Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars95
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£8.84+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 7 June 2009
Having watched the dire adaptations of the Winter Solstice novel by the same producers, I began this DVD with a heavy heart, and quickly found that, despite a few creaky moments, it really works well. I think the main reason for this is Vanessa Redgrave, an actress of such immense presence that she can carry almost anything. Here she has a decent script, excellent performances from Maximilian Schell and Prunella Scales amongst others, and pretty decent production values. A surprisingly good watch, really.
0Comment44 of 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2010
Excellent dvd as so true to the book. A lot of films and dvd's do not match the story, but this one does. Ofcourse, the wonderful acting of Vanessa Redgrave never fails anyone.
0Comment17 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2010
I thoroughly wenjoyed this version of the Shell Seekers, Vanessa Redgrave was excellent as Penolope Keeling, and the other members of the cast worked well. Also the best thing was that the film followed the story closely.
0Comment15 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I don't know how so many reviewers say this adaptation follows the book closely , the first five minutes are fine but after that it's as if the director dropped the script messing up all the scenes and carried on regardless changing the dialogue and making up ridiculous ideas to join the parts back together. Vanessa Redgrave was the only person who was good and well cast all the others were dreadfully miss-cast. Nancy was slim not obese Olivia was overpowering and abrupt not cynical and businesslike Noel was like a pathetic wimp not a scheming womaniser Cosmo was too young with completely the wrong personality and Antonia was dark haired and stroppy not blond and sweet . One of the main characters Danus who should have been prominent did not appear until late in the second instalment and turned from an Adonis exuding masculinity to a pathetic wimp. The whole essence of the book was lost by completely flat acting by most of the cast. Quite possibly one of the worst book adaptations I've ever watched - it's a lesson in how to turn an excellent book into a terrible film. It shouldn't have been called Rosamunde Pilcher's "The Shell Seekers" but a film very loosely based on Rosamunde Pilcher's "The Shell Seekers".
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2007
great chick flick hits all the buttons and reminds you of how different life was during and after the war and how relationships at that time tended to differ massively to today. Also great insight into family dynamics. Has its happy, sad, deep, emotional moments really really enjoyed it
0Comment15 of 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 November 2014
Bought this DVD for my mum as she is a big fan of the books. She loved it and has re watched it many times! Would recommend to any fans.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2014
Brilliant film. To be honest I didn't realise it was in two parts, so was mortified when the titles started rolling on what I thought was a bad ending!!!! Oops, good job I kept watching the titles roll. Bought as a used item in good condition. No problems with the DVD at all. Came to me return of post.
0Comment3 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2013
I loved the book and find Rosamund Pilcher has a great insight into people. So the DVD didn't disappoint. Maybe it would have been better to have first seen the DVD before reading the book as peoples' traits and situations do change in a film. I would recommend this DVD to all Pilcher fans.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2015
Saw it on Tele and found it very different. I don't make a habit of collecting DVDs of too many films after a first viewing but found this well Directed - acted and filmed - and the story was interesting. Nice to have in ones collection!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 August 2013
Lovely film,totally enjoyable.Great story and well acted.I would recommend this for a chilled Sunday afternoon. It is an eye opening story on how family members vary from being greedy to non materialistic.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse