Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.9 out of 5 stars236
3.9 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 March 2013
My first impression of this product was that it wasn't sufficiently sealed to keep the water out. The cable entrance in particular is not designed for an exterior cable and doesn't form a tight seal. I installed it and used a lot of silicone to correct the inadequate sealing. It worked perfectly with good sensitivity and range, but after 3-4 weeks without much rain it failed in the open position, so the light is always on.

Water is visible behind the detector screen. Very annoying to have to replace it. I imagine quite a few of the positive reviews are written after a few days of installation. A predictable failure.
33 comments36 of 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2013
Two units installed Feb 2012, both have since failed and have to be replaced. Unfortunately purchased late 2011 so not worth the hassle of complaining or returning for the money, I just won't buy any more Byron Elro products!
0Comment15 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2014
Flimsy and cheap, if you like wasting time installing poor quality electronics which then don't work, go ahead and purchase - you won't be disappointed. I bought two of these, the second of which is faulty and less value than a piece of wire. It has been installed over one year since bought so out of warranty period. Note to self buy quality in future... just ordered a Steinel for considerably more money to replace. You get what you pay for etc.

Bought to replace sensors which were old and tatty looking, but still working. Unfortunately I didn't apply the addage, if it aint broke don't fix it. It appeared to be working initially, but within 24hrs of fitting, water is visible behind the lens of the sensor part, so clearly not a well sealed product (note Steinel, made in Germany products are better sealed, IP54 rated).

The plastic is brittle and of low quality. The three adjustable rotatory dials are situated beneath the sensor lens component. These are fiddly and very cheap. On the one that does work, they are hard to set accurately, why therefore bother having a product with three items you can vary - crap shoot comes to mind!

The one which doesn't work at least doesn't switch on during the day, but once activated at night, stays lit invariably for multiple hours, even with the time set to minimum and the sensitivity set to minimum.

It isn't always better to pay more money, but in my experience with this product, I would recommend avoiding.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 February 2013
Not a good purchase, poor movement detection. I took it down and purchased a better product (cost more).
Seems like it's cheap because it's poor quality.
0Comment9 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2012
I bought this PIR Detector through Amazon to replace a failed one on a floodlight. I'm not an electrician but this item was easy enough to instal and it does a really good job. There are adjustments for Sensitivity, 'On' time and Ambient light. Poorer products often allow no adjustment so the light comes on when its not required. This one is fully adjustable. And I'm about to buy a second.

Some reviews suggested it might not last very long. I've only had mine for a few days, so fingers crossed it keeps going.
0Comment29 of 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 March 2013
It works ok, but difficult to achieve the required setting to prevent day time operation and hard to see which adjusters are which, after unit is installed and is way off the ground. Also it is difficult to catch hold of the control knobs...
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2013
I have tried wiring this up as prescribed and I have also tried every other combination possible. I can get it to come on, but it never turns off
77 comments8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2011
I found this sensor relatively easy to install with no major issues to report. The only minor point I have to report is thefact that the gromets which the wires pass through were too stiff and could not be easily fixed into the unit itself after the wires had been passed through. Other than this, the detection of movement and switching the light on and the time which teh light remained on was spot on. Not a bad product for the price
0Comment12 of 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 August 2011
Easy to fit with simple instructions. Appears to work very well so I'm very happy with my purchase. Also delivery was very quick.
22 comments13 of 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 February 2013
dead easy to set up, mount, switch on, adjust the various settings and away you go,
but beware of moving objects in windy conditions, it will see them and switch on not the products fault.
so check line of site, good value for the money.
11 comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 21 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.