Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars171
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVDChange
Price:£4.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 December 2006
Family Guy is one of the funniest animated shows I have ever watched for a long time. The best thing about it is that where other animated shows seem to run out of ideas quickly and become tired Family Guiy has come on in leaps and bounds seeming never to run out of ideas to support episodes. Another good thing about episodes is that most of them support at least two stories at a time so you get to follow two or more members of the family which keeps you interested until the end of the episode. Some of the jokes on the show are a bit risque with some jokes poking at tender subjects such as the OJ Simpson scandal, racism, drugs and sex but this is why it retains some of it's charm as some jokes will make you laugh out loud and others will shock you and make you laugh later. The one flaw of the show is a lot of the jokes are relevant to american pop culture so it's hard for a Brit to follow some of the gags but it doesn't get lost in american pop culture so us Limeys can still laugh. Some people may tell you to start with the second or third season but don't, get the seasons in order or you may not get some of the jokes or understand the storylines as some are relevant to previous episodes.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 19 December 2002
This was the first DVD that I ever purchased, owing to the fact that it was cheap, and that I'd seen the TV series, but not much. It was a spur of the moment purchase, and what a purchase it was.
Whilst showing no special features, this DVD has managed to become the most watched in my collection. The outrageous and controversial humour will literally have you holding on to your sides, and at the same time, you'll cringe in disbelief and question whether or not they're allowed to do this.
The two discs hold 14 episodes, none which are disappointing, and some, including the pilot, which are truly classic Television. What's more, these episodes are uncensored and uncut, meaning the parts they didn't - no, couldn't - show on Television are all here, and each one is as beautifully offensive as the last.
If you don't own this DVD, get it, right now. If you do, run a search for Season 2 and pick that up too. You'll be quoting all the best lines in no time.
33 comments24 of 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I only recently came across Family Guy, but what a belated pleasant surprise it was !

The storylines all revolve around a rather dysfunctional and often quite odd family, headed by a gormless father, plus their friends/workmates.

The humour is often adult in nature, very rude and cerebral. This is one of the few recent comedy shows (and that includes The Simpsons) which genuinely makes me laugh, as opposed to 'just' smiling or getting the occasional chuckle.

Many of the jokes/plots might be deemed 'politically incorrect' as they take big swipes at particular sections of society, so it is quite possible some will take offence - you have been warned.

However, a large proportion of the gags are extremely original and regularly 'off the wall', which makes them all the more enjoyable...

The storylines are simple, but it is their unusual nature and the non-conformist characters (eg a talking dog, 'Brian' my favourite, and an ultra-intelligent/apparently psychopathic baby) which make Family Guy true entertainment.

One word of advice. If you can, search out the Region 1 DVD versions of Season 1 - 3 and 4 onwards (be warned: they are referred to as 'Volumes', not 'Seasons') as they not only contain Extras, such as Episode commentaries, but also show the episodes in the correct order (parity exists only for Season 4) !

For example :

The Family Guy, Vol. 1: Seasons 1 & 2 [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]

Family Guy, Vol. 2: Season 3 [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]

The Family Guy, Vol. 3: Season 4 [DVD] [1999] [Region 1] [US Import] [NTSC]
0Comment16 of 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I have to say that I am quite new to Family Guy. I had watched the odd episode or two from the various series on television, but it wasn't until I purchased season one on DVD and actually sat down and watched it that I realised how good Family Guy actually is. I couldn't tare myself away from it. I was hooked and just wanted to watch episode after episode. Family Guy is compelling, addictive and above all else - very comical. Stewie is my favourite character for obvious reasons. (I myself was an egotistic compulsive power hungry infant set on world domination) 'Chitty Chitty Death Bang' and 'Death Is A Bi*ch' are my favourite episodes in the season. To think I wasted so much time watching other animated shows, while Family Guy was waiting to be discovered. I have four more seasons to catch-up on but if all episodes are to the same standard as the one's I've seen then I doubt it will take my long.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2001
Any comparison with other shows of the genre (Simpsons, South Park, Futurama) are unfair. This show has a unique type of humour - almost to the point of surrealism. The gags can be read on so many levels and I can honestly say I've never managed to watch an episode without laughing out loud.
I'd be suprised if anyone were to mistake the names of the characters for those of the lesser cartoons. Peter Griffon could never be pictured as a 'Hank'.
If you enjoy Simpsons, but want a little more intelligent humour...
If you like South Park, but want your humour in a more subtle way...
If you enjoy King of the Hill, but would prefer to be entertained...
Family Guy is the show to see.
On video, it was great, on DVD - quality preserved forever, it's a must.
0Comment29 of 33 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 August 2003
The only drawback to buying this DVD is that once you have the wrapper off, you just can't help watching all 14 episodes in one go. I underwent a serious mental battle with myself after disc one but was unable to prevent myself forcing disc two into the drive. I now feel it is my duty to warn you that Family Guy is a severly addictive product, and may cause withdrawal symptoms in some people. It did with me. I bought series two and three the next day. If you can't afford all three series, don't buy any- it will drive you mad. Seriously though, BUY IT NOW.
11 comment9 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 October 2007
Family guy is a rip-off of The Simpsons, but it's a superior rip-off that not only exceeds it's 'inspiration' but also pretty much every other comedy out there.
The series follows the (mis)adventures of a lower-middle-class American family with a stupid slobbish father and a nagging mother, so-far so-Simpsons, but they also have a psychotic baby intent on world-domination and the murder of his mother, a dog that's clearly the best educated one there, and a neighbor whose sexual practices are so perverted he's built up an immunity to mace spray.
Family Guy is a very adult show, with regular swearing and sexual references many will not be happy exposing to children (who won't get the jokes anyway since the humor is actually very intelligent for the most part). So if you are easily offended you really should think carefully and look up some clips of the show before buying this. To that end there is currently a 'Freakin Sweet Collection' available that contains a few choice episodes and at the time of writing this review was a little under a tenner on amazon.
For those of you who are not put off by the adult and occasionally offensive material, you are in for an real treat here. Every episode is cleverly written, extremely funny and very re-watchable, the first series doesn't contain a single bad episode and it's continued hilarity on repeat veiwings makes it well worth the price tag.
A highly recommended, highly entertaining show.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 September 2007
The DVD collections of Family Guy are kinda hard work when compared to other TV shows. The Simpsons, for example, neatly package all episodes into one season, whereas what we have here is 7 from Season 1 and 7 from the 21 episode Season 2. It does make sense to have more episodes in one package, but maybe they should have used the American format (sticking both Seasons into one volume) to save people the confusion.

Aside from the messy Season structure, this volume of episodes is well worth the money. Each episode is incredibly tight, jam-packed with hilarious jokes and some strange but satisfying story lines. Of course, the characters sound a little different than they do now, and the animation is slightly poorer, but it still has the Family Guy charm.

I have to admit, I was slightly disappointed about the lack of extras on the DVD. If you've ever bought Simpsons seasons before, you expect a thick booklet, commentary with each episode and some animatics, etc, which are quite valuable if you are interested/want to get into the film/animation industry. I've come to the conclusion that the people behind Family Guy must be quite averse to doing commentaries because even the later seasons have few commentaries (the extras do get better though).

Still, the meat of the DVD is the episodes and they do not disappoint, which is why I've given it a flawless five stars.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2003
Everyone compares this with the simpsons which is understandable, the family setup and the age groups and so on. Both are very good but I think that Family guy shades it. The reason is simple: Family guy has strengh in depth. The simpsons has the exceptional Homer, Mr Burns and a modicum of other good characters, but Family guy has three superstars in Peter, Stewie and Chris. In all three series there are moments so funny that it's hard to breath, i know that it sounds a bit sad to say that but it's true! It's also very rude and close to the bone on major topics but it seems to come up smelling of roses anyway! The subtle nature of some of the jokes is both clever and annoying at the same time as some of the jokes are targetted solely at the American auidence. That is only a minor fault. The show also boasts a plethora of hilarious side characters, watch out for Peters' sex crazed neighbour Quagmire and his strange boss who seems to be attracted to Peter Mr.Weed.I can't recommend this enough, once you watch season one i'm certain you'll order seasons one and two.Amazingly, the show was cancelled after three series and once you watch the DVD i'm sure you'll be as mystified as the rest of the people who've seen it.
0Comment14 of 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2003
Utter Brilliance.
The first time you watch this, I garuantee that you will be in tears of laughter, and even after that you can watch it over and over again without getting bored of it. Okay, it is not as sophisticated or as subtle as 'The Simpsons', but the spontanious gags and surreal events will have you in stitches. And I'm not saying that it doesn't have it's sophisticated bits as well, because it does. Sometimes it's nice to have a break from all of the other cartoons, and watch something which, although is similar to the other animated comedies out there, is still refreshingly different.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.