Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars142
4.6 out of 5 stars
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 May 2011
I have a Mapex Black Panther. It's a lovely snare drum. But, my lack of experience in the tuning department, has resulted in a nasty sounding over-tone. Sounds like a beer keg!

You need some overtone with a snare, otherwise it sounds weak and lacks any real volume.

I tried damper rings, but they totally killed the overtone and silenced the snare drum.

I heard some excellent reviews about Moongel and one of my Drummer buddies uses them.

I only had to use one pad. (Pack comes with 4). Now the amount of overtone is perfect. The snare sounds lovely :D

I would highly recommend these.
11 comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2010
These little gel things are amazing! Take all the ring out of drums, and make drums sound way better. If you're not using them you're missing out!
0Comment10 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 September 2010
Very good, it doesn't seem like much at first but you'll be surprised at the overall change in the quality of sound.
0Comment7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2011
These little things are amazing! They come in a small pot and when you put them on your drums, it makes them sound how you want, and it takes the ring straight out. Dont use duct tape. USE THESE.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 August 2012
It doesn't matter how many times you read that these thins are tiny you'll still be surprised when they arrive! the main concern I had was simply the fact that they're 'sticky' they really aren't. well, they stick to things but without any of the stickiness it's like witchcraft and they make drums sound beautiful, I have one on the bottom of my snare and 2 under my Ride cymbal. they reduce the ringing without making anything sound choked. they're also great for stopping that buzz on your snare when you play other drums at a similar pitch. I honestly can't think of anything that's made such a huge difference to the sound of my kit. would definitely recommend to anyone of any standard with any drum kit.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2013
Expecting a miracle? No. These are slightly less efficient than the 'folded-up-piece-of-kitchen-roll-in-some-duck-tape' type, but these don't lose their stickiness so quickly! Fitted on the INSIDE of the reso, they are fine and last well, but for the outside of the batter, just buy some proper damping-rings from your fave manufacturer which work much, much better.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2012
They are tiny and a lot smaller than I had imagined which is a bonus and they are very effective at damping down the drums. They stick really well and you can position them to get the optimum sound.
Very portable and would recommend them.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2014
I've been using moongel for years and its ok.

Recently i was sold the stagg version in a music shop and its far better. Stickier, i think you get 5 pads instead of 4, and it lasts longer without washing.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
well, there's not 4 in the pack but 6 - so there's enough to dampen both heads on all 3 toms!! very lovely effects acheived very quickly and easily! VERY sticky....i was worried that they wouldn't seperate - but they did just fine! ...easy to cut into smaller pieces if desired (use scissors!) i have acheived the sound i've been looking for - at last! I took my time in setting them up, ended up sticking them to the inside of each head - out the way and beautifully effective! Highly recommend. 5 stars!
...one happy drummer :D
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2012
Takes excessive ring out of snare drums or gives more focus to your floor tom. Try not to drop them on the floor of the hall you are playing in though - they pick up all the muck!
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.