Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Oasis Listen with Prime Learn more Shop Men's Shop Women's

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars59
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.63+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 10 February 2002
I love Bananarama. They weren't the best singers and sometimes they dressed in the most hideous clothes. But they didn't care. They were just three fun loving girls who constantly produced top quality pop songs. Everybody knows a Bananarama song. Remember 'Robert de Niros waiting' and the classic hi-engery pop masterpiece that is 'Venus'. It's a great album from Britains most successful female band.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 February 2000
no-one ever remembers just how fab this girl band were! nor do they remember just how many hits they actually had. with the exception of a few early singles, you will know every single track on the cd, and they add a couple of bonus remixes onto the end for good measure. it is certainly one of my most played albums and a must have for any fan of eighties music!
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 April 2007
Some people have said that Bananarama weren't the greatest singers on the planet. Well, they probably weren't, but they don't sound too bad to me either. Their voices work together and have a pleasant "girl next door" quality; any deficiencies in one is covered by the others. Many of their songs (early ones in particular) have a "50s/60s girl group for the 80s" feel. It's also quite notable that they do all their singing ensemble; there's no obvious leads or Diana Ross-type star hogging the limelight.

Strongest songs? Hard to say, there are lots. "Robert de Niro's Waiting" was always a great classic/modern pop hybrid, and although I don't remember it much (it wasn't a big hit at the time) "Trick of the Night" is surprisingly good, if a bit more serious than some of their stuff.

Weakest? "Love, Truth and Honesty" has a very "generic S/A/W" feel to it, like a failed imitation of their catchier songs. Not too keen on "I Heard a Rumour" either. But who cares? Most of the songs are at least catchy and fun, and many are all-time classics that still sound fresh today.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2006
A few points in response to Amazon's own review above - The album's title is "The Greatest Hits Collection" so it was a natural and sound decision to include the band's biggest hits over and above those that failed to catch on. That said, all of the big hits from 1982-1984 are here so the purchaser is not missing out on anything significant (would anyone really expect "Hotline to Heaven" or "Cheers Then" to be on here??). Secondly - Jacquie O'Sullivan appears on five of the tracks, not just on "Help!" (the others are "I Want You Back", "Love Truth and Honesty", "Nathan JOnes" and "Preacher Man"), and does not appear on the cover, only in the sleeve notes. I would be more than happy to see on her on the cover, but the original 1988 release of this album included only two singles featuring her vocals, so it is understandable that London Records should favour a photo of the original line-up.

The extra remixes are nice to have, but certainly not the best available of either track. The CD inclusion of "Aie A Mwana" and "Trick of the Night" are a nice touch, adding extra value to an effervescent and loveable album.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2004
What an amazing collection of songs from the shaggy-haired, polka-dot skirt wearing trio that is Bananarama.
They are forgiven for looking so bad (didn't eveyrone at that time?), for not having the best vocal talents and even for their camp dance performace of "Love in the First Degree" in that infamously bad Brit Awards hosted by Samantha Fox.
For once, the music speaks for itself. Timeless pop choons that just makes you want to stop what you're doing and sing along!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2001
I would definately recomend everyone to buy this album: It is really good. This CD version of the Greatest hits is alot better than the LP version, as the CD has more tracks. The best songs on this album are Robert De Niro's waiting, Cruel Summer, Venus, a trick of the night and I heard a rumour. Go girls!!!!
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 August 2012
After watching benedorm on tv & seeing Bananarama appearing on it. I thought I would buy the CD & I was not disappointed, just the right music to do your housework to. Very pleased with product & quick delivery, highly recommended.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bananarama were one of the most successful British pop groups of the eighties, having a long string of hits with the production team of Stock, Aitken and Waterman. SAW have their critics (and I'm not keen on some of the stuff they produced) but Bananarama were better than most of the other acts they produced. So while their music is lightweight, it is enjoyable and makes great party music.
Bananarama made the top five in the UK with eight different singles while two others made the UK top ten. Two of these (Help / Beatles and Venus / Shocking blue) were covers, the others being It ain't what you do, Really saying something, Shy boy, Na na hey hey kiss him goodbye, Cruel summer, Robert De Niro's waiting, Love in the first degree and I want you back.
My favorite song here is Love in the first degree, which is completely different from the Alabama song with the same title. Similarly, I want you back (another original song) is different from the Jacksons' song, though both were in the UK charts at the same time, the Jacksons' song having been re-mixed.
This compilation contains all their top ten hits and several of their lesser hits including Nathan Jones, I heard a rumour, I can't help it and Preacher man, all of which made the UK top twenty.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2012
If you are a fan of Bananarama then this is the album for you. Excellent value and many a good memory as well. What more can you ask for?
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2004
What an amazing collection of songs from the shaggy-haired, polka-dotskirt wearing trio that is Bananarama.
They are forgiven for lookingso bad (didn't everyone at that time?), for not having the best vocaltalents and even for their camp dance performance of "Love in the FirstDegree" in that infamously bad Brit Awards hosted by Samantha Fox.
Foronce, the music speaks for itself. Timeless pop choons that just makes youwant to stop what you're doing and sing along!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)