Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
25
4.2 out of 5 stars
Price:£19.81+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 November 2009
Bit of advice to any potential buyers: look carefully at the connections shown in the picture...as the manufacturers want this to be compatable with both classic and sport track, you can see the fasteners are not the same on both sides.

The way this connects to your track is by a "converter" piece which transforms what seems at first glance to be a half-length accessory to the size of a full length track piece. For some sets with few or no customisable straights (a figure of eight track, for example) it can be challenging to find space for it without a big rethink.

Due to restricted space I ended up having to cut/file away fastenings from a couple of mis-matching pieces and super-glue them together.

So, don't make the same mistake as me. When planning your track, allow a full track length for this accessory!
33 comments| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2005
The lap counter is great for keeping tag of what is happening on the race track.
The cars move so fast and if they do happen to leave the track, it is often difficult to work out who has done how many laps - not now.
Not only does this accessory count down the laps (which can be set independently for each lane, therby introducing a handicap system) it also times each lap showing the fastest time for each player at the end of the race. This gives another "opponent" to beat.
The set also includes a convertor straight to make it compatible with both the classic and sport track sets.
Overall a great addition to any scalextric set.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 January 2016
This is the second new scalextric product we've had recently and both required modification with a stanley knife before they would work as expected. In this case, the moulded channel for the cars was not a channel at all, so the cars just got stuck. Rather than send back and disappoint my daughter, I spent 15 minutes cutting out the offending plastic so the cars could pass un-obstructed. It now works great, but surely such a basic defect should be getting picked up before getting to the customer.

My second issue with Scalextric is that there is absolutely no response from their customer service email address, other than an automated acknowledgement. So if you have any problems, don't expect Scalextric to sort them out.

This and other recent experiences with Scalextric have totally put us off buying any more bits from them.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 December 2009
This piece of kit is neccessary to know who's winning, it counts down the number of laps in the form of a digital readout. It also times a lap as well. Will fit older as well as newer tracks, has a half track to join on using the joiners that are different to your track, creating a full length with the same as your track joiners at each end. Needs batteries though, pity it's not powered from the track.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 October 2003
This is a vital piece of kit for the scalextric . Makes playing much more fun records fasstest lap times for each competitor and makes racing much more competetive ! Great fun highly recommended
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
This is an essential bit of kit for any one who has a scalextric set. It is amazing and makes playing with scalextric 1000% better than it normally yes it is that good. There are a few problems however it does not always pick up when car completes a lap, there is a limit on lap time to 99.9 seconds which is rubbish is you have a very long track.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 July 2014
Works well with the scalextric C1297 circuit. Tracks fastest lap for each car and the number of remaining laps. It does not give you the overall time for all laps completed but it is good fun. Was easy to fit on the circuit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 March 2009
Great to be able to automatically count down the laps when racing. Works as described and adds a bit of edge to the racing fun.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2014
I got the lap counter and timer to complement a Scaletrix Set we bought for my 9 year old son. Originally we didn't install it as we wanted to check the set worked fine. Today we added the counter and it has made a huge improvement! Have the timer beep with every completed lap adds to the excitement. Even if you are behind there is still the challenge of winning fastest lap. Would say this an essential for any Scaletric set.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 May 2016
My son loved his scalextric track but had started getting competitive and wanted to race everybody. We bought him this and he loves it, he's never built a track without it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 4 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)