Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars90
4.7 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2011
Learning Resources Gears! Gears! Gears! Beginner's Building SetFor kids of all ages! Something for all abilities with this toy - dads, 5 year-olds and pre-schoolers. My 2 grandsons just managed to get a look in and it kept everyone engrossed for ages. Sturdy construction and colourful. Definitely not something that will disappear into the back of the toy cupboard.
0Comment12 of 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2013
my grandson is 3 & plays with this at nursery so i bought him one to have at home. its great!!
0Comment8 of 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 April 2013
This is great fun, a lot of combinations to feed your imagination. It is a classic toy and cannot go wrong with it.
Good value too.
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
Bought this for my nephew for Christmas- he is 3. Difficult to put together and take apart but with adult supervision he really enjoyed the gears game. Great that you can buy more to add on aswell.
0Comment4 of 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2009
What do you buy them? Lego? Stickle bricks? Well these are a bit different and require the same skills of building things and fixing them together. I first bought these for my son when he was 2 and a half. At first he found it tricky to fit the parts in the holes but a year on and he is slotting everything together himself, so 3-3 and a half is a good starting age. What I like about this toy is that you can build something and make it move. Children can learn about cause and effect - "when you turn this handle this cog turns". Great little toy. The basic set packs away into a smallish box quite neatly.
44 comments47 of 55 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 October 2010
Works really well, but as all the gears are the same size there's not that much variety you can do with it. There's plenty of expansion packs available though.
0Comment8 of 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
My husband repairs watches and clocks so our 3 year old is fascinated with gears, he absolutely loves this as he thinks he is making his own clocks! The instruction booklet also has 3 good models in it to make and he adores the caterpillar. It is all really well made and robust and he has no trouble building with it.
0Comment6 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 August 2015
Not a lot to it....bit boring after a while for a four year old
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2015
We bought this for our son for his third birthday and he loves them. Was frustrated to begin with as he couldnt place them in their plces but by now he is a dabhand at it.
0Comment1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2013
A fabulous educational building toy. Children can start as basic as they want & build up to create masterpieces.
They are sturdy & durable and timeless.

Next day delivery was also wonderful.
I could not fault this item or delivery service.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.