Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars250
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£18.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 May 2010
Put simply, this bar is excellent for home use. The spin-lock collars can irritate if you are frequently changing plates but, since the weights shouldn't be sliding around if you're using good form, you don't have to lock them tight which saves time. The weight sleeves of the bar are a little short so you will need to opt for heavier weights and fewer of them if you want to push yourself. As has already been mentioned by another reviewer, this bar is not compatible with Olympic plates - the bar is only 1" in diameter. For the money this bar is a great addition to a home gym and can save a lot of wrist strain on your bicep curls.
22 comments27 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2014
This bar, is a bar. It's made from solid metal, does weigh in at about 5.1kg and is a bit over 1 meter long in total with about 17 cm each side for weight plates.
It's good value.
It's not as angled as some would like.
I think it's fine.
All my standard (1") plates fit fine on it.
I originally received a yoga mat (?!) in the post. I then emailed Amazon after that. I returned the yoga mat and received the actual bar very quickly, so, good work there Amazon.
The bar wasn't packaged in much more than some plastic, it's not exactly like it's going to break though.
Thanks for reading.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 December 2009
Great price spin-lock curling bar, and with free postage it's a real bargain. The gym I go to have this exact bar, and have had it for over three years, it's had a lot of use and abuse and it has withheld it well - so I know it's a hardy piece of equipment and will last me for years. A*.
0Comment21 of 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2009
Same as the 6ft straight bar - Does exactly what its designed for. Spin lock design can be tedious if you're changing plates a lot but will work your wrists!
NOT suitable for Olympic size plates as I found out, only 1 inch diameter, don't make the same mistake I did through ignorance! I've now ordered an Olympic bar.
0Comment24 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2011
Recently I decided to dig my old York weight set out but found that a few items had gone missing including the dumbell bars.

Although certainly not the cheapest of EZ bar options, this is a solid bar of very sturdy construction. It should handle any weight plate that you decided to put on it. Good solid spinlocks secure the plates in place and rubber seals ensure that these locks do not easily unscrew.

The York EZ bar I owned previously was hollow tube construction (as are most alternatives) with spring locking clips. This design is a huge improvement and worth the money.

Definately worth buying if you want durability.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2013
Great additional piece of workout equipment for home, coupled with some 5kg plates this item is perfect for doing some upper body strengthening as part of my exercise regime. First time users may require gloves as the grips are quite abrasive and will cause calloused hands to begin with.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 December 2011
I ordered this E-Z curl bar as I was finding that my dumbbells were not ideal when trying to do arm curls with both arms at the same time. The bar is solidly made and has a nice weight. Not too heavy but enough to feel solid with added weights. The only downside with these types of bars (same with the york dumbbell bars) is that the spinlocks can come loose when doing reps and you have to keep fiddling with these. That said, it's a minor quibble and at this price, it's a real bargain.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2014
I love this curl bar! It offers much more variety than a straight curl bar, allowing you to test a whole range of upper body muscles. My old clunky weights fit easily onto the bar, and the spin locks are sturdy without much movement. Overall, would highly recommend this item. York is a known entity in fitness equipment and this curl bar is representative of that.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2010
This bar is strong, and cheap and durable and great for personal use. It's not particularly heavy duty, but for someone just looking to do a bit of targeted lifting at home, it's perfect. It is comfortable to use for triceps and biceps extensions and curls, and can be used for various back, shoulder and chest exercises too, though probably not for bench press as the bar's a bit narrow. Overall, a brilliant product for the price.
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2011
very strong bar, great bar exactly what i wanted.
the spinlock collars are a real pain tho as even when i screw them on tight, they tend to loosen so for the time being, im using different spinlock collars on the bar while i just ordered spring collars which should hopefully solve the problem. other than the collar irritation, item was delivered earlier than anticipated and in great condition! :D
0Comment5 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 12 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.