Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen in Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars32
4.3 out of 5 stars
Price:£70.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 February 2011
Excellent headphones, Comfortable / Light. The sound is just..............Brilliant, these are the second pair I have owned, the First pair lated 20 Years.what more can I say.
22 comments7 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 April 2011
Excellent headphones. I can wear them for hours with little to no ear fatigue. And they are far more comfortable than they look. They could use a bit more separation and clarity but that's a minor quibble. You really can't beat the price on these if you're doing any audio work or even just listening to music.
11 comment10 of 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2009
These are fine pair of headphones for anybody who intends to spend long periods of time wearing them. They are comfortable, self adjusting for the head, light and unobtrusive - I often forget that I'm wearing them.

The sound reproduction is excellent and probably the best you will get for their price point. The design is circumaural, though the cups being losely fitting mean you don't get perfect noise isolation.

The cable is detachable, so you can replace it if it snaps or frays. The two cables available (EK 300 which is straight, and EK 500 which is coiled) have a mini-XLR on one end can be found for under 20 pounds online (which is a better situation than previously). You can also buy mini-XLR plugs which can be soldered on to the end of ordinary TRS audio cables. The ear-pads are also replaceable, which is a good job as the faux leather ones always start to crack after so long.

The headphones themselves are very durable and withstand quite a lot of punishment. Having said this, I did have to solder a wire which worked lose inside one of the cups after a couple of years. However, these headphones are designed with this in mind and allow you to dismantle and repair them if need be.
44 comments8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 May 2013
I've used many headphones in the past, including for mixing and the K240s are definitely my favourite.

They have light, responsive low-impedance XXL transducers that deliver accurate, true-to-the-source reproduction of even very quiet signals. With AKG's patented Varimotion diaphragm, XXL transducers produce a flat, neutral frequency response from 15 to 25,000 Hz, revealing every nuance of your music. And because of the semi-open-back design, they provide less bleed and more acoustical isolation than typical high-end reference headphones, making them perfect for everything from tracking in the studio to casual listening to an MP3 player. The included adapter make K240 headphones compatible with standard 1/4" or 1/8" headphone jacks.

They are also lightweight with a springy headband that opens or closes wider for large heads and closes in for smaller ones automatically, without adjustment. A fully detachable, replaceable 10-foot cord means that if you've rolled over your headphone cable one too many times, there's no need to buy a whole new pair of K240s -- you can easily swap out the cable for a third of the price, should you ever need to. But as a studio commodity, K240 headphones are priced so everyone in the band can wear them. Where else can less than £100 buy such an essential critical-listening tool?
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 February 2015
These are great headphones, it's just a shame that they do not isolate external sounds very well, but this is expected for semi-open cans. Do not get these to listen to music on your iPod on tube rides, portable devices usually are not powerful enought for these, but it's just because they are pretty good studio headphones.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 September 2010
These have been around as studio headphones for at least a quarter of a century and are still unsurpassed for sound quality. They are designed to sound like a pair of studio monitor speakers in free field and frankly they do! If you have good monitoring and then set these up at the same subjective volume, try pulling them on and off and you'll be amazed how close the reproduction from the cans is to the monitor sound!
Sweet, detailed, comfortable and nigh on indestructible (all the parts are replaceable and not too expensive either). Never have a vocalist complain about a headphone mix again, and have the chance to pull up a decent mix on cans as well! What more can you want?
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2015
I'm using the K240 for two weeks now, and it made me realise that I have never listened to music before. :) It is amazingly comfortable and the sound quality is way above beats's (not that it's an achievement). I would recommend it warm heartedly to anyone.
review image
0Comment7 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2014
A quality product with separately replaceable leads for a long term view of ownership. The sound quality is great. The headphones are extremely comfortable and do not pinch the ears or head.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Great headphones. They have a really nice balanced sound to them - so no overpowered bass or treble. Compared to the Audio Technica M40X (my previous pair), these are a million times more comfortable, since they clamp with less force, and the cups are made of a softer material. They are great with glasses. Also, the treble on these, unlike the Audio Technica, is really comfortable to listen to!

I appreciate the inclusion of a 1/4" adapter which goes well with my digital keyboard.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2015
These headphones seem to be great so far, they have a clear and balanced frequency response and reasonable stereo separation. They fit very comfortably over the head, and the soft pads are nice and large so they completely cover the ears (my ears are pretty big!). Had a couple of long mixing sessions using these and they haven't yet caused any listening fatigue. A good buy.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 8 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.