Like A Prayer is absolutely fantastic.
The album starts off with Holiday and runs in chronological order through her 80s hit and while a lot of the early ones could be described as little more than throw-away pop songs tracks like Live To Tell, Like A Prayer and Vogue are classics which would be hits regardless of what decade they were released in.
If you only own one Madonna album from the 80's make it this one. You get all of the hits and none of the filler of her 80's albums.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
Here are just some of Madonna's early classic hits. When this compilation was assembled, Madonna already had too many hits to include them all on a single CD, hence the omission of Angel, Dress you up, Gambler, True blue and all the hits from the soundtrack, Who's that girl? Because of her continuous success in the years that followed the release of this compilation, a comprehensive Madonna hits collection would now require a triple CD. That is a measure of her brilliance, sustained over a very long period of time.

The set begins with three hits from her debut album, of which Holiday is the best but Lucky star and Borderline are also wonderful. Then come Like a virgin and Material girl, two of the singles released from her outstanding second album. Crazy for you, an excellent ballad, and Into the groove, a superb dance song, come next. Although the title track is omitted, four other major hits from the True blue album (Live to tell, Papa don't preach, Open your heart, La Isla Bonita) can be found here, each one of them a classic but very different from each other. Three major hits from Like a prayer include Express yourself and Cherish. Vogue (from I'm breathless) and two tracks not available on any previous album (Justify my love, Rescue me) complete the set.

Anybody who does not understand why Madonna has such a huge fan base only has to listen to this compilation to find out why. Catchy pop tunes with interesting lyrics (for those that bother to listen to the words) are Madonna's trademark, yet she manages to avoid becoming formulaic. Madonna has continuously changed her style, so you don't hear the same sound over and over again.

There is no definitive Madonna compilation yet but we may have to wait a few years for that. Until that time, this is the best introduction to her music that is available.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 18 April 2003
Madonna is one of the greatest singers of all time and this is definately her best album. Includes 11 hit singles and 6 number 1's, "Vogue", "Like a Prayer", Like A Virgin", "Papa Don't Preach, "Into the Groove" and "La Isla Bonita". My favourite is the incredible "Vogue" which you can't resist getting up and doing the strange dance to. Madonna's debut single "Holiday" gets the album off to a great start and you'll find yourself singing along to the heart felt ballad "Crazy For You" which was the soundtrack to the movie "Vision Quest" in the 80's. "Express Yourself" is great to dance to and puts you in a good mood always no matter how down you are just turn this one on. The smash hit "Material Girl" is really upbeat and fun to sing and dance to, so give it a try. You'll love this album, a great buy.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2012
After Madonna's successful album releases it was decided to make a collection of her greatest hits. It was her first creation of this type of album and was released on November 9, 1990 by Sire Records. As Madonna's studio albums titled, Madonna, Like a Virgin, True Blue,and Like a Prayer took off so did the hits. This collection has most of them. The one's not included are from her Who's That Girl Era which is why she also released a European Album EP as her 4th single titled Holiday Collection with the songs: Holiday re-released, Who's That Girl, True Blue and Causing A Commotion. If you buy this album and the Holiday Collection EP then that is the complete hits package.

After promoting her album titled, LIKE A PRAYER through her BLOND AMBITION WORLD TOUR Madonna felt that IMMACULATE COLLECTION would be a great name to use as the title although Ultra Madonna was the one first thought of. This is one of the best albums of all times selling well over 30 million copies and being certified diamond by the RIAA [according to Wikipedia]. It is ranked as the best compilation album of all solo artists ever. All the songs except JUSTIFY MY LOVE were mixed Q-Sound. All tracks except the 2 new ones were remixed by Shep Pettibone along side to Goh Hotoda or Michael Hutchinson according to Wikipedia.

Aside the single mentioned above titled, Holiday Collection, Madonna also released the singles: Justify My Love, Crazy for You in the UK [which is from her movie VISION QUEST] and rescue me -3tr-. A total of 4 singles in all.

My favorite songs that I enjoy the most from my listening experience would have to be EXPRESS YOURSELF, VOGUE, RESCUE ME, OPEN YOUR HEART, JUSTIFY MY LOVE and INTO THE GROOVE. The dance infused sounds and highly energetic beats are definitely uplifting and fun! If you look at the tracks all have been released from all her first 4 studio albums. Unquestionnably then, this is a gold mine of hits-non-stop dance pop collection!

Notable to mention is that Vogue was not from her studio album as it was released from her soundtrack I'M BREATHLESS to her movie DICK TRACY. And CRAZY FOR YOU was also from the movie VISION QUEST. And like mentioned above JUSTIFY MY LOVE and RESCUE ME are not on any other release album before.

The first single, JUSTIFY MY LOVE was released November 6, 1990. Despite the fact the video was deemed too controversial and banned from MTV viewing the single hit the #1 spot on the Billboard Hot 100-making it Madonna's ninth #1 single in the US. It was certified by the RIAA as Platinum. And the video was ranked #1 on Fuse TV's 100 Sexiest Videos of All Times. The song has a very sensual vibe throughout as Madonna's vocals are deeper and heavier at times. Like her later release titled EROTICA this song has a very similar aura of appeal. The mood is enhanced with lyrics about fantasies, desires, and intimacy very relate-able to many.

The single, CRAZY FOR YOU originally released for her movie [Vision Quest] on March 2, 1985 was later remixed to be re-released February 24, 1991. The song was #1 in the US Billboard Hot 100. It is a pop ballad and is one of Madonna's strongest to date even performing it on her REINVENTION TOUR IN LISBON. The vocal intonation and musical background are soft, romantic, and very relate-able to many as falling in love is special and rare. Time has passed and I never tire of hearing this song it is one of my favorite ballads alongside LIVE TO TELL which is also great.

The single, RESCUE ME, released February 26, 1991 peaked at #9 on the Billboard Hot 100 Singles Chart and was certified Gold by the RIAA. From the first time I heard this song I was instantly fascinated by the dance pop elements and fast energetic pace. Reminiscent of JUSTIFY MY LOVE in ambiance, this song thus was a compliment in bringing the love and romance elements quite strong.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 11 May 2003
Madonna needs little introduction, and neither does this album, which should be part of any music collection. From her first hit “Holiday” to the haunting “Like A Prayer”, this album is packed-full of Madonna’s best pop music, with all the favourites such as “Material Girl” and “Vogue”. If you love Madonna’s earlier stuff, back when she was pure pop, this is definitely your cup of tea – it is absolute quality pop music from start to finish and great for the summer.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on 15 December 2000
Along with Abba Gold, The Best Of Blondie and The Beatles '1' this is a must-have CD which charts the rise and rise of Madonna, from early squeaky synth-pop ('Holiday','Lucky Star'), mid-eighties capitalism ('Material Girl'), the so-called voice of youth ('Papa Don't Preach') through to religious outrage ('Like A Prayer') and soft-porn ('Justify My Love'). There's something for everyone here; buy this and the current album Music, and you'll find a woman at the peak of her powers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2008
This is still the best compilation of Madonna's earlier work covering her first set of studio albums between 1983 and 1990. The running order is perfectly chronological, always good for a compilation as we can see how she developed and expanded her sound over the years.

No doubt lack of space (this is a 1CD set only) meant that the sublime no.1 single Who's That Girl, the excellent power-pop of Gambler, the quirky Causing A Commotion (albeit taken from a terrible movie) and Hanky Panky (a no.2 hit from 1990) don't even get a look in. Nor do the Top 5 hits Angel and Dear Jessie, or the lesser-known Top 10 hit The Look of Love. Thus seven big hits are missing and a 24 track double-CD would have done Madonna proper justice, and would probably have sold just as well.

Even though Madonna had a long purple patch in the early to mid-1990's (only redeemed by 1997's Ray of Light album), this is still probably the best way to remember her earlier output. It's an incredible string of 17 consecutive UK Top 10 hits, all of which are instantly recognisable as 'MadgeMusic'. Hopefully Sire will consider a more comprehensive 2-disc set one day covering this period ?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on 30 August 2004
I wasn't even born when this album was first released but when I first heard it from my older brothers collection i thought she was a brilliant pop artist who's music is as good or better than anything that we hear today.
My top five
4.Material girl
3.Like a Virgin
2.Like a Prayer
I also totally loved last years hit 'Hollywood', Madonna's still got it after all these years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Customers who viewed this item also viewed


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.