Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
214
4.1 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 September 2003
I had the chance to hear some of the tracks of CALL OFF THE SEARCH already and was blown away. Katie Melua is a new Talent discovered by Composer and Arranger Mike Batt. The Album has a jazzy and bluesy feel and reminds on old classics by Ella Fitzgerald. Katie's Voice is so brillant and she wrote some of the songs herself. Katie sings classics like "Climbing Up A Hill" as well as her own compositions like "Spider's Web".
But the real winner of the Album is her first Single. Mike Batt's new arrangement of "Closest Thing To Crazy" which has been played on BBC2 already and many Fans have signed her Guestbook on her own website [...] asking for her Album or Single.
When I first heard some of the tracks I had to think: "Ah, yes. This is exactly what I missed in our charts for all those years."
It made me feel warm and cozy and I can't wait to hear the rest of the Album.
Now finally her Album is available. Let's buy it and play that old fashioned music again.... (and again...and again...)
0Comment| 90 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2005
I stopped buying CD's in this genre ages ago because everyone seemed to come from the same 'factory'. Then I caught "The closest thing to crazy" on the Terry Wogan show. I was so bowled over by it that I stopped the car to listen properly. What an amazing voice! An order for the CD followed quickly and I was not disappointed. This girl is undoubtedly one to watch. About 18 months on I'm still putting the headphones on late at night and playing "Lilac Wine" over and over... People keep comparing Katie with Norah Jones but her emotional involvement, dynamic & musical range, and pure artistry remind me far more of Barbra Streisand, and I can offer no greater compliment. Can't wait to hear the new album!!
0Comment| 45 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2004
What a wonderful talent she is! So young, but very mature, with a great voice, a lovely personality and a head that is not big, but is screwed on correctly. All this can be gleaned from this CD/DVD version of the album.
It is a wonderful assortment of styles and sets her apart from a lot of other singers, although she will be compared to people like Norah Jones. The DVD, highlighting her in concert at Croydon's Fairfield Hall, as well as her talking about the album, band and videos, shows her to be unspoilt and as good live as on record.
She has a great set of songs here, all of them worthy of their place on the album. Bearing in mind Mike Batt was first known for the Wombles (bless them!), half of the album tracks are his compositions.
However, there are other composers' songs here - she does a very good reading of John Mayall's "Crawling Up A Hill", an equally excellent version of James Shelton's "Lilac Wine" .... and there are a couple of her own songs, the impressive "Belfast (Penguins and Cats)" which recall her days in that city and "Faraway Voice", a song dedicated to Eva Cassidy, whom Katie is a big fan of. This last song is nice, but too heavily influenced by Christine McVie's "Songbird" which Cassidy sang so splendidly. There's the classic Randy Newman song "I Think It's Going To Rain Today". However, the arrangement just doesn't do it for me and a the one major disappointment on the album.
Nevertheless, this edition of the album tells you more about Katie Melua and shows her to be very pretty, very talented and with a very fine voice.
Finally, I must say the collection of musicians on the album and the DVD should get a mention - they are all very wonderful. Mike Batt has brought together some serious experience which, no doubt, from whom Miss Melua will learn from. Just one other point about the concert, I wish Mr Batt had not worn that top on stage - it deflects a little from the star attraction!
I'm not certain what Katie's follow-up album should sound like. Perhaps she will need to avoid being too similar to Eva Cassidy (or anyone else, for that matter) - she has a different kind of voice and has enough about her to develop her own style. but I am already looking forward to it.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 November 2003
What an excellent album - all the tracks are subtle, different, with a bluesy jazzy rocky thing going on that makes her hard to pigeon-hole
For all lovers of Nora Jones, Eva Cassidy, Dido or just good well crafted and original songs - get it and love it!
0Comment| 32 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2004
What a debut album! A voice mature beyond her youth with mellow overtones of both Eva Cassidy and Ella Fitzgerald, Katie Melua will be as much at home in the jazz clubs of New Orleans as in the blues bars of the deep south whilst hitting the pop culture of middle England. Her renditions of jazz classics like "Mocking Bird" and "My Aphrodisiac is You" put her up there with the great jazz singers whilst her presentation of the blues in "Learnin' the Blues" and the new Mike Batt song "Blame it on the Moon" shows that she doesn't just sing the blues - she feels them. The hit single "The Closest Thing to Crazy" took this album to the number one spot purely on its musical merit - a tremendous achievement! It is refreshing to come across a singer who is different from the current batch of 'girlie' singers - Katie, like Eva Cassidy (one of her heroes) presents music, complete with melody and sophisticated harmony. You will start by having "Crazy" as your favourite track but within days your favourite will be one of the others and so it will continue - there are no duds on this album just good music sung from the heart. If she continues in this vein, Katie Melua will attain the thing all singers yearn for yet rarely attain - true greatness.
0Comment| 61 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2005
Gorgeous voice, marvellous melodies and sublime lyrics. This is one hell of a CD. The DVD really puts the icing on the cake as you get to see (and hear) Katie performing live and she really kicks ass.
I thought Norah Jones was good, but this is unbelievable.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2004
As a singer myself, there are other female singers I admire with some varying provisos, for example I might not like the way she treats a particular song, etc. It is seldom that I sit and listen with enjoyment and admiration to a whole album from a singer without much to comment on. But this young girl has an amazingly mature voice and approach, fresh, singing straight from the heart without so many of the vocal "clever" embelishments, trills and fancy panting that you hear from other young singers. Also, she sings from her lungs, and not from her head and nose! I admit that I cannot remember when I last bought a CD from a new performer; most of my purchases since getting a CD player have been re-issues of my scratched vinyls.
I do trust that the music industry does not take this girl in and muck her about, only to spit her out later on. The case in point is Elkie Brooks - a great talent and thank goodness she is still out there performing, but no thanks to the music industry!
I can thoroughly recommend this debut album - definitely value for money.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 December 2003
This album is brillient. It's refreshing and chilled out. People may have dubbed 18-year-old Katie to be the next Norah Jones, but she's better. This is a blues album which can make you smile! The first four tracks have to be the best on the album, "Call off the Search" being a gourgus love song, "Crawling up a Hill" is the most upbeat on this album, and has true emotion in it, "Closest thing to Crazy", Katies single, is a tearful blues track which i think is supurb and "My Aphrodisiac Is You" is another quite upbeat song which is quite sexy and really good to listen too.
I think this album should be owned by everyone. Katie has a true talent here, and it is so nice to here an album with a difference. Katie has overpowering vocals and the backing combinefd with them sends goosepimpls up my spine. This is an album to be enjoyed by all.
A cool 9/10 for Katie.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2003
This young lady's voice will bring you out in goosepimples. Katie Melua deserves to be successful. She will be an world wide star. Everybody I know thinks this song and album are amazing .. This girl is just fantastic. Best of luck Katie
0Comment| 39 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2004
.
To the reviewer who said Katie Melua didn't live up to the "tremendous hype."
What "tremendous hype?"
Hardly any TV appearearances, and comparatively, very little airplay compared to any other album that charts well. If it was about hype, there would be some silly dance and flashing of skin, a media blitz and Call off the Search, the least radio-friendly song, wouldn't be the next single.
The only hype about this album is the word of mouth RECOMMENDATIONS that have put this album at the top of the charts.
Katie Melua has a unique voice that has INSPIRED hundreds of thousands of people to go and tell others how much they like it, that is why the album is now outselling everything else. This album is a SENSATION and has reached half a million people so far because Katie Melua's voice is truly MOVING and has reached out into people's hearts.
Katie Melua's voice is INCREDIBLE, she sings with total conviction and believability and has an AMAZING range. This album is about music, not hype. There is something here for everyone.
I could not recommend an album more highly than this one.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£5.99

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)