Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Subscribe and Save Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars97
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2009
i was going to get and e-z bar to do bicep curls, as it takes the pressure off your wrist unlike the strait bar. This bar has the same part as the e-z bar for curls with the added bit in the middle for doing triceps, which works out as great value for money.
0Comment17 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2013
A bit smaller than expected, but good enough for what it is designed for.
Bar measure 1200mm (4')
Space between inner collars 830mm
Useable Weight disc space 170mm
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 August 2011
What a great piece of equipment this is. I was looking for a bar to make doing upright rows and lying tricep extentions easier on my wrists. If you use a standard straight bar, it tries to pull your wrists at all sorts of angles, especially on upright rows. Using this one, the angle of the bar is exactly where your hands need to be. Also the U-shaped bit in the middle goes under your chin, so you don't hit yourself with it, like I was, using a straight one.
The price is very good too. Your talking about £40 for kit like this. Amazon was the cheapest by far. I would recommend buying this bar just for doing upright rows as it has improved my form by 50%.
0Comment9 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2015
wow! such poor quality. who would have thought that such a simple piece of equipment could be such a let down.
i was looking forward to this as ive had some serious wrist pain using regular dumbbells (york) recently and after a little research and reading up on reviews here i decided to give this tri/curl combi bar a go.

as it turned up on the door, a day late, it was barely covered in a thin plastic wrap already ripped and falling off. i wasnt too bothered as it is solid metal, but still i expected a little more from amazon, who normally send small items in huge over padded boxes.

i was quite lucky as i quickly and easily remover the remaining plastic wrap, that i didnt cut myself open. on each end of the bar there was a razor sharp metal splinter. i was surprised and lucky to only graze my hand on one as i was removing the plastic wrap, so i checked the other end only to find another one.

the chrome and metal castings are just so poor. chrome hasnt been applied in places. small chips are breaking off the nuts only creating more sharp edges and the nuts them self are very loose on the bar, this really is the lowest quality lifting bar i have ever set eyes on. i am truly shocked amazon supplied me this.

if you do choose to buy one of these bent tri/curl combi bars, do yourself a favor and purchase a different brand.
review image review image review image
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2016
This bar is great for doing either bicep curls or a lying tricep extension (skullcrusher) while taking the strain off you wrists and forearms. There are of course, more exercises you can do with the bar.

The problem with doing the two exercises I mentioned above with a straight bar is that they put pressure on your wrists, causing discomfort and thus making the exerciser use less weight. Less weight means that the exercise will be less effective and the results less impressive. Doing the same exercise with the hands at an angle relieves the pressure and allows you to do the exercise in relative comfort, meaning you can add a bit more weight to your lift.

The curve of this bar is a bit more acute than a normal EZ bar, which I like but some people may not. It comes with spin lock collars and is for 1 inch weight plates. The chrome finish does mark easily, more than other bars I own, for which the bar loses a star. All in all, it does the job and does it well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2015
A great bar for an arms workout. With the different places for your hands to hold on to, different areas of the biceps and even triceps can be met when working out. It's weight is even and it is a strong build. The diameter of the bar matches the standard York Fitness Plates.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 October 2012
I wanted this product for exercises such as the upright row and overhead tricep extension. The item is perfect for both.
My York cast iron weights fit it perfectly and the metal spinlock collars match the York dumbbell kit I own.

Before buying this item I was torn between it and York E-Z Curl Bar - 5.1 kg. I am glad that I went for this as the curves are more ergonomic and therefore more comfortable to use.
The item is quite heavy on its own, weighing in at just over 5 kg with no weight on it!
It came well packaged and it's a sturdy piece of kit which should last me for years.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2012
This bar is a solid build tough enough to hold up too 100kg easy great grip as well the delivery speed was excellent. great bar for an amazing 19 pound !!
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 July 2015
Ok I've been exercising for years, full home gym and on and off at gyms in-between having a home gym. This bar really does take the pressure off your wrists and significantly improves your ability to keep going and reach higher reps with less fatigue.

Granted only just started using it, but feels durable and made strong, feels hard wearing.

To anyone who enjoys a good work out and anyone who wants a comfortable piece of equipment I HIGHLY RECOMMEND this bar ! Good price, greeeeat delivery speed. Thanks guys.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 January 2010
I'm not sure how much better quality you could get this bar as it is just solid metal with 2 good quality spin locks on each end. Easy to use and great for numerous arm workouts. Would definitely recommend this over the E-Z bar as it gives you a wider-range of more concentrated exercises that you can do.
0Comment11 of 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 3 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.